We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not up to the standards”
Review of Shivalik View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shivalik View
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
expat in Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not up to the standards”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

too expensive for what you get.
good point: size of the rooms
bad points: unfriendly and inefficient staff, poor isolation, poor breakfast, no business facilities, hotel under renovation (but not advertised so). Clearly .... not enough competition at chandigarh!!!
it is own by the goverment and ... it shows (in all bad senses)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misskeika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    142
    93
    23
    12
See reviews for
85
27
28
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I were looking for a simple but nice, clean hotel in Chandigarh just for 1 night. Shivalik View was one of the available (not much hotels were available at that period because of Diwali festival). Obviously I checked the reviews of this hotel here in TripAdvisor. The overall rate was 3.5. Checked the reviews - saw both good and bad reviews. As we didnt have much choice - we booked a room. It cost 110$ per night for a standard room! Once we reached the hotel - we got a shock!!!!!!! We entered the room and just couldn't even sit on the bed! Everything was so old, stinky and disgusting, toilet flush was not working! The bed was so hard! The bed cover was so old that we just couldnt touch it! We were sooo disappointed! This is what we get for 110$ ???????? We just left the hotel and went out to spend time, just not to be in that room. We arrived to room by evening, and once entered the room, I just blasted! Went to the reception and told that I am not ready to stay in that room. They told that they will see what can be done.; After 10 mins they came and told that they shift us to another room. The other room was not the standart room we paid for, it looked better, but still NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!!!!!!!! Next day we checked out and were very happy to leave that hotel. While checking out I filled the feedback - I hope the manager of the hotel will read that. Ah, forgot to tell that big renovation is going on there and everywhere is dusty and noisy! AWFUL PLACE!!! Will never ever think to go back there! WASTE OF MONEY!!! Just 1 positive point - food was pretty good.

Room Tip: Dont go to that hotel if u dont want to get disappointed and waste money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yamka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chandigarh hotels

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Certainly the location of hotel is a plus, in the city centre. Room was amazingly big and fairly clean. We could have a free upgrade and extra bed at a reasonable charge. Reception staff was very friendly. Food was average. Staff was kind enough to prepare food specially for our family after our late return in the night - tasty sandwitches!! I really liked the roof top restaurant ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The hotel is located very close to the Main market of chandigarh city i.e sector 17. The lobby of the hotel is not very attactive and is of 2* class. The hotel has advantage of being located close to Rose garden where one can go for a walk when ever free. Shopping from this location is also very easy. Rooms have been recently upgraded and are in good shape. There is no bargain as the hotel is managed by Govt Satff CITCO. The response is unproffessional. Parmanancy of job results in attitute and this is eveident when you stay in this hotel. There are 02 resturants, food is above average. bar is well stocked. breakfast spread is also average. Room service takes time and the cleanliness of room can be improved, as on date they are OK as they have been recently upgraded/renowvated.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manishjnewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I have stayed at this Government owned property several times in the past. If my memory serves me correct, the first time I was here was in 1998. By then the deterioration had started. Off late things had become rather sad. Frayed, dirty and shabby...that seemed to be the theme! While variety and price of F&B services have always been good, I wasn't ever sure about the hygiene in their kitchen. The hotel is the preferred destination for Government guests and Government sponsored events. That's probably why they never tried to improve.

But all of that seems to be changing. Over the past few years, several new hotels at various price points have opened in the vicinity and the Government company which owns the hotel must have realised that to survive they need to compete in the market place. Renovation work is on. They seem to have completely renovated the 5th floor rooms. Quite satisfactorily done. Stayed in one such room (see pictures). But the rest of the hotel continues to look rather tired.

Room service and attitude of staff has certainly improved. Breakfast and dinner buffet is ok...adequate but nothing to write home about. Swiping cards on the front desk is certainly a chancy affair as reported by others. While checking out the card I usually use didn't work and then my second card worked.

Overall...The price is reasonable and the location convenient...I would certainly return to this hotel if they assure me a room on the 5th floor. Otherwise...will look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay only if you get a room on the newly renovated 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArupGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The hotel's location is very good and close to the main bus terminus of Chandigarh. Sector 17 market is very close by. The rate is reasonable keeping in mind the breakfast and dinner are included in it. Even the food is quite good.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the upper floors if you are looking for quieter ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chandrassekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Call me a masochist if you will, but being a fair person, I try to give a hotel a second chance if I feel the first stay was problematic but staff attitude helped in resolving an issue. Over the last few years, I have averaged 100 to 150 nights in hotels and have become quite adept at picking out losers from winners.

This hotel is run by a government agency. This usually means service and attitudes are usually below sea level – but my philosophy of a second chance made me stay here again. The check in process was smooth but what was promised at reservation time was not offered at check-in. I stood my ground and got a non-smoking room – which was an upgrade. Checkout was slow and those using credit cards should be warned, their machines are notoriously inefficient. After many tries, it did go through but a profound apology from the front desk clerk the first stay was the catalyst to allow myself the self flagellation of a second! The checkout the second time was no better than the first!

The rooms that I have stayed in are very large compared to rooms in most European hotels. While size can be seductive, other contributing factors will disabuse you of the notion rather quickly.
The rooms are old and worn out. Towels have seen better days. The conditions of the bathrooms are a hit or miss proposition but even a hit means barely acceptable. Leaky faucets and barely functioning showers are the norm – hot water – it seems that comes from plumbing heated by the sun rather than a hot water heater.

Room service is acceptable, though on occasion, the wait times were over 45 minutes and required a query before the food arrived. Food quality was just OK and service was acceptable.
Breakfast and dinner were included in the room tariff. Both are of acceptable quality though I have reservations about hygiene standards. Service was slow or non-existent. Easier to get your request yourself rather than make a request.

The hotel is located in an ideal spot. Close to shopping and great parks. Since the hotel does not have a gym, the parks came in handy.

All in all, not a great hotel. If you can get a good price, then you can ignore the rest and spend a couple of nights. Otherwise, find another place.

Room Tip: Try to get upper floor rooms - however make sure they will not charge you more for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPolo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.5 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#10 of 100 in Chandigarh
640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountview
Hotel Mountview
#21 of 100 in Chandigarh
287 reviews
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Taj Chandigarh
Taj Chandigarh
#7 of 100 in Chandigarh
1,250 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#5 of 100 in Chandigarh
964 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel City Heart Premium
Hotel City Heart Premium
#34 of 100 in Chandigarh
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivalik View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivalik View

Property: Shivalik View
Address: Sector 17-E, Chandigarh 160017, India
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shivalik View 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shivalikview, Chandigarh is the best location for both business and leisure guests desiring a relaxed,elegant location in the heart of the Chandigarh. A contemporary business Hotel complementing the modern life style of the ' City Beautiful"; being 8 KM from the Railway station, 12KM from the Airport and with an easy access to the Shopping center and ISBT, the Hotel offers a warm welcome, pleasant ambiance and an excellent range of superb Restaurants, guests facilities and services backed by great hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shivalik View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivalik View Hotel Chandigarh
Shivalik View Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing