We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business & Leisure Hotel”
Review of Shivalik View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shivalik View
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Business & Leisure Hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is now a much improved property run by CITCO.The overall look of the hotel,attitude of staffs and service quality has improved tremendously since December 2012.I visit this hotel very frequently.Was little disappointed during my last visit in December 2011 but during my recent visist in April 2012 I saw tremendous change in the hotel .It is now much improved hotel.Renovation work is going on since last two years and it is still not complete.Their fitness centre and swimming pool is yet to become operational.It is stretched too long now.
uality of rooms ,food quality and overall hospitality is now much better.
Hotel is centrally located and the surrounding is very very green.

Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floor with balcony to enjoy the greenary of Chandigarh
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DilipKeshary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    142
    93
    23
    12
See reviews for
85
27
28
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I am a big foodie and the kind of chineese food cooked in the roof top Chinese restaurant at Hotel Shivalikview is really delicious and value for money.I went there alone to grab a bite as i had to catch a volvo to Delhi from nearby bus station.The service staff was very kind and quick in tidy uniform spotless clean. Altogether is was a nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajatBhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Shivalik View, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Mr Bhandari,

It is indeed a matter of great pleasure for us to know that you have visited our roof top Chinese Restaurant "YANGTSE" and was extremely satisfied with the quality food and services.We value your feedback and assure you for our commitment to provide gracious hospitality with quality, sincerity and dedication.

Warm regards,

Umesh Mani Dikshit
Guest Relation Executive
Hotel Shivalikview
098153 77744
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed here last year in the suite and it was an amazing place. The flooring was wooden, the room size was big and the bathroom was lavish. Overall the best place to stay if you are new in Chandigarh. The restaurant has some great menu in breakfast and the buffet on weekdays are just made for pocket conscious people. Buffet is available only for 400 / head which is not expensive.

The room service was quick and the lobby area was also clean. The best part is the location of the hotel as it is in the center of city and all markets are close to the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmeet Singh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dehradun, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Well...well....welll.... what should I write in the first ever review for a hotel I've been frequenting for the last 12 years. I can only say its changing. Both for the good and the bad. This is a government hotel and mind you the Government part stops at that. Nowhere in this country have I found such a well maintained hotel both in facilities and services. The rooms are the biggest you would find anywhere; with courteous staff; good menu and the restaurant; and efficient service. I have been witness to many small changes in the hotel during the last 12 years. However, this time the change is big. The investment is being done on the interiors of the complete hotel. Most of its has been finished and a lot still remains. This visit of mine was after a gap of almost two years.. What I found was that though the new changes like wooden flooring, wall paneling, led lamps; lcd tvs are good; the old time charms (utilities) are found missing. Like in the toilet the new glass sink is totally useless and clumsy to use; the storage options in the rooms are miniscule; the buffet lacks the variety and things like these. But still overall the place is the my and my families favorite one. In fact my 6 yr old daughter, who's been staying here since she was 06 month, would not take even the Taj in place of this property. They now even have a new addition, the Rain Forest restaurant, for the kids and their parties, wherein all animal and reptiles and bird and the entire African wildlife creatures are displayed.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms on either sides of the property provide a good view of the Chandigarh skyline. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NavRitRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel is old but is under tremendous renovation....

Food quality needs to be improved.

Rooms are huge and AC worked perfectly fine.

We just hopped on for a night stay to cover Amritsar the next day

Will try another hotel next time in Chandigarh

(Hotel is located right behind Sector 17)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed for 1 night en-route to Amritsar. Rooms are huge. Surprisingly Bkfst/Dinner Buffet was included in the room price. Food OK. Hotel Reception/Swimming Pool under renovation. Rainforest Cafe was a big hit with the kids. Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is owned by CITCO Chandigarh Administration. It is a good Hotel, which has nice decent rooms and nice food to indulge in...The Biggest +point of this hotel is the Location. It is in the center of Chandigarh and is just easy to go anywhere from here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.5 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#10 of 100 in Chandigarh
640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountview
Hotel Mountview
#20 of 100 in Chandigarh
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Chandigarh
Taj Chandigarh
#7 of 100 in Chandigarh
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#5 of 100 in Chandigarh
965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel City Heart Premium
Hotel City Heart Premium
#35 of 100 in Chandigarh
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivalik View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivalik View

Property: Shivalik View
Address: Sector 17-E, Chandigarh 160017, India
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shivalik View 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shivalikview, Chandigarh is the best location for both business and leisure guests desiring a relaxed,elegant location in the heart of the Chandigarh. A contemporary business Hotel complementing the modern life style of the ' City Beautiful"; being 8 KM from the Railway station, 12KM from the Airport and with an easy access to the Shopping center and ISBT, the Hotel offers a warm welcome, pleasant ambiance and an excellent range of superb Restaurants, guests facilities and services backed by great hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shivalik View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivalik View Hotel Chandigarh
Shivalik View Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing