We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Secluded B&B”
Review of Tavares Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alamogordo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tavares Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Alamogordo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We followed our gps and wondered if we had entered the correct address. Tavares Inn is a bit out in the country. The minute we arrived Debbie greeted us and gave us the grand tour. An amazing place and very comfortable. We were able to relax and try out the wine bar (donation).
Debbie gave us directions to a nice Italian restaurant just a couple of miles away. Breakfast is fantastic. Too much to eat, and it kept coming. We skipped lunch. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnuts16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We booked this place last minute for our visit to White Sands and we loved the place.
It's a one of a kind B&B which has the best hosts; very friendly and they have made their place unique and thought of everything that can make the place more enjoyable. There is a 24 hour heated indoor swimming pool and a pool table available in the communal area. In this area there is also an honesty bar; they have provided people with various refreshments. They also have a parrot in the communal area which is very entertaining and can be chatty but at the same time, we couldn't hear the parrot when we were in the bedroom so perfect for sleeping. There's also a gym and plenty of outdoor seating but unfortunately we didn't have time to make use of these facilities.
The bed is very comfortable, making it hard to get up and the bathroom is very clean and spacious.
Wake up call (with drink of your choice and watermelon) and the breakfast was so delicious that we ate so much and had to have a quick power nap afterwards before we continued with the day.

We highly recommend this place to anyone in the area- way better than any hotel. We wished we had a couple of days spare on our trip to enjoy the Inn properly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen_tsui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The accommodations are ever so nice-and it is a place to spend some time if one wishes. There are several areas to just "hang out". The best part is probably Bob and Debbie- just the best-and that was not even mentioning their wonderful breakfast. When in the area again, it will be where we stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the lovely and unique Tavares Inn for a night during our honeymoon. We knew we wanted to see White Sands National Monument and this B&B had so much more personality than any hotel around. Debbie was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. We loved that they had an all-hour indoor pool to use, honesty bar and pool table. We only wish we had more time to enjoy all these things! We stayed in the small downstairs bedroom, which worked perfectly for us. The internet was a bit slow in there, but was faster out in the pool area.
Breakfast was a feast. Started with a wake-up call at our room with tea, juice and fruit, and followed by more eggs, potatoes and bacon than we could eat. Finished with an apple blossom, we were stuffed.
If ever I passed through Alamogordo again, I would definitely stay at the Tavares Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CadetBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Bed and Breakfast of Robert and Debbie Tavares. This place is special in so many ways from the beautiful views of the mountains to the beauty of the home both inside and outside. Our hosts were wonderful and the home itself was so clean with a great decor. We would not hesitate to recommend Tavares Inn to anyone who is looking for a first class place to stay while in Alamogordo.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 633David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Tavares Inn is a gorgeous family home that has been turned into a B&B. Bob and Debbie were excellent hosts, and in our situation they were very gracious in providing us as much information as possible about the local effects of the govt shutdown, and allowing us to cancel inside of the 72-hr cancellation period, if needed. We came through Alamogordo anyway, and this was a wonderful place to stay-MUCH better than a local hotel experience would have been. Their pool allowed for a luxurious end to a long day of driving, and we were pleasantly surprised by the extensive bar choices. We slept well and were then sent off with a delicious hearty breakfast of fresh eggs, bacon, fruit salad, and a decadent apple tart. The perfect way to start our next day of traveling.

We would highly recommend this place, unless you don't like animals. They had cats, fish, a talking parrot (who entertained us during our swim), goats, chickens and likely others that we missed. We loved the animals and will stay here again if ever in this area.

For helpful information about visiting White Sands during the government shutdown, see our White Sands National Monument review.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCuriousTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We recently stayed here, and had a wonderful time! The hosts go out of their way to make you comfortable. For example, Debby brought fruit, coffee, and juice to our room every morning. We were then able to relax on our patio, listen to the birds, and look at the mountains! We were encouraged to use their indoor pool, which we did after visiting White Sands Monument (which is very nearby.) The breakfast was huge and delicious! Any questions, including restaurant recommendations, were gladly answered.
We highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Both rooms upstairs are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinwantagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
385 reviews
3.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
163 reviews
3.4 mi away
White Sands Motel
White Sands Motel
#1 of 13 in Alamogordo
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavares Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavares Inn

Address: 153 San Pedro Dr, Alamogordo, NM 88310-9560
Region: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alamogordo
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing