We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very clean "Easy in---Easy out"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Sands Motel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
TX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“very clean "Easy in---Easy out"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I were searching for a place to spend the night which would require very little walking. We found this Motel and were pleasantly surprised as it was just "steps" from the car to the room. With severe back problems we had stayed previously at one of the places that require walking thru the lobby to your room. The owners have spent money to remodel their motel. New windows, carpet etc. The only complaint was the smell. We had a non smoking room and I am not sure what the smell was. We turned the air conditioner on and that shortly resolved the problem. This is obviously an old Motel from the '50's probably, but kept up well. They did serve a cold breakfast. Our room had a small refrigerator and a microwave. The rates were reasonable, and the bed was good. No fancy frills but all you need for a good nights rest.

Room Tip: The walls are thin and there is a nearby railroad track nearby, so I suppose ask for a room as far a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlered4435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    102
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
75
118
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I along with our 3 children stayed for an evening in this quaint motel. We reserved a family room with three beds, which was perfect for our family! The owners clearly take great pride in their motel, as it was very clean, and they both were so nice and welcoming (also offering to let us use their sleds for White Sands). The price was very reasonable, especially for the location, which was close to the southern end of town making it a quicker trip to the monument. Overall a great place to stay, and we'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickm1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Loved our 2 night stay here. The whole place is bright and cheerful, very clean and comfortable. A real little gem. Had a 2 room family suite and it was very spacious and comfortable. Would stay here any time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polkadotKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was traveling with my sister who had flown in from Michigan to show her the sights of NM. White Sands Nat'l Park had to be on the list. So when I checked your web sight, White Sands Motel stood out. I was tickled with the older fashioned motel, loved the bright, fresh paint, and of course, the great reviews. The owners could not have been nicer nor more accommodating. They had all the amenities of the larger, chain hotels plus charm. Very clean room. I'll not forget the lovely evening I sat outside my room, glass of wine in hand, watching the sun set on the mountains. All rooms had chairs and a table outside just for this pleasure. I plan on bringing my husband down there to enjoy the atmosphere as well. Well Done Owners!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms to the back of the property for more privacy and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We visit the White Sands National Monument every year and have always stayed in chain motels in Alamogordo. We were impressed by the reviews on Trip Advisor for the White Sands Motel which led us to stay there last August and we can say that all the good things we have read about it are true.

It is just lovely to stay in somewhere so different from the chains . The motel is spotlessly clean and very quiet. The outside was immaculate and looks as though it is painted every year.

The staff are very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

We loved to be able to borrow the sledges (I think they are called saucers) which meant we were able to go sledging down the gypsum dunes in the cool of the evening and early the next morning without the hassle of having to wait for the gift shop at the Park to open to hire sledges

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank towncar_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peristeri
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Clean, nice location and a lot of restaurants nearby but not much else. "Breakfast" was just a snack and the internet was not working most of the time both days we were here. I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomaLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I always enjoy coming to new mexico and staying at the white sands motel. Very friendly staff and good service. The location is very good because there are many kinds of different restaurants. You could aptly go walking if you desire. A super Wal-Mart is closely located.

Room Tip: Always choose a non-smoking from.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank thehappyguest_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#1 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Motel

Property: White Sands Motel
Address: 1101 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310-7251
Region: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alamogordo
#1 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Alamogordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing