We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

A very nice hotel. It lives up to the Best Western standard. The breakfast was generous. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Close to White Sands National Monument. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ann1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Sounding like a broken record here but I do want to take a moment and apologize for our delayed response. We had some minor technical problems but should be back on track here now.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your visit to our hotel. We use all of the feedback we receive to improve and make your next stay even more memorable. Thanks again and please call when you decide to return to the area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    84
    66
    20
    22
See reviews for
102
75
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Highly recommend! Staff was ultra friendly. Pool was awesome, beds very comfortable, and room large. Some people do not like older hotels, but we love them. Walls are so thick we couldn't hear the young children next door. They are updating some of the rooms, and we found a spa room next door. Need to get that one next time!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tiredmommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Please excuse our delayed response as we had some minor technical problems regarding the system. Back up and running now!

We sincerely appreciate the time taken to give us feedback regarding your stay. Very happy to hear that your stay was a good one. Please call if you need anything or need to make another reservation. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
121 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is an older hotel. With several new hotels in town you might be tempted to pass it up, but give it a chance. They are also one of the few hotels in town that accepts dogs. The rooms have been updated and were generally nice. The front desk staff was excellent. Unfortunately housekeeping let me down. The first day they made the bed and picked up the used towels, but stopped there, not even replacing the towels they took away. The second day they skipped my room entirely. If not for that I would have rated the place higher.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HereAndThere79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Sorry for the delayed response from our end as we have been experiencing on-line computer problems regarding the sight. We're now back on and hope that our internal problem has been solved.

Thank you for your valauble feedback. We look forward to you returning to our facility so we can make it a better experience for you. We take each response and work towards improvements based on your comments. Thanks again and please feel free to call if you have any questions or issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is older but our room had been renovated. The bathroom was new tile and clean. Carpet was old so we wore flops but it did smell clean. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard and clean. We loved the waffles.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for the nice comments regarding your stay! Hopefully the next time you visit, we will have fresh new carpeting in the room.
Sincerely,
John Presley
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We didn't have any issues with the hotel. The room was clean and hotel was quiet. The pool is outdoors. Even though the day was hot hot hot, the pool was cold cold cold. But it was a nice pool area and deep for swimming. The breakfast was typical hotel food - nothing hot at this hotel on a Monday morning like some other breakfasts at other Best Westerns.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank OatmealO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for the valuable feedback. We certainly appreciate you staying with us and I have some good news! We have already started our "hot" breakfast and this now includes Scrambled Eggs, Sausage, and Bacon as well as the items you were able to enjoy. We will be trying several different items over the next few weeks to get a better idea of what seems to be the most popular items. So, next time you visit, we hope this will make the stay more enjoyable. Thanks again and please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Sincerely,
John Presley
Customer Relations Manager
Best Western Desert Aire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Oh
Level Contributor
1,352 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

The design is old, the furnishing and plumbing mediocre, it is very noisy ((plumbing, the next rooms and those above, parking lot and a busy road). The staff was very good but the only solution for this property is demolition and start over

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank marcopolo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, Director of Sales at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your time and choice with our Hotel. We are sorry that you were not fully pleased with your stay! We are looking into the said issues that you have brought to our attention. Thanks to your reviewed we have the chance to improve the stay for future guests and hopefully we will see you again the next time you come into the area again! Once again thank you for your choice in our Brand! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#1 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Alamogordo
Days Inn Alamogordo
#9 of 13 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo

Property: Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Address: 1021 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310 (Formerly Desert Aire Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alamogordo
#5 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this dog-friendly Alamogordo, New Mexico hotel located at the crossroads of Highways 82, 70, and 54 near Holloman Air Force Base, White Sands Missile Base and New Mexico State University in Alamogordo. Guests staying at this Alamogordo hotel will be conveniently near the New Mexico Museum of Space History, White Sands National Monument and the Holloman Air Force Base. This New Mexico hotel is also near the White Sands Missile Base. The Magnuson Hotel & Suites proudly features 92 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with cable satellite television and wireless high-speed internet access. Guests can begin the day with a complimentary hot breakfast before taking a dip in the seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool or working out in the fitness center. This Alamogordo hotel is ideal for guests visiting family and friends at nearby New Mexico State University in Alamogordo. Dogs are welcome with a small fee. Guests staying at the Magnuson Hotel & Suites Alamogordo will be minutes away from a variety of local events including the White Sands Balloon Invitational, Oktoberfest and the Gus Macker Basketball Tournament. This hotel also offers convenient access to skiing in the Sacramento Mountains and golfing.The Magnuson Hotel & Suites Alamogordo is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Alamogordo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alamogordo
Alamogordo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing