We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Awesome place and service””
Review of Hotel Sunbeam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sunbeam
Ranked #45 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

By far the best dining experience & Hospitality i have ever received by a Hotel. I had stayed there for 4 days and each day there was a charm about this hotel. It is situated in Sector 22, nearer to 17 sector ISBT, hence the location is center point, easy to access 17 Market, Rock garden, Sukhna lake.

P L Mehra

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sunbeam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

the hotel has advantage of his location , otherwise not recommended to live. in this budget you can live any better hotel.the living experience at this hotel is very miserable.you can not afford to stay again in this type of hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Trust me, stay clear by a mile. I was travelling with my wife and kid, and at check in, the surly guy at the desk wanted both my and my spouse's id! He looked at us with suspicion as if we were a runaway couple! And we had a kid, not that it should have mattered! When we were shown into our room, the first thing that struck us was the awful smell emanating from the carpet. It was difficult to breathe. The bathroom was a shambles with a broken tub, leaking faucets and bare electricity connections. I requested for another room and the manager said that all the rooms were in the same shape! There was not exactly a 'saving grace' but the live band in the dining area was good. Next morning, first thing, i checked into a 'dharamsala'.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peeyush v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We are 2 family of young kids who stayed there for 1 night on 18 May 2013. The hotel is terrible and fraud too as below :

1. On their website they claim to be a 4 star hotel which is totally false as they do not have a vehicle parking space of their own, no ways it can be even a 3 star category hotel.
2. The lavish garden which is shown in their website is in fact a small terrace garden.
3. There is no live entertainment band or refridgerators in the room as claimed in the website.
4. The rooms are of descent size but looks like the carpet have not been cleaned for years and they produce a terrible smoky odour.
5. I checked in in room No 225 at 7 pm but to my horror I saw that they toilet was all dirty and the toilet soap which was there, was a used one.
6. The hotel has central AC but the cooling was extremely poor in Room No 225 and hence my room was changed to Room No 211 which had better AC.
7. Our package had breakfast & an extra bed included in it . But we were asked to pay for the breakfast separately by the cafe people as they claimed that they were not aware of the complimentary breakfast which was later resolved when we showed the booking voucher with details but this incident was extremely insulting.
8. In one of our 2 rooms an extra bed was not put at night for which we had already paid Rs. 700/- at the time of bookings. But the reception staff was not ready to deduct the Rs. 700/- from the final bill for not providing the extra bed. This was eventually done but not before the Reception staff ( Mr Mohinder ) misbehaved with us.
9. The reception staff during daytime ( Mr Mohinder ) & during night time were extremely rude and were not at all willing to listen to their clients giving the excuse that since others are not complainting, we should also not complaint.
10. Even during checkout, the reception staff claimed ignorance about our initial booking amount and we had to produce the receipt of the booking amount in order to convince him.

Hence my final conclusion is that better avoid this hotel if you dont want to spoil your holidays.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel only if you want to spoil your vacations.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mparth2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeam0029, Manager at Hotel Sunbeam, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Many thanks for your comments. As you mentioned about parking space, we do have parking space here , but its a MCC parking and we can not claimed it is our personal parking even you can check our hotel website as well. Our terrace garden is big as the terrace is and you can see how big it is on our hotel website. We do have a live band here but its in the restaurant and the bar lounge and no refrigerator have been claimed on our website which you can check.
The both rooms you checked having a clean carpet because the carpet cleaning schedule on every fortnight basis. The smoky odour you mentioned might be of cleaning agent we used to clean our carpets. As the hotel is centrally A.C. the cooling has to be even in the entire hotel , as you accept that your room 211 had better A.C. As you mentioned about the breakfast , this is the basic rule of hospitality industry , no guest holding a voucher can be denied the complimentary breakfast . Complimentary service voucher should be show at the time of check in to the reception personal, so he can inform to the other related departments about your complimentary services. During your stay in our hotel extra bed had been put up in the room and it is incorrect to say no bed had been put up. As you mentioned the reception staff in both the shifts were extremely rude with you, it's very hard to believe that all the reception personals were rude with you . It seems like you labeling them as a rude staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Nothing more, perhaps we were out of season and the place was resting but it seemed a little soul less. The staff were helpful, it was clean and tidy the restaurant offered a reasonable menu and bar, the door man was a hoot. But, it was nothing more than that.

Sorry

Great location - right across the road from the bus station and a plethora of shops on the doorstep

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HtDMtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Hotel Sunbeam is nice, clean, tidy and with very nice staff, especially on the door and behind the counter. Stayed two nights in January and enjoyed it. Value for money. A bit flakey round the edges but only as far as paint and bathroom sealant goes. Everything works and the staff are friendly. After that...who cares?

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank curryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

A very average hotel which i visited after 17 years and found no visible change.rooms need to be upgraded and overall ambience need to be worked out.at this price range picadally is better option.food was good though.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajesh69agarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunbeam Premium
Sunbeam Premium
#16 of 100 in Chandigarh
101 reviews
0.9 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#9 of 100 in Chandigarh
613 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oyster
Hotel Oyster
#35 of 100 in Chandigarh
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Emerald Chandigarh
Hotel Emerald Chandigarh
#24 of 100 in Chandigarh
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jullundur Hotel
Jullundur Hotel
#69 of 100 in Chandigarh
36 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mountview
Hotel Mountview
#21 of 100 in Chandigarh
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunbeam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunbeam

Address: Sunbeam Sco 1058 - 1061 | Udyog Path, Sector 22-B, Chandigarh 160022, India
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range: £48 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunbeam 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you step into the elegant and airy lobby of the Sunbeam, there is a feeling of being welcomed with open arms. You can sink into our comfortable sofas, relax, or take a refreshing walk in our lush green lawns. In the meantime, our efficient staff will complete the registration formalities and the bell boys will dispatch the luggage to your room. Then you may take the gracefully curving staircase, or if you prefer, the lift to your room where everything has been arranged to make you feel at home. At Sunbeam, we take pride in the hospitality. Our four star hotel affords service that has set standards in the hospitality industry. If you’re looking for more than just a good night’s rest, walk through our doors. The Sunbeam will add spirit to your day and sparkle to your evening… we have the ‘more’ you’re looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sunbeam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbeam Hotel Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing