We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful restaurant!”
Review of Stella Vita

Stella Vita
Ranked #23 of 89 Restaurants in Alamogordo
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Southwest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“What a wonderful restaurant!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

What a pleasant surprise. A really class spot in downtown Alamogordo, but casual enough for everyone to enjoy. Everything was perfect. They have done a wonderful job decorating one of the lovely old downtown buildings. It's simple chic - it could be a bistro in Miami Beach or San Francisco. But fortunately, it’s in our little town of Alamogordo. You need to know where you are going. No garish sign, just an understated entrance with printed menu and the daily specials. Inside, the greeting is warm, friendly and professional. Our waitress really knew the menu. Service was perfect and not fussy.

Now for the food. Every plate was lovely. First, there was tasty bread plus olive oil and vinegar. The Crab cakes were the best I’ve eaten, piping hot and attractively plated with a delicious fine slaw. I would have been happy with that alone. The summer pasta was flawless - if anything issue, it was just too much food. The sandwich my friend had looked great too. I wish I had tried the desserts, but just couldn’t eat another bite. From what I saw, they looked delicious. I can’t tell you what a treat this place was. Prices are a little high for Alamogordo, but so is the quality. I was very impressed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nmsouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    22
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
232 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Hard to Find, But Worth the Effort”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had stopped for the night in Alamogordo, read the TA reviews for Stella Vita and decided to gice it a try for a mid-week dinner. We arrived at the address and had to get out of the car and walk around the old shopping area before we actually found the restaurant. The sign is very small and is turned sideways making it difficult to see from the street.
We walked in shortly after they opened at 5PM and no other guests entered until we were almost done eating an hour later. The atmosphere inside was dark and decor was minimal with a table set with flowers in the middle of the restaurant.
We had the soup of the day (butternut squash) and ordered the shrimp scampi for our entree. Both were excellent. Service was well paced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikejack52pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamogordo
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Geat place to go for a "special occasion!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We save Stella Vita for special occasions like a wedding anniversary, birthday, etc.,. We think it's a romantic place to go. It reminds me of the north of Italy. Décor is understated & elegant. I've done lunch there
many times, but enjoy the quiet & ambiance in the evening. The food is excellent. The best part is, it's not a "chain" restaurant. It's locally owned.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Santa Fe Authors Loved this Place!!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We traveled to Alamogordo to speak and do a book signing. Not knowing the area, we went right to Trip Advisor for suggestions for dinner on Friday night, April 4. This restaurant's reviews sounded too good to be true! Wow! We loved everything about it! The beautiful décor, the friendly- efficient staff and the delicious food! This restaurant is truly a treasure! We will be back to speak on our book in the next few months, and plan to dine here again! Phil and Rosanne Archuletta, Santa Fe, NM

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamogordo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best in Town”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The food in this restaurant is the best in town without doubt. You will pay the price for it, with an entree running between $10-20, but you will get fresh fish (flow in daily), excellent wine, fabulous specials and fantastic service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stella Vita also viewed

 

Been to Stella Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing