We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place for subs, about 1 mile off Rt. 70”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown Bag Deli

Brown Bag Deli
Ranked #6 of 88 Restaurants in Alamogordo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
LAS CRUCES
Level Contributor
679 reviews
515 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“A place for subs, about 1 mile off Rt. 70”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a small place. There is parking in the front and on the sides. You enter, walk to the right, goes past the list of choices on the wall, and arrive at the counter where you order. They take your name, call you when it's ready, and you collect your order at the other end of the long counter. The special of the day was turkey and avocado (small sub for $3.59). There are three kinds of bread, but I forgot to say whole wheat, so got the white, which was somewhat like French bread, as the crust was firm (but not hard). You say what sort of fixings you want -- lettuce, tomato, pickle, mayonnaise, mustard, etc. They use Boar's Head meats. They take credit cards like Visa, Mastercard, and Discover. The counter is divided off from the front of the deli where there are maple booths and tables. The inside is much better looking than the outside. There is a unisex restroom with an old toilet, but very usable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANNIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gouldsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food and service..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

On our way to White Sands Monument we stopped at Brown Bag to pick up a sandwich to bring with us. Glad we did .. they offer a wide selection of meats & cheeses.. staff was friendly and cost reasonable. Even though we left our sandwich in cooler for several hours, it still tasted very good. When we are out we try to visit small local shops and not chain stores. Brown Bag is a good example why .. Would recommend it and would revisit if we pass through Alamogordo again !

Helpful?
Thank bblcampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Daughter took me to this sandwich shop and was not disappointed. They use Boars Head meats and cheeses. I ordered a side of steak and cheese soup and it was fresh hot and home made. Bread was fresh.

Helpful?
Thank HR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Subs and Fast Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The chipotle chicken is a new item and is spicy without being stupid hot. Fresh bread, chips and lots of drinks to choose from.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justj700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic sandwiches.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Can't rave enough about the breads used and the meats in the sandwiches here. I had ham and turkey w/ swiss on sourdough bread. Lots of meat and excellent tasting fresh bread. You can eat in or take out. We will definitely come here again. Friendly people as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brown Bag Deli also viewed

 

Been to Brown Bag Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing