We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel with decent facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shivalik View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shivalik View
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Chandigarh
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent hotel with decent facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I got a decent room. However, the building itself was in renovation and it was rainy season. The best part of the hotel is the beautiful view from the restaurant. Great amazing view and good quality food also. The rooms were pretty old, but I assume they would have been renovated by now and should be looking new now.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaypkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    135
    86
    23
    12
See reviews for
82
24
28
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We got fairly nice rooms. The hotel is nothing exceptional but well located and offered a good price. They also offered free buffet lunch and dinner which was fine but the restaurant wasn't very clean and kind of dated. Otherwise it was nice and the staff were helpful. One thing I did not like was that I had booked airport pickup and they never showed up, nit sure why.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Frankly speaking, this is one of the worst hotels in its category. I stayed in the hotel for just one night and I was glad it wasn't any more than that. While my check in was okay, the issues began just post that.
I was travelling with a kid and family and was given a smoking room i.e. smoking floor. As soon as I entered the room, it was smelling of cigerrette and I requested that my room be changed. It took about 30 mins from the time a new room was allocated to me shifting into the room. The walls jut outside the new room were worn down and I was told that the hotel was under renovation.

The room itself was spacious, but the bathroom was dirty !
The complimentary Dinner was average, and had it not been for time , we would have opted for Ala' Carte.

The checkout part in the morning was the most terrible. I called for a checkout , and after a few more calls, a walk to the reception and about 45 minutes later, I had the porter come in to take off my luggage. There were no apologies or even a hint that that they were sorry for the inconvieninece, I would have done it myself , had I found a trolley.

The overall staff was unfriendly and seemed uninterested. I would not stay in this hotel ever again.

Room Tip: Please avoid !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desichap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chandigarh hotels

Leigh, Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I had a really pleasant stay here. The staff were friendly and helpful, my room was big and comfortable and the hotel is really well situated, a couple of minutes walk away from the plaza in S17. The hotel is actually rather glam in a 70's Bollywood way - think the sort of hotel that featured in films like Don.

Breakfasts were good - I live in a part of England where we don;t get uttapam on a menu very often so it was great to get them as part of the breakfast buffet here - but it would have been nice to have a bit more variety in the evening. The naan, roti and parathas that the hotel makes are excellent though! My bed was incredibly comfortable and I slept like a log.

The day-to-day cleaning of my room was fine, and the maid who took care of my room was as friendly and helpful as all the other staff, but there' maybe a need for "spring cleaning" more often while the refurbishment is in progress?

My room had a lovely new big flat screen TV, with a good range of channels, but the reception could be a bit hit and miss. Not a big problem, but something to bear in mind.

The hotel does have a business centre, with computers, fax, printer and, I think, scanner. There's also an excellent fast wi-fi connection, Rs 100 for an hour or 300 for a day. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
expat in Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

too expensive for what you get.
good point: size of the rooms
bad points: unfriendly and inefficient staff, poor isolation, poor breakfast, no business facilities, hotel under renovation (but not advertised so). Clearly .... not enough competition at chandigarh!!!
it is own by the goverment and ... it shows (in all bad senses)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misskeika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I were looking for a simple but nice, clean hotel in Chandigarh just for 1 night. Shivalik View was one of the available (not much hotels were available at that period because of Diwali festival). Obviously I checked the reviews of this hotel here in TripAdvisor. The overall rate was 3.5. Checked the reviews - saw both good and bad reviews. As we didnt have much choice - we booked a room. It cost 110$ per night for a standard room! Once we reached the hotel - we got a shock!!!!!!! We entered the room and just couldn't even sit on the bed! Everything was so old, stinky and disgusting, toilet flush was not working! The bed was so hard! The bed cover was so old that we just couldnt touch it! We were sooo disappointed! This is what we get for 110$ ???????? We just left the hotel and went out to spend time, just not to be in that room. We arrived to room by evening, and once entered the room, I just blasted! Went to the reception and told that I am not ready to stay in that room. They told that they will see what can be done.; After 10 mins they came and told that they shift us to another room. The other room was not the standart room we paid for, it looked better, but still NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!!!!!!!! Next day we checked out and were very happy to leave that hotel. While checking out I filled the feedback - I hope the manager of the hotel will read that. Ah, forgot to tell that big renovation is going on there and everywhere is dusty and noisy! AWFUL PLACE!!! Will never ever think to go back there! WASTE OF MONEY!!! Just 1 positive point - food was pretty good.

Room Tip: Dont go to that hotel if u dont want to get disappointed and waste money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yamka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Certainly the location of hotel is a plus, in the city centre. Room was amazingly big and fairly clean. We could have a free upgrade and extra bed at a reasonable charge. Reception staff was very friendly. Food was average. Staff was kind enough to prepare food specially for our family after our late return in the night - tasty sandwitches!! I really liked the roof top restaurant ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gvbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.5 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#9 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
1.3 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#5 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountview
Hotel Mountview
#20 of 98 in Chandigarh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#4 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Chandigarh
Taj Chandigarh
#7 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivalik View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivalik View

Property: Shivalik View
Address: Sector 17-E, Chandigarh 160017, India
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shivalik View 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shivalikview, Chandigarh is the best location for both business and leisure guests desiring a relaxed,elegant location in the heart of the Chandigarh. A contemporary business Hotel complementing the modern life style of the ' City Beautiful"; being 8 KM from the Railway station, 12KM from the Airport and with an easy access to the Shopping center and ISBT, the Hotel offers a warm welcome, pleasant ambiance and an excellent range of superb Restaurants, guests facilities and services backed by great hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shivalik View Hotel Chandigarh
Shivalik View Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing