We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value for longterm stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Satellite Inn

Satellite Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Satellite Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
South Pole
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great value for longterm stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was a great inexpensive hotel for my long term stay - I stayed a month there. They offer weekly and monthly rates. We were in an updated room and it was slightly larger than some of the other motels along White Sands Blvd. They also offer a free light breakfast with cereal, toast, and usually a danish of some kind. It was simple but very reasonably priced for the month.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woody_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    11
    3
    9
See reviews for
13
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Tx
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stay there for a weekend a number of times per year for business. I had stayed at some of the other, more expensive, motels there and they were aweful. This place is inexpensive and comfy. The owner and staff are friendly and responsive. The rooms have a fridge and microwave, which for me, being a business traveler, is important. For the price, this is a solid and predictable place to stay and I recommend it. If you call to book, you save a few dollars over their website price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plink_from_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, Iowa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We've stayed at the Satellite Inn twice while in Alamogordo visiting family. It's exactly what you would expect for the price: basic (no hair dryer, no ironing board/iron although I guess you can request an iron at the front desk and few amenities in-room) It's an old property that has not been updated but it's a safe place to stay with comfortable beds and is clean. The shower is old with a faucet that came off in my hand but I did replace it and it was usable. The tub is scratched and stained. They have a small continental breakfast with cereal, pastries and coffee. Again, it's what is expected when you are able to stay for less than $50 a night. it depends upon what you want to spend your money on and how much time you are going to be in the room. We simply wanted a place to lay our heads as we were with family all day and evenings and only returned to the room in time to watch a bit of television and go to bed. Free wireless internet is a nice perk and the front deak people are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodwriter50459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived late and the manager was friendly and helpful despite our 2.00 a.m. arrival. the room was clean overall but their was a glob of soap in the tub from the prior guest and a lip balm stick on the floor. Nevertheless the beds were comfortable and despite being on the main road quiet. Two trains came thru town and you hear them. Continental breakfast which is cold cereal, coffee is provided. Average local hotel but price makes it good bargain.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bikeman4147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I noticed that the rest of the reviews are all over two years old. Perhaps the motel is under new management, but I found it to be very clean and well-appointed, especially considering the $40/night price for a double room. I have paid more than twice as much for worse accomodations. The lobby is very clean and well-kept, which was my first sign that this was going to be a good place. The room had a fridge and microwave, as well as a small table and chairs, and was a good-sized room. Yes, there is some street noise, mainly in the early morning, but all the Alamogordo motels are on the main strip, so this will be the case anywhere. The proprietor was friendly to everyone and knowledgeable about the area as well. Would definitely recommend the Satellite Inn, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susmita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We arrived early evening and was given the room we reserved, the only chair in the room was about to fall apart and could not be used and the table was about to fall apart also. Using the shower the shower knobs leaked constantly and the shower curtian was moldy. The air conditioner would not stay on and the room was hot. I don't know what the others that wrote reviews were given for rooms, but we has one that will stick in our minds for a long time as not wanting to come back here again. After traveling all day we just wanted a nice comfortable room to stay in and the beds were hard. They had internet if you wanted to pay for it.

Room Tip: Find another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 69eengelkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alamogordo hotels

Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Our room was decent-sized and mostly clean; the floor edges obviously had not been vacuumed for a long time. When we arrived, there were only two sets of towels for the four of us, and the toilet paper was the absolute last of the roll. Towels were provided as soon as I asked, but the TP had to wait until an employee returned from the store...and then go back to buy some. The price for the room was great, it didn't smell bad, people working there were very pleasant. We would stay there again...and would bring our own TP.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyshoesWeaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
2.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
1.4 mi away
Classic Inn Motel
Classic Inn Motel
#10 of 13 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satellite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satellite Inn

Property: Satellite Inn
Address: 2224 N White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310-6140
Region: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Satellite Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Satellite Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satellite Hotel Alamogordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing