We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ave Maria Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stay away from this place, its full of russions who drink from early morning to next morning!!! shout and make a lot of noise jump in the pool and stupid hours of the morning! owners dont give a dam about you just interested in the money.... restaurant just opened but no one goes in only russions who take their own food for the owners to cook LOL and their own drinks (why) there are plenty of good guesthouses and hotels espeiallly the Moonlight across the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank banks609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    14
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
8
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Very overpriced for what it is. We were away from the main building, just behind the reception and there was always an awful smell right outside the door, and plenty of mozzies but no net. When we arrived a woman came to check us in and requested we leave our passports with her - and when we declined we then had to stand for twenty minutes while she wrote the details down to check us in, at half 10 at night after a long day of travelling that wasn't ideal. There were five young lads standing around just outside the reception that were presumably something to do with the hotel but it seemed very unprofessional. The room was your standard Indian cheap room, with an uncomfortable bed and unclean sheets - only more expensive for having a TV and fridge, and supposedly hot water which it was not. Breakfast was pretty awful really; funny tasting tea and 'toast' which we sent back twice as it was barely warm bread, only to give up when they brought it back looking exactly the same. On the plus side, when we expressed our concerns the manageress was very nice and dealt with it well. The location was also good, very close to the main street in Candolim for restaurants and very close to the beach. Would not recommend - plenty of options local to Ave Maria that are cheaper and nicer!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Clear case of goa duping... Get a quote and transfer details... And when I confirm the whole group confirms the booking... They say some Avinash of their hotel had sent the mail... And they can confirm the booking only at double the rate. This is how they regularly do... They are a big bunch of cheaters and have nothing called customer service. A bunch of non professional thugs are running the place.... Whatever happens do not even think of entering this resort god knows they have in store for people staying there.., I did the booking inspite of various previous travelers advising me against it because of its location... But then had to realize it in the difficult way how big a group of thugs they are.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank Prsdmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

Samara
Level Contributor
128 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Property consists of several buildings, all different ages. We lived in the building with a swimming pool.
Rooms are modest, but with all the amenities include air conditioning, refrigerator, TV. lighting in the room is very bad.
water to run hot for a long time it has to be lower, as a rule, the first wash under cool water, the second under hot.
no living creatures in the room was not. first in the bathroom was a track from the ants, but after one day of our stay gone, apparently, we are often washed :) mosquitoes in the lots in the evening without repellent on the street do not sit. in the room, of course, too, flew and buzzed in the ear.
for breakfast is a time to ask for an omelette, and then we carried it every morning.
sheets are gray, but a couple of times, and were white, and lastly, given the latest towels. to have changed the towels, we left them on the bed.
Staff polite and friendly. we have nothing to be lost, money and passports were stored in a suitcase with combination lock or in a travel bag. neighbors lost some packages, but we thought that they simply took over the garbage.
to the beach 5 minutes. to go through better than a vacant lot with direct access to sheku bonos, where tasty food, clean toilets and a shower. for the beds did not take the money. and if you go through the parking lot, on the beach with you necessarily will ask a fee for beds. Do not go there, there's a lot of people, and at 5 asked to leave the sunbed.
always eaten in different places, all delicious, the same dish in different places have different taste. but that's advertised kayot did not like, I almost died of starvation while waited for the order.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We arrived at Ave Maria's from Panjim, thinking it looked ok for the price. We were mainly looking for somewhere reasonably clean with a swimming pool and AC. We didnt have a booking, but in late May hadn't had any trouble finding accommodation elsewhere.

As soon as they realised our driver had left we were advised that they only had poolside rooms left and that they cost 1500 rupees per night with AC. This was much more than we had believe the rate to be, and the room certainly wasn't worth that much. When we told them so, the suddenly found a cheaper (identical) room was available for 1000 rupees.

We felt that they were trying it on and decided to look around. We found Casa Sea Shell on the main road, which was a whole class above this place for 1200 with a pool and AC.

Incidentally, the pool area at Ave Maria's did look pretty nice, certainly not green or frg ridden when we were there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MCW_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We had originally booked 4 nights here, but only ended up staying 3. It was 5 minutes from the beach which was nice... a few minutes from the main road and restaurants, but the town is small anyway. It did have a working AC which we appreciated, but overall, the place could use a fresh coat of paint and new linens. The towels and sheets were were given were very dirty and stained. The refrigerator was broken as well. It really wasn't worth the money that we paid (an expensive $70 a night) and there were definitely better/cheaper places around. I also booked it because it had Wifi listed as an amenity and it most certainly did not. It took them 2 days to set it up and even then it was only in the lobby. The pool was a nice addition at least. Wasn't the worst place I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jpedde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We were in Goa for the Sunburn Festival. We chose this hotel because it was 1 min away from the festival. It was a fun place. Made you feel at home. The staff was very friendly. However, they did not have a proper functioning restaurant, very limited menu. They served only a few sandwiches and snacks.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunky_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
1.0 mi away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#58 of 64 in Candolim
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 64 in Candolim
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saikunj Holiday Homes
Saikunj Holiday Homes
#23 of 64 in Candolim
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.6 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#36 of 64 in Candolim
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ave Maria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ave Maria Beach Resort

Property: Ave Maria Beach Resort
Address: Candolim Beach Road, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ave Maria Beach Resort is a beautiful resort in North Goa, situated on the Candolim Beach. The resort is set in a rectangular landscaping, with rooms on either side some overlooking the swimming pool. We are close to the main road, market and shopping centers. It’s just about 3 to 5 minutes walk from the beautiful Candolim Beach bustling with shacks and various water sports activities to keep your adrenaline pumping. Ave Maria Beach Resort, Goa offers neat and clean rooms with soothing interior. The property consists of total 32 rooms, categorized into 6 Standard Non AC Rooms, 20 Deluxe Rooms and 6 Grand Suites are all air-conditioned. Guest can choose to relax by the pool and enjoy refreshments from the poolside bar, for dining, you have the option of an indoor restaurant or the garden restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ave Maria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ave Maria Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing