We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!”
Review of James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
James Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Dinning with cinnamon had a wonderful experience to made our evening enjoyable and got a nice service by cinnamon guys so that was a very good moment for us.again I would like to thanks each and every one for making our evening unforgettable Kudos to management!

Room Tip: very beautiful hotel
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Rkaya1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for your time spent in sharing such motivating feedback on trip advisor. I shall definitely compliment the Cinnamon team and look forward to welcome you back at the hotel in person. We shall definitely strive to maintain quality and consistency in our offer.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
There are newer reviews for James Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Pros
- Great location
- Good breakfast (great array of choices)
- Courteous staff

Cons
- Did not cater to request initially placed or non smoking & rose garden facing room
- Chaos during breakfast (had to grab lounge seats) - Maybe due to the fact that there was a large wedding group who had booked most of the room. Could have been better managed.
- A/C in the room was ineffective - had to call room service to clear out the vent

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudhir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Mr. Sudhir,

Namaste!

I would like to thank you for choosing Park Plaza Chandigarh as your preferred hotel for stay at Chandigarh. I have read and understood your detailed feedback and assure you that we would definitely look into planning during big group movement. I look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Non courteous staff ,very unorganized. They spoiled our mood write at the check-in time itself .
The staff really misbehaved with us.
Waiters banging on each other breaking crockery, very thing miss managed. Buff breakfast you had to wait for ages to get food .
The Mini bar was empty, we ordered masala tea and got coffee instead.
Really bad experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivekShivani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

I would like to thank you for your time in sharing a detailed constructive feedback about your stay. I assure you that this detailed feedback will be addressed with all concerned and reviewed on regular basis. Front office and Food and beverage operations will definitely be monitored closely by me. I look forward to welcome you back in person at the hotel.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja
Regards,

Gaurav Taneja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Pro's
1. Location & Connectivity
2. Rooms are good

Con's
1. Food - Average & overpriced
2. Staff - Front Desk / Sales - Below average. They can never understand a situation and will talk only on their terms and conditions. They Behave as if they are running a lodge service. Overall spoiled my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aashish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

I would like to thank you for choosing Park Plaza Chandigarh as a preferred hotel for stay at Chandigarh. I have understood your detailed feedback and assure you that same has been addressed with all concerned. We shall definitely look into the pricing on the next renewal. I look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with family for two nights on independence day weekend.

Starting with the check-in, which was pretty smooth and quick.
Then comes the rooms, size of the rooms are massive as compared to other hotels in town.
Cleanliness, room service and all other things were taken care of very nicely.

Coming to the best part FOOD.
Very delicious indian and equally delicious chinese food in the hotel.
You don't need to worry about food once you are at park plaza chandigarh.

All in all, wonderfully satisfied.

highly recommended. .....

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Amandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Mr. Amandeep,

Namaste!

I would like to thank you for choosing Park Plaza Chandigarh as your preferred hotel for stay at Chandigarh. I shall definitely share such motivating feedback with the team. We look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our one night stay proved to be a very satisfying experience. The rooms are nice and the service is prompt. I was looking to book into the Taj but a last minute trip meant that rooms weren't available. Park Plaza proved to be a much better value-for-money choice and I would definitely recommend it to people visiting Chandigarh. I was very pleasantly surprised with the Szechuan restaurant - excellent Chinese food. The location of hotel is very convenient for shopping, walking and travel.

Room Tip: Choose the club rooms -- better equipped
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PrasadSanyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Mr. Sanyal,

Namaste!

I would like to thank you for choosing Park Plaza Chandigarh as your preferred hotel for stay at Chandigarh. I shall definitely share such motivating feedback with my team. We look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I went to chandigarh for a weekend getaway with family. As soon as we reached Sector 17, we got lured by the Taj hotel's exterior and thought that to be Park Plaza. Soon we realised our mistake and went ahead on the same road to see an ok ok looking hotel from outside. But as we stepped in-OMG! it looked pretty, plush and classy...and I must say better looking than Taj from inside as I went to Taj the following day! The hotel had some good crowd and our rooms were beautiful too. As per Chandigarh standards, the room tariff is not much for the hotel that you get. Breakfast was a part of the room booking and trust me the best staff that I have ever encountered. They served us at the buffet as if we are their personal guests. The location also being excellent as it is the heart of the city with every other sector at 5-10 mins drive. For those of you who dont know much about Chandigarh..Sector 17 market is the most happening place in Chandi...and what better if it is right across this hotel. Thus, I highly recommend this hotel as its not as expensive as Taj..but I can say as good as Taj if not better.

Room Tip: All rooms are good looking...whatever pics of the good looking room you see online(booking.com etc...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Punya88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaurav T, General Manager at James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

I would like to thank you for choosing Park Plaza Chandigarh as your preferred hotel for stay at Chandigarh. I have read your detailed feedback which is definitely very motivating. I shall share this with all my team members. I look forward to welcome you back in person at the hotel. I assure you that Park Plaza Chandigarh strives to provide quality product and services to all its guests.

Regards,

Gaurav Taneja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.1 mi away
Taj Chandigarh
Taj Chandigarh
#7 of 100 in Chandigarh
1,275 reviews
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
#3 of 100 in Chandigarh
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Chandigarh
The Lalit Chandigarh
#4 of 100 in Chandigarh
575 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#5 of 100 in Chandigarh
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Hotel

Address: Block 10, Sector 17 A, Chandigarh 160017, India (Formerly Park Plaza)
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range: £56 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — James Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing