We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to stay at peaceful location with maximum connectivity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
D'souza's Holiday Homes
Ranked #12 of 85 Candolim B&B and Inns
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel to stay at peaceful location with maximum connectivity”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Everything is good about the hotel. Especially the way Antony receives people is very good.
Pros: Has good connectivity to all places. Condolim beach is 7 mins walk. Very calm location, no traffic horns.
Cons: Only 1 thing i did not like is "OUTSIDE FOOD NOT ALLOWED".

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Raja Shekhar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DsouzaGoa, Manager at D'souza's Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
To understand your Review better, perhaps we need to take a look at the background story. Upon arrival in Goa, you took a local bus to get to the Candolim. You did not call us for directions and alighted somewhere in the middle of Candolim by mistake, thinking that the Hotel would be around. At this point, you called us and during the conversation, your cell batteries drained. Luckily, you found a kind hospitable local Goan nearby(who knew our Hotel) . But Alas ! the Hotel was at quite a distance. You requested this Goan gentleman to call us and you put forward a request for a pick-up, although taxis were available around(this was your cost saving technique). We oblighed to your request and sent a plush car for your pick-up(no fare was charged--that was a free ride to the Hotel !!! ). During the stay, we kept asking you if all was ok( we do this, just to make sure that everything is going well and the guest is satisfied for what is paid). Your reply was always positive. But suddenly your review has left us perplexed.

Anyway, your statement is general "outside food" and not specific about " the type of Food" you are talking about. We do not have a restaurant, so this cannot refer to our food. Your statement can be interpreted in 3 different ways:-
CASE 1. You wanted to cook your food in the room
You booked a non-airconditioned room with us for 2 nights in November 2013. And during the holiday, perhaps you wanted to cook(to save spending on Restaurant food). However dear, we do not allow cooking in the room. If I was on a holiday for just 2 days, I would spend my time, visiting places around rather then cooking. I would think of cooking at home.
Around the Hotel, the place is teeming with good multi-cuisine Restaurants.
Our Advice: Carry your own cooking equipements along while on a holiday and use them outside the Hotel premises. And there can be a lot of saving !!!

CASE 2. Your intention to bring Restaurant food in the room.
Are the Restaurants disallowing people to eat in their premises now??Hmmmm, I did not hear of any such cases, ever. I have always seen customers eating aorund Restaurant tables. If so, then why bring Restaurant food in the room ??? What's the logic ?? Is it for the sole purpose of licking the containers clean so that every rupee paid is recovered ? or did you face starvation for not being allowed to bring Restaurant food in the room ?Huh ?
In the earlier years, our clients(local people only) who brought Restaurant food and eat in the room, left the room messy, filthy, smeared even the walls and bed linen with food( made us wash their plates and leftovers).
Our Advice: Do not visit such Hotels ever.

CASE 3. You wanted to bring fruits, pasteries, biscuits, canned fruit juices, beverages, soft drinks, alchohol, chips, nuts or similiar food items in the room. Well, all these are safe and we will never object if brought in the room. Every room has a refrigerator. Do you think they are show pieces ??
Our Advice: When you review a property, be clear and specific in your statements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
58
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gandhinagar, India
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Excellent cleanliness and well maintained property, good location, very calm and peaceful, very good services however only tea is available, breakfast, lunch or dinner unavailable, strict rules and regulation, Mr. Antony very helpful and decent. Good accommodation and recommended those who wants to stay peacefully in North Goa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank SENZGEOPHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel is conveniently located on the Candolim main road, near Kingfisher Villa and is very near to the Candolim Beach and a short distance from Fort Aguada. There are a lot of restaurants around this place and you can always find a new place to eat. The Owner Anthony D'souza and his family were courteous and always attend to you with a smile. The hotel does not have room service or restaurant. Though, they do take requests for Tea or coffee. The room we stayed in was air-conditioned and I made a good decision booking an AC room as it was still very hot and humid in the first week of November (temperature was 25 - 31 C). The rooms were spacious, airy, quite, comfortable and peaceful and they were cleaned everyday. The bathroom was clean and spacious. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quite, economical and comfortable place to stay. The room had refrigerator and hot water round the clock.

Though, there is one more thing I would like to mention, the hotel has lot of rules and when you check in, Anthony will have a brief session with you regarding Do's and Dont's. You cannot bring outside food in the hotel, there should be no stains on the bed sheet and if your kid pees on the bed, you will have to pay for the entire mattress and so on. During our stay we took care to go by the hotel rules and we were OK. However, I felt a little weird when they check each and every thing before you checkout, like bedsheets, curtains, cushions, TV etc. I have traveled a lot and stayed in almost every kind of hotel from shacks to star hotels and never had this experience while checking out. I don't blame them, but I guess, they may have had some bad experience in past when Guests checked out damaging hotel property.
Well.. If you are not comfortable following these rules, may be you should be looking someplace else.

Room Tip: Try getting rooms on the back, they are quite and peaceful. Also, if you are uncomfortable with high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sidsingh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DsouzaGoa, Owner at D'souza's Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. You booked your holiday with us directly. Our Terms and Conditions(T&C) were sent to you alongwith room confirmation. This means that you were well informed about the type of acccomodation you would be provided. Well, with this background in mind, let me say this....
You speak about Rules :
Rules are authorative statements of what to do and not to do. Do you think the accomodation is some sort of Academy or a restricted Goverment area (just taking an example) where rules are enforced ? You have grossly misintrepreted us. We cannot frame rules for the guest to follow on a holiday. You consider our T& C as " Rules" and if did'nt like them, you had the option to cancel your reservation within the given stipulated time. But this did not happen . Our T& C does not contain anything unacceptable. Nobody has ever objected to our T& C as they are simple and basic important things that people should know about us. I don't think they can spoil your holiday. Infact, they make your holiday even better as you already know what to expect. Every service provider has their own T&C and this is revealed to the guest by us at the time of booking and not on arrival( no surprises given). isn't this nice ! If other hotels do not tell you this then be ready for a shock !!!

You speak about :" brief session with you regarding Do's and Dont's"
If people are briefed for 2 mins on arrival, it's all about, how to avail the best service of the facilities provided. Isn't this a wise idea to get the guest acquainted to the new place ? rather than allowing people to do their own little discovery. Why do you object to this ? Anyway, we all know that every person is unique and have different versions of thinking. I believe in this. About " Do's and Dont's" , how can we ask the guest, what he should do and what not to, on a holiday or otherwise ??? That is not our concern. The guest uses his resources(money) at his discretion and we cannot say that we have control over his resources.

You speak about : "You cannot bring outside food in the hotel"
Refer to our reply to the above review........“Good hotel to stay at peaceful location with maximum connectivity”. And perhaps one of the reasons stated, could fit your case. But why do our local people like to bring Restaurant food in the room ? This point is really tormenting us.
Anyway, we like to throw more light on this aspect. We surely do not like people bringing restaurant food in the room and you were well informed through our T&C. This was not a surprise to you ! But you defied us and smuggled the so called "Restaurant food" in the room. We remained as silent spectators, not to offend you. But what good did you do then ? Apart from consuming the food, you SMEARED / STAINED the wall with this precious food. When asked about the food on the wall at the time of check-out time, you just played ignorant. You could not identify it. Maybe the food just crawled out through the concrete walls. A miracle ! (you're right ! you did'nt know that we knew about your secret activities). And you still go on to say that " I felt a little weird when they check each and every thing before you checkout, like bedsheets, curtains, cushions, TV etc. " What else do you expect us to do then, if food is found at unexpected and unwanted locations?

You speak about : "if your kid pees on the bed, you will have to pay for the entire mattress". Our mattresses are not toilet mattreses and pee proof where your child could pee on, for free . Do you allow your kids to pee on your home mattress ? maybe you do, but that is not our bother. At D'souza's, hygiene is maintained and unuasble things are destroyed.
Advice: When you are on a holiday, use every protection for your child(diapers) so that expensive hotel property is not damaged (by saving on diapers). The rent amount does not include Insurance to cover damages.

You say : " there should be no stains on the bed sheet "
You should remember that we advertise our property saying that we provide VERY clean accomodation. At D'souza's nobody complains about being provided with stained/dirty bed linen. You did not complain either on arrival. Used linen is washed and reused. If stains do not go, they are discarded. All this you get for peanuts ! Still you like to complain. We do not like unnecessary wastages and try to save wherever possible by informing our clients, beforehand. No surprises given ! Are we doing anything wrong ?
If we do not have room service or restaurant., it's no great sin !!!. There are numerous good multi-cuisine Restaurants within walking distance, barely few steps away from one another. You yourself has mentioned that " There are a lot of restaurants around this place and you can always find a new place to eat" in the first line of your write-up. Do you still think we need to start room service or restaurant.

Conclusion : I know that you want to be a Hero by reporting all these things. But, Amigo, do not worry, we inform people "in writing" what to expect at D'souzas, "in advance". We never give surprises, not forgetting that you were well informed too ! This is done to do away with guest compliants. But Alas ! see, now you are complaining and this is WIERD !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Location : On candolim main road, about 5 mins walk from beach. Close to many restaurants

Rooms : Spacious rooms. Clean and well maintained. Bathrooms were spotless and were cleaned everyday. TV and fridge were provided.

Tarrif : At INR 1200 per day ( non-AC), quite reasonable

Service : There is no room service as such, and only coffee /breakfast is served. The owners live separately and we had difficulty getting hold of them. Though they were helpful, I found the “rules and regulations” of this place little tiring. “No outside food in room”, “ Entire amount to be paid upfront”, “No eating on bed”. Nothing illogical, but for vacationers, it might seem an irritant.

Suitable for those seeking privacy (even from their hosts). Not for those who are gregarious and enjoy company.

Overall ,an excellent place in terms of location, cleanliness and price. Suggest people visit their website to check their rules though

Room Tip: Rooms at the back. With a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeenuTej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DsouzaGoa, Owner at D'souza's Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
During your 3 nights stay with us in non-a/c room, we made sure to ask you if all was ok (almost everyday), if there was any problem with the accomodation provided. This we ask our every guest, just in case. We make sure the guest is well looked after and they get what is paid for (although we do not give 5star services). Your reply was always positive, given alongwith a broad smile.
Well, If we do not serve food, it's no big deal !!!. There are numerous good multi-cuisine Restaurants within walking distance, barely few steps away from one another. You yourself has mentioned that our place is" Close to many restaurants" in the first line of the review. Secondly, you ordered breakfast from us, only once, right ? what about the other 2 days ? You went looking for food in other restaurants, correct. That's our point. Exploring other eating places is healthy and we advice people to do so.
We have intercom facility in every room which is uncommon for a guesthouse. So, why do you say that you had difficulty in contacting us ? However far we may be, we are just a call away.

You speak about " rules and regulations of this place little tiring and for vacationers, it might seem an irritant".When people book their holiday with us directly( like you did), we send them our Terms and Conditions(T&C). At the same time, we give our clients sufficient time to consider or not to consider their stay with us depending on their acceptance of our T&C. When people do not respond, it means that all Terms and Conditions are accepted. This is true in legal language. You booked your holiday with us in August 2013 for stay in October 2013,( more than 2 months in advance) Did you raise any objections to our T&C ? We did not receive any reply from you. Nobody has ever objected to our T&C as it includes nothing so as to cause any "tiring" (according to you). Just some basic day -to-day reminder logic. Our accomodation picture is projected clearly in our T&C. People know exactly the type of accomodation to expect. We never like to give surprises to people on arrival !!! That is bad for business. We are known to keep promises.

You say....“No outside food in room”. This was stated in our T&C sent to you. I do not know why you wish to make an issue now.
Refer to our reply to the above review........“Good hotel to stay at peaceful location with maximum connectivity”

Our rooms are spacious. Tables and chairs are provided in the room. So why is it necessary to eat on the bed ?

You say....“Entire amount to be paid upfront”
I do not understand if you wanted to pay in installments ! Well, you need to have a look at the T&C again. They will be in your email. Whether the guest pays the rent upfront or at the end, at D'souza's, there is no difference. The service is always the same and so shall remain. People get exactly what they pay for. The guest is never at the mercy of the management if rent is paid upfront. We have always strived to build our reputation with humility.

Finally, we are happy to see that you have upgraded your accomodation from INR 600/-per night from previous hotel visited to INR 1200/-. This link reveals : http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g297605-d1158042-r146881782-Tropicano_Beach_Resort-Candolim_Bardez_Goa.html#REVIEWS

To summarise, all the points of concern were sent to you in writing as part of T&C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Its a very good hotel near Candolim beach. Its have also a very good service:-D I wos in The hotel in December, and this is The best hotel i ever be. The chief Antony is very cute.
Its have a very good breakfast.
This is this
bye bye;-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martinussenkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Spent a glorious eleven nights at Anthony's having a wonderful time. Great place to stay , spotlessly clean and very relaxing atmosphere. Marvellous service as Anthony makes you feel very welcome. We wouldn't stay anywhere else as also near to everything without bring too busy .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sooooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We were made very welcome by Anthony and our room was spotless. We had an air con room which worked well and was good value for money.

The only downside for me was that it is on the main road so a bit noisy early morning and the location. it is at the end of the main strip so although restaurants on doorstep most of the places we wanted to go were a good 10 min walk down the main road. This would be a plus point for others not wanting to be in the thick of it but I prefer to be central. The beach was also a 7-8 min walk but again down main road then sandy tracks.
Candolim itself has changed a lot since my last visit 3 years ago. It has lost it's charm and is now full of Russian karaoke bars and lots of rather rude Russians.
I would not go back to candolim but i would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DsouzaGoa, Owner at D'souza's Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for finding time to review our property. Just a clarification-- It's true that your room was near to the road and noisy. And this is the 'only' room we have, which is close to the road. But you were well informed prior to booking that this room is the cheapest due to its proximity to the main road. And you still booked it, although other rooms in the quieter location were still available(they cost a little extra). So logically, it was not a surprise given by us. We have 2 buildings, one in front and the other at the back. Our main Guesthouse is at the back and away from the road and any noise.
We would like to thank you for the mention of other plus points and thus recommending us to other visitors worldwide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.2 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,680 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#18 of 66 in Candolim
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
0.1 mi away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#55 of 66 in Candolim
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#25 of 66 in Candolim
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'souza's Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'souza's Holiday Homes

Property: D'souza's Holiday Homes
Address: 141 D'souza's Holiday Homes House No Fort Aguada Rd, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — D'souza's Holiday Homes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VERY CLEAN rooms, reliable and hassle free service is all we offer our guests. Situated in a quiet and peaceful end of Candolim at Dando Bardez-Goa,more towards Fort Aguada, and 5 mins walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your D'souza's Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
D'Souza's Holiday Homes Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing