We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting room - beware!”
Review of Hotel City Plaza 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel City Plaza 7
Ranked #54 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting room - beware!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A few important things to mention:
I booked this place ahead of time over email - I learned later that this not a good idea when budget traveling in India. Shop around and take the best rate. I didn't negotiate with them and as such I was charged too much.
I booked ahead for a taxi pickup at the train station. They promised 500 rupees ( a steep price) and then wanted 600 when I arrived at the hotel.

The room itself was the worst room I've ever seen in my life. The only reason I stayed is because I arrived in Chandigarh late at night and had no alternative. The bathroom had a nasty PVC pipe which drained gunky black liquid onto the floor. The lightbulbs were flickering and half were broken ( a very dark room) with no windows for natural light. The glass tabletop was shattered so shards of glass protruded from the frame. Oh, and there was a swarm of gnats in the bathroom.
To reiterate: this is the worst room I've seen in Asia or anywhere else. I never fully voiced my complaints to the management (they didn't fully speak English) but I solo-traveled in India for three weeks and never again saw a hotel with this level of carelessness and unpleasantness.

The one positive aspect: this hotel is across the street from the small LeCorbusier Center. Still, stay in 17!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 629john_9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    41
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
37
22
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

In 2012, we traveled in India for 3 months from Gujurat to Ladakh to Sikkim. We visited many places and stayed in perhaps 25 different hotels, some of which so crappy we were relieved to leave the next day (or sometimes actually turned away and didn't stay at all), some so beautiful and welcoming we had lots of regrets leaving them behind when the time would come to move to a new destination.
Our budget was about 2000 Rs per night, and we were usually booking places on internet one or two days prior to arrival.

We arrived in Chandigarh by a morning train and had a rickshaw drop us a the hotel city plaza. At first, we couldn't believe him: there was a sign, and a row of closed shops, nothing that looked like a hotel.

It turned out he was right though, as there was a simple house door with a stairs, and on the first floor indeed a small hotel reception. The room that we were shown was dark (no window), damp and overall not at all welcoming. We turned back and stayed at the City Heart (more expensive though, but certainly worth the 1000 Rs or so price difference in our view).

Room Tip: Chose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fireincairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chandigarh hotels

Mysore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Decent accomodation. The rooms are clean and well furnished. Good location. Near to both railway station and airport (easy to get auto rickshaws).
The hotel is worth the money paid. We were given extra beds (as paid for) on time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank sjcetux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We just stayed for one night.
Good points - location is nearer to railway station. Many hotels nearby so having dinner was not a problem.

Bad points - There were mosquito in room. Room appearance was just about ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Dhananjay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The hotel is close to many restaurants which is probably the only reason I rate this hotel as average. No windows in the deluxe room and hence the air is a bit stale. There was an AC which went on and off several times during the night. The room is good enough if you plan to just sleep here and spend the rest of the time outside. Maybe you cannot expect much anyway for the price (I paid Rs.1400 for a night).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ashwin_Upadhyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panipat, Haryana, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Nice hotel with good facilities. Location is the advantage. Room was good and so was the service.
Very good staff, available for any kind of request. Overall I can say that my stay was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jatinkumar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

When they asked me to pay the whole amount upfront just to book, I should have known something was amiss. The "hotel" is a little hole in wall, amidst a whole bunch of shops and with no lift, you have to climb a bunch of dingy stairs to reach it on the second floor, above some travel agency! If that wasn't enough, the hotel had no windows and all the linen was being changed at the reception! The room itself was poorly furnished, in terrible condition and had tiles lining the wall like a bathroom! All in all, a really dreary stay!

On our way back, we stayed at Corporate Inn, a much MUCH better hotel. This time, we didn't pay a paisa to book and was so much cheaper than "hotel" Ctiy Plaza!

Room Tip: Dont choose a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mnanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Classic Chandigarh
Hotel Classic Chandigarh
#40 of 100 in Chandigarh
135 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Orbit 34
Hotel Orbit 34
#67 of 100 in Chandigarh
52 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#3 of 100 in Chandigarh
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#34 of 100 in Chandigarh
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel City Heart 18
Hotel City Heart 18
#70 of 100 in Chandigarh
29 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel City Plaza 17
Hotel City Plaza 17
#80 of 100 in Chandigarh
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Plaza 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Plaza 7

Property: Hotel City Plaza 7
Address: Sector 7 C | Madhya marg, Chandigarh 160009, India
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel City Plaza 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 2 Star hotel is centrally located and is just a km away from the main city center. It offers only lodging and boarding facilities and comprises 12 rooms, which are maintained with room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel City Plaza 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing