We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
James Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and my experience here was far better than my Radisson Blu Ludhiana, from where I had just checked out the same day morning. Housekeeping was good. Buffet was ok. Wi-fi was good. Overall a good experience. Location is in sector 17, though a little far from the main market. They have a night club "Hippodrome" though I did not visit the night club.

Room Tip: The online rates are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KunalBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Mr. Banerjee,

Namaste!

I would like to thank you for your valuable time spent in sharing such motivating feedback about the hotel on trip advisor. I shall definitely share the same with all concerned and compliment the housekeeping and kitchen team in person. We look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    262
    57
    23
    18
See reviews for
173
74
19
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Room was very comfortable, clean, neat. Staff were very helpful. Room service was excellent and very helpful. Food was excellent. Only issue was with AC which was directly coming on the desk. Overall it was a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Shamal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest at Park Plaza Chandigarh. We look forward to welcome you back at the hotel. I am glad that team took good care of you and your guests. I would like to thank you for your time spent in sharing your feedback on trip advisor.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Let me start with the goods first:
- got the room of our choice
- baby food was provided on request without charge
- service requests were answered promptly
- staff were pleasent
- excellent location
- value for money
- allowed late checkout

the bads:

- found hair strands in the bathroom, bathroom was not adequetly stocked up with amenities, no santiry napckin provided even on request, closet had dust all over, untidy bed linen, no special pillow options, small 32 inch tv, coffee cups were broken and not immaculately clean.

- poor breakfast menu

- no baby sitter

- no kids play area

Room Tip: 6th flloor so could get a view of the surrounding hills.. try for the rose garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICE_RAVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

I would like to thank you for choosing Park Plaza Chandigarh as your preferred hotel for stay at Chandigarh. I thank you for your time spent in sharing such detailed feedback. We shall definitely continue maintain our standards on the points appreciated by you. Parallel to that I shall personally work with all concerned in uplifting housekeeping services. In the long run we shall definitely look at including kids area. I look forward to welcome you back at Park Plaza Chandigarh.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manali, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here from 25th June 2014 to 27th June 2014. Rooms were comfortable with all facilities. Room service was good except the house keeping. We have to wait and have to call up twice for afew things. Rest i would give 5 stars Quality of food is good.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

I would like to thank you for your time spent in sharing your valuable feedback on trip advisor. I have well noted your constructive feedback and shall definitely work with all concerned to elevate housekeeping services. I look forward to welcome you back in person at the hotel.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

excellent property.. situated at a central location.. perfect weekend gateway spot.. with total piece.. absolute silence.. within greenery... nice hotel ambience... small but comfortable pool.. nice rooms... ample parking space.. nice and humble staff to take care of your needs... goo variety of breakfast....

Room Tip: room facing rose garden..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitinkapur2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mr. Kapur,

Namaste!

I would like to thank you for choosing Park Plaza Chandigarh as your preferred hotel for stay at Chandigarh. I shall definitely share this motivating feedback with the hotel team and look forward to welcome you back in person at the hotel.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I visited the hotel with my family and I surely enjoy my stay following are the my point of view on the same

From outside it looks like an old Government building but when you reach in its change head over heels.

Staff is polite and courteous
Food is life line of every stay they scored full marks from me there. Met Amit the chef responsible for dinner and he made sure every thing was perfect.


Room service is good and prompt.

Only thing i didn't like was the lift lobby of floor on which i was staying as it looks it needed little care.

Overall experience was excellent however there staff itself increase your expectation with there service and support attitude that make you set the bar of excellence even higher

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vshalsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

I would like to thank you for your time spent in sharing such detailed feedback on trip advisor. I shall definitely share this motivating feedback with my team. We shall definitely work on uplift of exteriors in near future within the Chandigarh administration byelaws. We look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms need to be tidy. House keeping needs improvement. Staff highly courteous, well mannered, helpful and hospitable. Overall service/ room service quick. Carpets need to be cleaned and well kept in the rooms at least. Seating arrangements in the rooms need to redone/ relooked at. Overall comfortable

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIPIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

I would like to thank you for choosing Park Plaza Chandigarh as your preferred hotel for stay at Chandigarh. I have taken note of the constructive feedback about the quality of housekeeping services in the guest rooms. I assure you that same will be addressed by me in person. Parallel to that I thank you once again for the motivating feedback about the hotel team. I look forward to welcome you back at the hotel in person.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
#2 of 100 in Chandigarh
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taj Chandigarh
Taj Chandigarh
#6 of 100 in Chandigarh
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Chandigarh
The Lalit Chandigarh
#4 of 100 in Chandigarh
516 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
1.7 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#9 of 100 in Chandigarh
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Hotel

Property: James Hotel
Address: Block 10, Sector 17 A, Chandigarh 160017, India (Formerly Park Plaza)
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — James Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing