We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Truth or Consequences, United States
1 review
“Family feeling”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Always welcomed cheerfully. Always get room with amenities that I requested. Always well maintained by friendly employees. I book on line and get discounted rates and bonus points. Highly recommend staying here. Staff must like it here because they stay for many years...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
You ARE like family here to us!!!! We sincerely appreciate the nice comments and I will make sure each and everybody here reads your response. We always look forward to your arrival and we'll see you next time around!!! Our sincere gratitude for your loyalty to our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    90
    70
    22
    23
See reviews for
106
81
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our one night stay at the BW Desert Aire Hotel was the best combination of value and quality during our 8 night road trip visiting national parks in west Texas and New Mexico. We enjoyed a large, clean, comfortable room with superior beds and furnishings; a welcoming front desk staff and a very nice hot breakfast buffet; and, best of all, a super value in a great location for visiting White Sands.

Room Tip: The room we were assigned was great, but if your room seems a little shabby, ask for another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wac2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out of your trip to let us know how we are doing! I will pass all of the kind words you mentioned to our staff. Please give us a call next time you come through Alamogordo and have a safe trip forward!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A pleasant overnight stay at a convenient motel. The Desert Aire is straight down the road (about 15 miles) from White Sands Monument and just a few minutes from US 54. The desk clerk who greeted me at check-in set the tone of welcome with her warmth and genuine enthusiasm -- as did the clerk who checked us out the next morning. Our room was clean and the (firm) bed quite comfortable. Lighting was excellent and a 3-outlet port at the desk was immediately put to use. Breakfast was the usual hot and cold items, including bananas which I don't often see. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hikers2Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us! Also happy to know that you were able to visit White Sands National Monument as there was a recent close down due to Military activity. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time out of your day to give us valuable feedback. Have a safe trip to your next destination and please call us next time you come into town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Very clean and comfortable as usual we like to always stay at a Best Western because of the comfortable rooms and always a good breakfast .The people at the best Western Inns are always very nice to deal with and go out of their way to make yuour stay pleasant

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank johndX2340GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know how we are doing. So happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one! Our housekeeping staff does a great job of making sure our guests are comfortable during their stay. We sincerely appreciate the favorable comments and I will personally make sure to pass this on to our staff. Hope you were able to take some time to visit White Sands National Monument during your visit! Perfect time of year for that! Have a safe trip to your destination and give us a call next time you are coming through Alamogordo, NM!! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cozad nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The facility looked nice but the room was shabby. Carpets very worn and the bathroom window appeared to have bullet hole in it. The door lock was hard to operate. The room was also very small. We chose it because it was pet friendly but couldn't really find a good place to walk our dogs. Breakfast was good and service was excellent but this hotel needs a room renovation.

Room Tip: We were on the lower floor and didn't feel really secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nebtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for your recent stay. We strive to make each and every guests stay a pleasant one and hate to hear that we dropped the ball. You may be pleased to know that all of our rooms are currently going under some type of renovation (as you may have noticed during your visit). We are in the "slow season" (winter) and are able to get some of these things addressed. We are half finished with new, granite vanities in every room and will be installing new carpeting in all rooms as well. We expect these renovations to be completed very soon. Several other issues will be addressed also this year. I hope you will give us another chance to better serve you on your next visit to Alamogordo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truth Or Consequences
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This Best Western has a staff that is welcoming and caring. Make you feel like you have come home. Comfortable rooms, very good wifi. Great work and rest environment. Breakfast gets you off to good start everyday. Everything works!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank colleencrochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We are always honored to have you come to Alamogordo and stay with us. We know that you have choices out there and it is greatly appreciated to see guests like yourself return time and time again. Although you are usually in town for work, we just want you to know that you can always count on us if you need anything. Thank you again for your kind comments, and we will always do our best to make it feel like you are visiting your home away from home. From all of our team members here... we wish you safe and joyful travels, coupled with unique and pleasant experiences. Take care!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Verde, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Immediate family members spent four nights here in comfort with an excellent breakfast each morning. It was quiet, too, despite being located along the main highway through Alamogordo. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us! Thank you for the kind words and of course, a huge thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know how we are doing. Please give us a call next time you are in town and have a safe trip to your destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
366 reviews
3.4 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#2 of 13 in Alamogordo
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Alamogordo
Days Inn Alamogordo
#9 of 13 in Alamogordo
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo

Property: Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Address: 1021 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310 (Formerly Desert Aire Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alamogordo
#5 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this dog-friendly Alamogordo, New Mexico hotel located at the crossroads of Highways 82, 70, and 54 near Holloman Air Force Base, White Sands Missile Base and New Mexico State University in Alamogordo. Guests staying at this Alamogordo hotel will be conveniently near the New Mexico Museum of Space History, White Sands National Monument and the Holloman Air Force Base. This New Mexico hotel is also near the White Sands Missile Base. The Magnuson Hotel & Suites proudly features 92 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with cable satellite television and wireless high-speed internet access. Guests can begin the day with a complimentary hot breakfast before taking a dip in the seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool or working out in the fitness center. This Alamogordo hotel is ideal for guests visiting family and friends at nearby New Mexico State University in Alamogordo. Dogs are welcome with a small fee. Guests staying at the Magnuson Hotel & Suites Alamogordo will be minutes away from a variety of local events including the White Sands Balloon Invitational, Oktoberfest and the Gus Macker Basketball Tournament. This hotel also offers convenient access to skiing in the Sacramento Mountains and golfing.The Magnuson Hotel & Suites Alamogordo is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Alamogordo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alamogordo
Alamogordo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing