We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local burger stop”
Review of Hi-D-Ho Drive In

Hi-D-Ho Drive In
Ranked #5 of 89 Restaurants in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: Between Richardson Motors & Papa Johns Pizza, Gotta look you might miss us! Pets welcome.Outdoor dining only yes it's hot its summer, yes there's some flying insects, were outdoors!! If you want $3.00 burgers go to McDonalds.If tattoos offend you or short shorts, not for you.If you can wait for a good meal, yes, If you want fancy dining, not for you!Smoking is ok.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great local burger stop”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Decided to try out this burger joint for dinner while we were in Alamogordo. It was busy, but the staff was very friendly. We decide to eat outside on the patio instead of in our car - although we loved that they offered car-side service. We got green chili's on our burgers, and they were actually pretty tasty burgers. Affordable, and fun to people watch the local youth stopping by. Not the best burger I've ever had, but it hit the spot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CadetBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    55
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, TX
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It's actually the best burger I've had in a while. Get the Tiger burger and you won't be disappointed! Fries were ok, but frozen. The drinks were good and the service was good as well. I would not consider this fast food as it took roughly fifteen minutes for us to receive our meal, but it was worth the wait. They will take your order directly from your vehicle, or at one of the tables they have setup outside. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Lake, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Went there yesterday and was extremely disappointed. Four of us ordered burgers and some Mexican food. It literally took over 45 minutes to get our food. For a drive in or fast food, it was not quick at all. Food was OK, service initially was curtious. Here for one month and will not be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hom409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artesia, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the "Tiger" Burger!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very busy and happening place when we pulled up. We only saw one waitress taking and delivering orders. So we didn't know how long we were going to be waiting. We were pleasantly surprised. We were referred to the Hi D Ho as one of the best burgers in Alamo. So we took the plunge. We ordered the Tiger burger with green chili. It was a great tasting burger. Great flavor. The staff was friendly, very informative, and very helpful.. We will stop and visit again when we are in Alamogordo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PackerInNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meh, it's ok.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Well we pulled up and I wasn't sure they were even open. Get out of the car and there are bees everywhere, even inside the small restaurant. Not spice and span but clean enough fir s small drive in. The staff was not very friendly at all. We felt out of place. The food was pretty good but not stellar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Momma1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hi-D-Ho Drive In also viewed

 

Been to Hi-D-Ho Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing