We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are modest, but with all the amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ave Maria Beach Resort
Ranked #45 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Property consists of several buildings, all different ages. We lived in the building with a swimming pool.
Rooms are modest, but with all the amenities include air conditioning, refrigerator, TV. lighting in the room is very bad.
water to run hot for a long time it has to be lower, as a rule, the first wash under cool water, the second under hot.
no living creatures in the room was not. first in the bathroom was a track from the ants, but after one day of our stay gone, apparently, we are often washed :) mosquitoes in the lots in the evening without repellent on the street do not sit. in the room, of course, too, flew and buzzed in the ear.
for breakfast is a time to ask for an omelette, and then we carried it every morning.
sheets are gray, but a couple of times, and were white, and lastly, given the latest towels. to have changed the towels, we left them on the bed.
Staff polite and friendly. we have nothing to be lost, money and passports were stored in a suitcase with combination lock or in a travel bag. neighbors lost some packages, but we thought that they simply took over the garbage.
to the beach 5 minutes. to go through better than a vacant lot with direct access to sheku bonos, where tasty food, clean toilets and a shower. for the beds did not take the money. and if you go through the parking lot, on the beach with you necessarily will ask a fee for beds. Do not go there, there's a lot of people, and at 5 asked to leave the sunbed.
always eaten in different places, all delicious, the same dish in different places have different taste. but that's advertised kayot did not like, I almost died of starvation while waited for the order.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Ave Maria Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

We arrived at Ave Maria's from Panjim, thinking it looked ok for the price. We were mainly looking for somewhere reasonably clean with a swimming pool and AC. We didnt have a booking, but in late May hadn't had any trouble finding accommodation elsewhere.

As soon as they realised our driver had left we were advised that they only had poolside rooms left and that they cost 1500 rupees per night with AC. This was much more than we had believe the rate to be, and the room certainly wasn't worth that much. When we told them so, the suddenly found a cheaper (identical) room was available for 1000 rupees.

We felt that they were trying it on and decided to look around. We found Casa Sea Shell on the main road, which was a whole class above this place for 1200 with a pool and AC.

Incidentally, the pool area at Ave Maria's did look pretty nice, certainly not green or frg ridden when we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank MCW_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We had originally booked 4 nights here, but only ended up staying 3. It was 5 minutes from the beach which was nice... a few minutes from the main road and restaurants, but the town is small anyway. It did have a working AC which we appreciated, but overall, the place could use a fresh coat of paint and new linens. The towels and sheets were were given were very dirty and stained. The refrigerator was broken as well. It really wasn't worth the money that we paid (an expensive $70 a night) and there were definitely better/cheaper places around. I also booked it because it had Wifi listed as an amenity and it most certainly did not. It took them 2 days to set it up and even then it was only in the lobby. The pool was a nice addition at least. Wasn't the worst place I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jpedde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We were in Goa for the Sunburn Festival. We chose this hotel because it was 1 min away from the festival. It was a fun place. Made you feel at home. The staff was very friendly. However, they did not have a proper functioning restaurant, very limited menu. They served only a few sandwiches and snacks.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveljunky_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

this was our fourth hotel we stayed in and the one we ended up completing our two week stay.although we were going to move on after 2 nights cos we were woken by big mamma(maria) both nights at 4a.m doing her dancing up stairs,it was like a bunch of kids playing above us.in the morning we went to complain and said we were leaving.mammas daughter made out she knew nothing of the noise and moved us to the other building which was quieter and better.later we spoke to other tourists who have stayed there and asked "did you hear big mamma do her praying at 4a.m?"
so obviously its a regular thing.you get this in india all the time,the management shrug their shoulders and know nothing about problems until you threaten to leave.
the rest of our stay was good tho and i would recommend this place to friends.i did not see any rats,the pool was very good,did not try the food or buy a drink,was hard not to tho cos big mamma was always asking "you buy drink now!" very expensive compared to th rest of the town.
whole town stinks of fish and rotting food,people throw their crap on the streets,the roads are dangerous and everyone sees money when you walk by.was upsetting seeing people begging and stray dogs everywhere.will never go back to india.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jovifan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We got to stay in the hotel with pool , was a nice and pleasant stay with absolutely no disturbance or intrusion of privacy. The pool was well maintained and the breakfast we ordered was also kinda nice. Close to beach and i will absolutely recommend it for its pleasant atmosphere :)
The budget fits in nicely too

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed in the building that had the swimming pool. I think there were 2 different buildings. All rooms over look the swimming pool with french doors, have ensuites, and ceiling fans. We were hot at night even with the fan on. Linens included. We paid 1,000 rupees a night. It wasn´t located on a busy street so not a lot of scooters passing by and you could walk to the beach in 5 mins. Pool was very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estrellas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
1.0 mi away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#53 of 66 in Candolim
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#36 of 66 in Candolim
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#40 of 66 in Candolim
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#26 of 66 in Candolim
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saikunj Holiday Homes
Saikunj Holiday Homes
#25 of 66 in Candolim
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ave Maria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ave Maria Beach Resort

Address: Candolim Beach Road, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: £12 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ave Maria Beach Resort is a beautiful resort in North Goa, situated on the Candolim Beach. The resort is set in a rectangular landscaping, with rooms on either side some overlooking the swimming pool. We are close to the main road, market and shopping centers. It’s just about 3 to 5 minutes walk from the beautiful Candolim Beach bustling with shacks and various water sports activities to keep your adrenaline pumping. Ave Maria Beach Resort, Goa offers neat and clean rooms with soothing interior. The property consists of total 32 rooms, categorized into 6 Standard Non AC Rooms, 20 Deluxe Rooms and 6 Grand Suites are all air-conditioned. Guest can choose to relax by the pool and enjoy refreshments from the poolside bar, for dining, you have the option of an indoor restaurant or the garden restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Ave Maria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ave Maria Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing