We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service by hotel staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goveia Holiday Homes
Ranked #52 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Service by hotel staff”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have stayed recently between 4th to 8th october'13 and facility is very bad. And also no courtesy to attend after the complaint. When I checked in on 4th, water was blocked and not flowing out of sink, the mug provided was broken, there was huge leakage from the tap, shower like a fountain in the bath room. Even when we complain, no proper response. After 2 days, big argument with night duty reception and he started telling you complain to Manager and don't ask me. There was a big group of around 120 members next day and there was huge shortage of breakfast and also they are not able to provide plate, spoons, bread, jam, roti, poha etc., When I complained in the reception, again answer was "you complain to manager". Without having the breakfast we left for sight seeing. After 2 days, manager came for the name sake and not able to fix the sink problem till we leave the room. Totally, their hospitality is vary bad and they don't have good staff to take care of the customer. Please re-think as they are not good service provider. Food quality is average. I think management is not worried about customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 484mohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    96
    49
    29
    68
See reviews for
87
82
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Ever since my wife and I realized that we love traveling, we also discovered what mattered most to us during a vacation. On the top of the list is the accommodation and cleanliness and hygiene factor. This is because it helps us to relax and recover for the outing next day. A good accommodation gives us a good feeling at the end of the day and refreshes us for the next day.

I had made the biggest mistake by booking this accommodation for 2 nights thinking that it will be decent based on some reviews. However, we were in for a shock.

We reached there at around 12:00 pm and we were allotted a standard room. The moment we entered the room, it was a disaster for us. The room was very dirty and the paint was coming out. There were cobwebs in the room and the furniture in the room was very old and dirty.

The wardrobe shelf was stinking and the verandah had "pan" stains all over. The bathroom was extremely dirty and unhygienic and the toilet and the floor and wall tiles had yellow stains.

We complained to the receptionist about it and he started throwing attitude at us. Finally, we asked him to come to the room and see the state of affairs. He sent staff to clean the bathroom. However, it was of no use. Simple reason being that the property had not been maintained well for months or years and these stains had now become difficult to remove.

Another staff of the hotel said unofficially that other tourists have also complained the same thing and there is ZERO maintenance. The check out time is around 11:00 am and the check in time is around 12:00 pm and there is acute shortage of staff and because of this, all rooms are not cleaned upto the desired standard. If I remember correctly, there were around 60 rooms. I may be incorrect and don't remember the no. of rooms correctly.

We told the receptionist that we are not happy with this room and we want another room. We were upgraded to another room. This was slightly better than the previous one. But again the room had paint peeling off, toilet had slightly yellow stains and the wardrobe shelves were stinking.

This was the best option available at that point and we were getting late for daily outing. Hence, we checked in this room and went out.

We returned at night around 10 pm and went to sleep. At around 3:30 am, I woke up as something was biting me and I found that the bed had bed bugs.

I went down to reception and woke up the guy and told him the entire state of affairs. He also came to the room and saw everything. I took the manager's number from him and called up the manager but he didn't take the call. I asked the guy to let the manager know that I wanted refund for one day and would like to move to a different hotel.

I went in the morning around the place to look for new accommodation and finally at 6 am in the morning, I found one nearby.

I dropped an sms to the manager but he didn't reply to my sms. Finally, I called him up at 8 am and he agreed to refund me for 1 day (Rs 2700).

It was the most pathetic experience for us in Goveia Holiday Homes and we were happy to be out of it next day.

I would give a BIG ZERO to Goveia Holiday Homes and no one should stay in this place no matter what. This is the best way to spoil your vacation.

Room Tip: Never book your accommodation in Goveia Holiday Homes...no matter what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vianshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gingertreegoveia, Manager at Goveia Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
DEAR GUEST,
we extremely apologize for the issues you faced 8 months back in February 2013 and we realize that the property was getting older, but just for you and every ones notice that the entire GOVEIA HOLIDAY HOMES, has been renovated from exteriors and interiors of the resort, and now many guest are having good experience and are supporting us by giving good reviews on all the major websites,
and regarding the issues of service, we the team of goveia are making sure that all the guest residing in the property are getting personalizes attentionin regards of there stay, rooms, food service, sightseeing guidence, etc.

THE MANAGEMENT ALONG WITH ALL THE STAFF ARE WORKING HARD, TO GIVE YOU OUR BEST.

REGARDS
SAGAR WADHWANI
FRAZIER VAZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The resort is good enough. good swimming pool. good for the cost we have to pay. Closer to Candolim beach and Calangute beach.

Food was ok. but People are co-operative.

Over all its good for the price it offers.

Room Tip: swimming pool sided rooms. eat food only in the hall. not out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleLekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gingertreegoveia, Manager at Goveia Holiday Homes, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear sir
thanks for writing a good feedback for us,
and supposrting us.
we will make sure that we improve in every possible way

Best regards
Sagar wadhwani
Frazier Vaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We family of 6 rented 2 bedroom apartment for 1 night in mid august. The location of the resort is close to happening beaches in Goa such as Baga, Anjuna, Vagator, etc. The apartment was in the fourth floor and there is no elevator. The rooms were spacious but with basic amenities. The hotel offered complementary breakfast again very basic. The hotel has swimming pool aw well as small garden. Overall it is a decent place to stay because of it proximity to beaches, restaurant, shopping, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms near the swimming pool are good because of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sekerdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We Stayed here from 21st to 23 sept 2013 group of 20 friends, with a very budgetary price.

though myself a leisure traveler,decided to stay here as we were in a group of fiends with different walks of life and we were out of hotel all day and most of the night. so it was just case of spending a night for 6-7 hours.

the Rooms were strictly OK. but you cant expect more when you are paying a very low cost for fully functional room.

in room we had all the amenities like geyser,Air Condition and TV working fine.

Food was strictly OK, we had only Breakfast which was included in stay. had 2-3 dishes and one egg preparation nothing to write about.

the Towels were washed but had stains of earlier use, we avoided.

of course you cant expect a budget hotel to give you 3-4 star service.

Fridge was fully loaded with decent charges not to steep only 10-15% more than MRP which was ok.

till the last day of our stay my opinion of this hotel was a ok kind of hotel for travelers with tight pockets . but last experience changed it completely,

One of our friend kept his luggage at the gate and forgot to load in the bus. after around 30 mins of leaving for next destination he received a call from Resort that they have found a luggage at gate and the same was kept in Managers safe custody. this honesty is rarely seen and this is enough to give this place a good rating.

Room Tip: Select rooms on the front side ,no Great views here but they are better than other rooms with seat o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABHIJIT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangli, India
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at this beautiful resort for one night only on 15 th Sept'13 . We were a group of 24 students from medical college on a trip to Goa . We came to know about this resort through internet . The property is really very unique in architecture and landscaping . Harish who is looking after this property was really a humble and helping guy . The food was very tasty and the service very prompt . All the staff was very polite and co-operative . Though a little bit away from the actual Anjuna beach , this is a great and calm place to stay in North Goa . Especially if you are travelling in a group ; you will get all the amenities and entertainment here at Goveia beach resort ....looking forward to a longer stay at this year end ....!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABHAY69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulhasnagar, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

thank you guys i got more than i was expecting from you....
this time i boocked package for my mom & dad...
they got neet n cleen room with a lovely view
what i heard from my parents is excelent...
keep it up guys have a bright future...
god bless u all....

Room Tip: guys pls ask for a executive room its awesum
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girishsirwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.8 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#38 of 65 in Candolim
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
1.2 mi away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#54 of 65 in Candolim
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#25 of 65 in Candolim
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
#48 of 65 in Candolim
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goveia Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goveia Holiday Homes

Property: Goveia Holiday Homes
Address: Lane Opposite Cafe Coffee Day, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Candolim
#17 Spa Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goveia Holiday Homes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goveia Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goveia Holiday Homes Hotel Candolim
Goveia Holiday Homes Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing