We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heranca Goesa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heranca Goesa
Ranked #3 of 26 Diu B&B and Inns
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Peaceful and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Very pleasant guest house in the suburbs of Diu town, just a short walk from the town centre and very peaceful.
There is an attractive terrace area at the front of the main house where you can have breakfast and chat with the other guests. The friendly family who run the guest house serve good filter coffee and make a good breakfast, very reasonably priced.
They were not serving other meals at the time we visited, but there is a small shop just next door and several restaurants within 5 to 10 minutes walk.

Most of the rooms are in the main house and its side extension, upstairs rooms have balconies. Our room was one of two at the back of the building immediately next door, which each have a shady sit-out. There are good views across the island, as the land drops away steeply behind the guest house.

Our room was very comfortable, with a decent sized bathroom (and instant water heater) plenty of wardobe space and a large table. Most definitely a good, inexpensive, place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaz_in_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Great owners know what westerners like. Yes,
- it is spotlessly clean and comfortable.
- Comfortable beds with place to unpack luggage (no TV)
- On demand water heater in shower worked great
- Quiet location
- Easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and waterfront

Morning breakfast table is a great place to meet and chat with other travelers over a cup of filter coffee. They were not doing dinner, not even on pre-order, when we stayed.

Prices for food and rooms are a super value. We stayed at a nearby place, with a good reputation, our first night in Diu and were very happy that a room opened up at Heranca Goesa and we were able to move over.

Only Drawback: no WiFi. (There is a good internet cafe 10 minute walk away)

Room Tip: Call and book ahead to avoid disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

This place is great! The lovely Fernandes family will make your stay gloriously relaxed and enjoyable. The rooms are spotless and good value and it's in a good spot.
Diu is a great place to explore by bicycle and the locals are super chilled. I'd stay there again in an instant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZkiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I saw other GHs before checking in and there were really ugly or gloomy. Mainly, this is nice and clean and the indian portuguese family who run the GH is very helpful and caring. SHe prepared a great black coffee. Backrooms are cooler than on the front side. Small garden with breakfast tables where guests shared nice talks and travel tips. Well located at Portuguese neighbourhood, near old churches.

Room Tip: 1st floor, with veranda to the back side, cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

A family run B&B property!
the breakfast is too good... must try the pancakes!
the rooms are clean and well maintained. Not the flashiest of places but definitely the most homely. The owner is very welcoming. Very popular amongst foreign tourists.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

:-) definitely recommend this place for people looking for good accomodation for affordable price. We paid 600r per room. We reached Diu very late in the evening and all hotels were booked as there was longer weekend for Indians. We found this one in LP and were really satisfied. Rooms are simply, but clean and with hot water. It's near from this place to city and to some good restaurants. Owners are ex-Portuguese family, who wanted to help us as much as possible. Thanks for that :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diu hotels
0.0 mi away
Krishna Park Resort
Krishna Park Resort
#11 of 17 in Diu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apana Hotel
Apana Hotel
#8 of 17 in Diu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dream Vision Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Apaar
Hotel Apaar
#2 of 26 in Diu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Diu
0.0 mi away
Kostamar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heranca Goesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heranca Goesa

Property: Heranca Goesa
Address: 205 / 3, behind Diu Museum, off Hospital Road, Diu, India
Region: India > Daman and Diu > Diu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Diu
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing