We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of Hotel Oyster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oyster
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Ludhiana, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

been there to show case my new samples as whole hotel was being used for booking purpose.
Hotel have nothing extra ordinary. all the regular stuff aprt from ocation which is good.
food in restaurant is again ok.
overall avoid is my call.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arunjain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    31
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
33
10
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Location wise this is in good location. This is the second time I am staying there. First experience was better. this time when we checked in the room the whole bathroom was flooding with water. after repeated follow up this was cleaned. I had to check out in early morning. Had to wake up the receptionist.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PullKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

a very good hotel in the heart of the city chandigarh with a very cool and nice restaurant. rates are also under limit and food is awesome. i will prefer to have food over here. rooms are good and interiors are excellent. every room has its its own look...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prashantgupta1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This hotel is a bit hard to find if coming by feet from Sector 17 center.

Hotel looks and feels like any European business class hotel so my first impressions were good.

My room #209 had bad wifi connectivity due to low signal from the router. I asked for a different room and they gave me #203, which had the same wifi issue and as an added bonus non-working AC.

I went outside for a walk and asked to fix the AC meanwhile. When I come back I ask the lady at the reception if the issues with the room have been fixed. She said yes, and I come to the room to witness that the issues are not fixed. I go downstairs and demand to talk with the hotel manager. I was told to wait in my room. Instead of the manager, the maintenance guy shows up in my room and after 15 mins of work he got the AC working.

Now, why was the AC not fixed during my absence as per my request? Why was I not offered a room upgrade or some other compensation for not being able to offer me a room which provides the things I paid for?

Breakfast was included in the room rate, the buffet had only indian dishes and juices and cakes. However omelets and toast was provided on request for no extra charge. Restaurant is a bit on the expensive side, full meal is close to 400 rupees without drinks. Food was great though the one time I ate there.

Overall I am a bit disappointed. This hotel would have so much potential if only the staff would be more customer service oriented and would try to fix issues and not to deny them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmoEnsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My family made this trip last year and I enjoyed this hotel. The reception staff were a bit confused by times, but friendly and nice. The food was average, nothing special or horrible and was delivered on time. We spent very little time at this hotel as we were out visiting friends but when we were there we enjoyed our time. The location was very central to everything and a huge benefit.
The price point was reasonable and when we requested additional supplis they were very quick and giving.
Very nice visit in all.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We spent on night in this hotel during a holiday trip across north of India.
The room : This is a LOUD hotel i.e. while we stayed there, there was a party on at the roof top that was very loud and went on till about 1-2 am. Following which we could hear people screaming, gigling, chatting rather loudly in the corridors. Hardly got any sleep. The minibar still had wrappers/empty cartons left over from the previous occupants of the room.

The location: The location of this hotel is rather ok as its walking distance from the rose garden in chandigarh.

The food : The breakfast buffet was average at best.

My suggestion : you can find better options in Chandigarh.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amniktalwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chandigarh hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We specnt two nights here in March 2013. The hotel is in Sector 17 but the shops are not exactly close by and the path to the shopping area is very poorly lit. Rooms were on the small side, food was pretty good if unexceptional and the bar is reasonably priced. The hotel is well priced for the location, but other hotels in the city (such as the Hotel President in Sector 22) offer better value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arjun5764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Heart Premium
Hotel City Heart Premium
#35 of 100 in Chandigarh
187 reviews
1.8 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#9 of 100 in Chandigarh
609 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#4 of 100 in Chandigarh
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#14 of 100 in Chandigarh
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel City Plaza 17
Hotel City Plaza 17
#80 of 100 in Chandigarh
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#10 of 100 in Chandigarh
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oyster

Property: Hotel Oyster
Address: Sco - 1 - 2 -3 | sector 17-A, Chandigarh 160017, India
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oyster 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oyster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing