We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pistashio's”

McGinn's Pistachio Tree Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: PistachioLand- Pistachio Tree Ranch is owned and operated by the McGinn Family and is home to 12,300 trees and 6,000 wine producing grapevines. The original trees were planted in 1980 and the first nuts were harvested in 1984. Today, Pistachio Tree Ranch is a fully integrated farm where the McGinn Family grows pistachios, makes pistachio candy and packages pistachio products sold on their farm and around the United States. Arena Blanca Winery features the McGinn Family's wines produced on the farm from grapes grown in their vineyard. The World's Largest Pistachio monument was finished in 2008 and was built as a tribute to Tom McGinn, whose vision was to grow pistachios in the New Mexico desert. It stands 30 feet tall and has been featured in New Mexico Magazine, National Geographic Traveler, and Parade Magazine. It was filmed in 2010 in the movie, "This Must Be The Place," and on the History Channel's "Only in America" with Larry the Cable Guy in December 2012. Named a New Mexico Treasure by the NM Cabinet Secretary of Tourism, June 2014, on New Mexico Television episode 3. Visit the farm and winery year around, open daily. Motorized Farm Tours Daily. Call ahead for groups larger than 6 people. Weather permitting.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Excellent Pistashio's”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We love pistashios and we drove as fast as we could to get there before closing. The different flavors were out of this world. We also tried the wines and purchased some. Fun experience.

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank emeraldted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa1970_13, Owner at McGinn's Pistachio Tree Ranch, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for visiting our family farm. We are so glad that you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again in the future. Look for more exciting additions to our country store in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    230
    52
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Start of our great vacation.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I had been to McGinn's back in April 2014. We loved it there then. In planning our usual summer vacation we have gone to Colorado the last three summers and had planned to this one as well. It may seem strange to many, but McGinn's was a big reason to change our plans around. We decided to start our vacation by returning to McGinns as our first fun event with our daughter before heading over to Ruidoso. We loved the tour with James as our guide. It only costs a few dollars apiece and was extremely informative. As good as any theme park tour. Their pistachios taste far better then any we have purchased in the Albuquerque, NM area where we reside. In fact, we ended up returnig to McGinn's to purchase more of their tasty treats.The giant pistachio out front of their business is a must family photo shot.We have talked up McGinn's to all our friend. We look forward to going there again.If you are a pistachio lover you must go there to experience all their delightful nuts an products.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bd2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa1970_13, Owner at McGinn's Pistachio Tree Ranch, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your return visit to our farm. We are flattered that you changed your travel plans to include our farm tour. We appreciate the feedback about our tours and pistachios. We will share your review with our staff, especially James, so they receive the feedback about the excellent customer service they provide. Also, if you ever run out of pistachios before your next visit, we will gladly ship to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleside, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall Just a friendly & fun place!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Such a cute place to stop and get your family vaca pic in front of "The World's Largest Pistachio"! The most tasty nuts I have ever had! Everyone was so nice and the store is amazing. I loved it and we will be going back!

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa1970_13, Owner at McGinn's Pistachio Tree Ranch, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your visit. We are glad you enjoyed our family farm. We are always making new flavored pistachios and pistachio candies and look forward to your next visit when you can try more new pistachio goodies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Stop for Pistachio's”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Glad we stopped. We bought some great tasting pistachio's and some very good wine. Took pictures of the Big McGinn Pistachio and Mr McGinn's beautifully restored antique auto. So glad we stopped. Well worth it. Thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank marknpatsyhenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa1970_13, Owner at McGinn's Pistachio Tree Ranch, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for visiting with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the future. We are always coming up with new pistachio candies and flavors and I'm sure there will be something new the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
2 reviews
“"Pistachio Heaven"”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our first time here, had a wonderful, informative tour given by James. Learned so much about the Pistachio business and also about the Arena Blanca Winery. A MUST stop if you are in the area!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sadiebelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa1970_13, Owner at McGinn's Pistachio Tree Ranch, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your visit. We are glad you enjoyed the motorized tour of our farm. James will be glad to know that he was a great tour guide. We hope you have the chance to visit again and taste the new candies and pistachio flavors we come up with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGinn's Pistachio Tree Ranch also viewed

 

Been to McGinn's Pistachio Tree Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing