We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cool”

Shroud Exhibit and Museum
Ranked #10 of 18 things to do in Alamogordo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Non-profit 501-c-3 NM corporation formed to educate the public concerning the Shroud of Turin and the connection to New Mexico history through the world's largest scientific expedition ever launched to study a single artifact, which began in NM because of a proof developed in NM in 1976. Our mission is to make the Shroud of Turin an experience available to everyone through facts, exhibits and research. The exhibit features a full-size color scientific grade image of the Shroud and the only interactive 3D exhibit using a VP-8 Image analyzer, as well as recent 3D works by Dr. Petrus Soons. OPEN BY APPOINTMENT. MULTILINGUAL EXHIBITS.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty cool”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We only ducked in to see as we had a dog with us. It's was a very interesting exhibit for us non - religious historians.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    3
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I'll go again with more people next time.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Thanks Trip Advisor! Pete was great. I feel like I've met a new friend. Pete knows his stuff. If your sceptical go any way. It's very interesting, and a great place to visit. We went after watching a matinee -God Is Not Dead. I appreciate the fact that this exhibit is free.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Blessedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamogordo
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It is located in the White Sands Mall next to J.C. Pennies. I found it very interesting. It is a large replica of the Shroud of Turin. The personnel do an outstanding job of explaining the facts about the shroud . The original is located in Turin, Italy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Minnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Authors Visiting for the First Time!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had some time on our hands on Friday, April 4th, when we first arrived in Alamogordo for a speaking and book signing engagement. Once we settled into the hotel, we looked at Trip Advisor for suggestions on local attractions to visit. We thought the Shroud Exhibit sounded very interesting. What a special treat! Pete, the person responsible for the creation and management of the museum and Sharon the volunteer we met there were inspiring to us! We were so surprised to hear about the New Mexico Scientist's expedition to the Shroud of Turin in the late 70s. We were amazed at the scientific detail and actual replica of a 3D image of the shroud allowing to actually see Jesus inside the shroud!. You must see this exhibit! Don't miss it! Phil and Rosanne Archuletta, Santa Fe, New Mexico

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Rosanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Inspirational! Do not miss.”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

You can find this small but very worthwhile in the mall at Alamogordo. Go into Penney's from the parking lot and head right for the entrance into the mall hallway. It is the first place on the right in the hallway. Staff is very friendly and knowledgable and there are a lot of small exhibits relating to the shroud, but the most impressive is the back- lighted life size photograph which is displayed on one wall. They have padded church pews so you can sit and reflect as you view the shroud and also watch a short video explaining how science has corroborated the biblical aspects of Jesus' death and burial. There are some items you can purchase but we just left a small donation in the jar. I hope more people avail themselves of the opportunity to visit this wonderful museum. Alamogordo has so many fine places to visit. This should also be one of them!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Huskerredhead22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shroud Exhibit and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Shroud Exhibit and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing