We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly deserves to be #1!”
Review of White Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We visit the White Sands National Monument every year and have always stayed in chain motels in Alamogordo. We were impressed by the reviews on Trip Advisor for the White Sands Motel which led us to stay there last August and we can say that all the good things we have read about it are true.

It is just lovely to stay in somewhere so different from the chains . The motel is spotlessly clean and very quiet. The outside was immaculate and looks as though it is painted every year.

The staff are very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

We loved to be able to borrow the sledges (I think they are called saucers) which meant we were able to go sledging down the gypsum dunes in the cool of the evening and early the next morning without the hassle of having to wait for the gift shop at the Park to open to hire sledges

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank towncar_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Clean, nice location and a lot of restaurants nearby but not much else. "Breakfast" was just a snack and the internet was not working most of the time both days we were here. I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThomaLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I always enjoy coming to new mexico and staying at the white sands motel. Very friendly staff and good service. The location is very good because there are many kinds of different restaurants. You could aptly go walking if you desire. A super Wal-Mart is closely located.

Room Tip: Always choose a non-smoking from.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank thehappyguest_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at the White Sands Motel for a night.. The White Sands Motel is less expensive and has many advantages over the nearby national chains.! Because it is a 'Route 66' era vntage motel, there is a certain nostalgia about seeing their neon sign and being able to park right in front of your room, The proprietors are extremely nice and go out of their way to please. Our room was clean and quiet. The motel is well-maintained hence the AAA rating. Although there is no on-premise restaurant, several are within walking distance and the motel provides continental .breakfast:, fresh fruit, cereal, excellent coffee, sweet roll. When in Alamogordo, this is a great independent motor hotel..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here 2 yrs ago and again last week. Yes it is a motel but It is far superior than most 3,4 star hotels. Its is super clean and carpet, curtains, furnishing all is in top shape. V. comfortable bed with nice linens, Cable Refrigerator Microwave Coffeemaker.. at prob 1/2 the price of surrounding hotels. Nice owners & best part is you can just walk over a few yards to applebee's & chili's.. a big plus it you want to gave some wine or beer without being concerned about drink/driving.

Room Tip: Eat & Drink next door without driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geronimo248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were on our 6th anniversary vacation & wanted to see White Sands National Monument, so, what better place to stay than White Sands Motel. I checked all reviews & all were good except maybe 3. This place is small but very clean & staff is great, very friendly. We will stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were in town for two nights to visit White Sands and attend the Balloon Invitational. As we weren't going to be spending too much time in our room, I was primarily concerned about the motel being clean, safe, convenient and not overpriced. This motel was all of the above. We got a regular room with a queen bed. Room wasn't very large and it was older, but it contained everything we needed including fast wifi, mini fridge, and microwave. It's also family run and the owners were very friendly and readily available. They also had several sleds to borrow if you were going to White Sands. The free breakfast was very limited, but there are several restaurants nearby to dine at if you wanted more choices.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corgigal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#2 of 13 in Alamogordo
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Motel

Address: 1101 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310-7251
Region: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range: £51 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your White Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Alamogordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing