We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Under Rennovation ,Business Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shivalik View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shivalik View
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Chandigarh
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
205 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Still Under Rennovation ,Business Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

I visit this hotel regularly almost 3-4 times in a year for 3 days/visit.I have been staying hee since 2009
I like this hotel ,the ambience and the food here but during my last visit it was completely different.Food was not good and the varities were also very limited.The hotel is still under rennovation. I think it is nor almost two years since they stared rennovation.
Some of the front office staffs this time were BAD.
This time I did not enjoy my stay here.Also the quality of food and service of the hotel has detoriated since September 2011.

The rooms are now not organised properly and it is not clean now

Room Tip: Take room on higher floor with balcony to have an excellent view.It is really very green.Rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DilipKeshary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    134
    86
    23
    12
See reviews for
82
24
27
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Patiala, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

well situated at the central market sector 17 of chandigarh, a busy and shopping centre for every type of products and enjoying pubs. Very beautiful and have good ambience. Backside of the hotle, one can enjoy seeing Rose garden, a beautiful place to watch with thousand varieities of the roses. The hotle is very affordaable and staff is very coopertive. The food served is very good.

Room Tip: all the room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nkbbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Its a Government property and surprisingly, very professionally managed. Good spacious room. Very centrally located. bit of renovation work is on. Great view of the green city from rooms on higher floors. Food needs to be improved. Value for money and personally had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HPTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, U.T., India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

It is a very centrally located hotel in Sec-17 with alot of greenry in and outside the campus.The hotel is huge and rooms are very spacious.It is good for both business as well as leisure visit.They have complimentary breakfast and dinner and the spread is pretty good.Recently they also started rainforest restaurant and cloud 9 disc.
The hotel is still undergoing rennovation.
I have stayed in this hotel many times and all the places of interest in chandigarh are in a radius of 3 to 5 kms from here. Moreover if you are planning a trip to the up hills then also shivalik view is a good option for a luxurious holiday as the main tuorist destination i.e. shimla is just 130 km from here .

Best Experience: The best part is that the Hotel's surrounding is very green despite being in the main commercial sector of Chandigarh.This greenary is really a very nice experience.
Rare varities of Eagle can be spotted on the trees in the hotel as well.

ACOOMMODATION & AMENITIES
The centrally air-conditioned hotel has 104 luxurious rooms and 4 suites with attached balconies, running hot and cold purified water, direct dial telephones, channel music and cable TV, private balconies, room service round the clock.

FACILITIES:

Tour & travel desk
Beauty parlour
24 hour currency exchange
Credit Cards accepted
Same day laundry & cleaning service
Doctor on call
Shopping arcade
Safe deposit lockers.
CONFERENCE ROOMS : Two well appointed rooms for smaller conferences and meetings upto 40 persons on the 2nd and 3rd floor. Modern audio video conference facilities available.

BUSINESS CENTER: Well equipped business center having Computer, Internet, Fax, Photostat & Secretarial facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I got a decent room. However, the building itself was in renovation and it was rainy season. The best part of the hotel is the beautiful view from the restaurant. Great amazing view and good quality food also. The rooms were pretty old, but I assume they would have been renovated by now and should be looking new now.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaypkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We got fairly nice rooms. The hotel is nothing exceptional but well located and offered a good price. They also offered free buffet lunch and dinner which was fine but the restaurant wasn't very clean and kind of dated. Otherwise it was nice and the staff were helpful. One thing I did not like was that I had booked airport pickup and they never showed up, nit sure why.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Frankly speaking, this is one of the worst hotels in its category. I stayed in the hotel for just one night and I was glad it wasn't any more than that. While my check in was okay, the issues began just post that.
I was travelling with a kid and family and was given a smoking room i.e. smoking floor. As soon as I entered the room, it was smelling of cigerrette and I requested that my room be changed. It took about 30 mins from the time a new room was allocated to me shifting into the room. The walls jut outside the new room were worn down and I was told that the hotel was under renovation.

The room itself was spacious, but the bathroom was dirty !
The complimentary Dinner was average, and had it not been for time , we would have opted for Ala' Carte.

The checkout part in the morning was the most terrible. I called for a checkout , and after a few more calls, a walk to the reception and about 45 minutes later, I had the porter come in to take off my luggage. There were no apologies or even a hint that that they were sorry for the inconvieninece, I would have done it myself , had I found a trolley.

The overall staff was unfriendly and seemed uninterested. I would not stay in this hotel ever again.

Room Tip: Please avoid !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desichap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chandigarh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.5 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#9 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
1.3 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#5 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountview
Hotel Mountview
#21 of 98 in Chandigarh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#4 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Chandigarh
Taj Chandigarh
#7 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivalik View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivalik View

Property: Shivalik View
Address: Sector 17-E, Chandigarh 160017, India
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shivalik View 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shivalikview, Chandigarh is the best location for both business and leisure guests desiring a relaxed,elegant location in the heart of the Chandigarh. A contemporary business Hotel complementing the modern life style of the ' City Beautiful"; being 8 KM from the Railway station, 12KM from the Airport and with an easy access to the Shopping center and ISBT, the Hotel offers a warm welcome, pleasant ambiance and an excellent range of superb Restaurants, guests facilities and services backed by great hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shivalik View Hotel Chandigarh
Shivalik View Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing