We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable Stay”
Review of Shivalik View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shivalik View
Ranked #16 of 99 Hotels in Chandigarh
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel for some 15 days. It was a comfortable stay. The biggest advantage of staying in this hotel is its location. Being in the heart of the city (sec 17) is good. But other wise it is an old hotel. All the staff is middle aged, services are just ok. The buffet breakfast lacks variety. No free Wifi.

The ambience is good. But the renovation work is going on so I guess it would get a new look very soon. Overall its fine. One thing which I liked the most about it is the roof top restaurant : Cloud 9. Its fabulous . Few of its merits - live music being played and some very nice cuisines just make it stand apart.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamzUNlimited007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    139
    90
    23
    12
See reviews for
84
26
27
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
203 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

It is very good hotel,conveniently located in Sec -17 of Chandigarh having lot of greenary and ample space.Their room size is very good and although the hotel is located in Sec -17 yet it is very calm.
Their buffet breakfast and buffet dinner ( all inclusive in tariff) offer a wide variety of choice and has very good taste too.Their tariff too is very reasonable.They are undergoing rennovation and they are also coming up with a good fitness centre.Fitness centre was one thing they're lacking.
Yes although their staff is good yet they have to be a little more professional in approach to catch up with people in this industry

Room Tip: take a room with balcony to have a excellent green view of Chandigarh
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DilipKeshary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

It is one of the Old Hotel, but has good service and in budget.

Rooms are of quite large size.

Located centrally and has good ambience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilesh_Pardhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here recently after having stayed here almost one and a half year back....I must say it used to be really good, but it no longer is....the bathroom didnt appear clean when we entered....the quality of food has actually degraded since the last time we came here...the only plus point of staying here is that its very close to sector 17(walking distance)...that would be the only reason of me staying here again....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayank_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed at this hotel durning our shimal manali trip for 2 days. Loved the location, this hotel is just right in the middle of the city. Airport would be hardly 20 min drive. This property is under renovation but rooms are in excellent condition. Hard to believe that A govt.hotel can be that good. The room price was inclusive of breakfast and lunch or dinner. both buffet so lot of option, food was good. they do have couple of other restaurants on the property. Very much impressed with this hotel.
We thought their online prices on sites were little high, if you call the hotel or just walk-in ( just like us) you get better price. Do ask of discount, they ll happy to give you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PD014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Being a regular traveler to Chandigarh on business,I have stayed in a lot of properties. However my experience has been the best with Hotel Shivalik View. It is a great hotel considering all the aspects. The rooms although,not vey big,are maintained very well.The view from the rooms are good. But the best part of this hotel is the food. The morning breakfast & Dinner, both complimentary & a part of the room package gives you the choice of a lavish menu. The service is very good & the employees make you feel at home.

Room Tip: All rooms give you a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subroyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed in Shivalik View . It is a nice place to stay with the shoping area just near by. Hotel Decor and Food is very good . We all enjoyed Dinner and Breakfast buffet. Staff is helping . Though Rooms can be more maintained . Furniture looks old , needs some upgrade .

Overall a good stay .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank De_From_Gurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.5 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#9 of 99 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountview
Hotel Mountview
#21 of 99 in Chandigarh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#7 of 99 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#4 of 99 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivalik View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivalik View

Property: Shivalik View
Address: Sector 17-E, Chandigarh 160017, India
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 99 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shivalik View 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shivalikview, Chandigarh is the best location for both business and leisure guests desiring a relaxed,elegant location in the heart of the Chandigarh. A contemporary business Hotel complementing the modern life style of the ' City Beautiful"; being 8 KM from the Railway station, 12KM from the Airport and with an easy access to the Shopping center and ISBT, the Hotel offers a warm welcome, pleasant ambiance and an excellent range of superb Restaurants, guests facilities and services backed by great hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shivalik View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivalik View Hotel Chandigarh
Shivalik View Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing