We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Big Daddy's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Candolim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Daddy's Inn
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We went to Goa in Nov 2012 for my friend's bachelor party and stayed there. The location is convenient. The rooms are alright and manageable. What we needed was a great location and did not matter about the room or hotel. This one is very close to the Candolim beach which was bustling with tourists at that time. We all had a great time at this place. The owner and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhijeet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Big Daddy's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We traveled as a group of friends and stayed here at the end of April for 4 nights. We had a great stay at this small property, located at a narrow street, off the the main road. This place was very quiet. We booked 2 rooms with balcony, which was on the first floor. The rooms were small and very clean. The bathroom was always super-clean. The a/c worked fine. There was a common fridge at the lobby of our floor which we used. We got the room at a very cheap price, Rs 1.2k each room, which we booked in advance. It was very much value for money. Most of the time we were outside the hotel. Everyday when we returned at night, we were happy to see our rooms fully cleaned by them and everything arranged at its own place. And not a thing was lost.

Beach is about 100m from this hotel. And a departmental store is at a stone's throw distance which was very useful to us everyday.

The only negative is the room service. There was almost no room service. The restaurant was non-operational when we stayed there. Even for breakfast we had to move out of the hotel.

Will I come back here again? Yes, I will definitely come back again, when in Goa.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony, at first floor, are good
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Big Daddy's Inn in Candolim is situated at the bottom of a road (which name is unknown), 100 meters from Candolim Beach. It's in the centre of Candolim, still long enough from the main road to be quiet.

The place is small enough to be cosy, the café/restaurant/bar is convienient for breakfast/lunch/dinner and the occasional doing-nothing.

Room are small, but the beds are surprisingly nice and soft as compared to the usual hard-style hay-stuffed beds you get in India. There's an air-condition, but no fridge. Everything works, no hassles, no problems.

Staff are genuinely friendly.

All in all, if you can live without a swimming pool, this place is a lot better (and cheaper) than the charter tour alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomitronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stopped in Big Daddys for a month in march- april, our friends stayed six weeks, Having been visiting goa at least once a year for a month at a time , i know it very very well,Big daddys is a nice clean basic average place, but sometimes suffers from the lack of attention that you will find is part of the goan culture and frame of mind, Situated down a quite track just off the main road the ambiance is shattered by the adjoining Russian Restuarant blurring music and ignorance, yet when it is not hosting crowds of our Russian friends offers a comfortable place to sit and have a drink and eat good food along with a friendly demeanor from the people who run and work there. Big daddys is clean and comes recommended noise is no problem as the restuarant closes at 11.30pm An ideal place to stay with bars shops, restaurants, right on your door step, even that the rooms are a little claustrophobic for a longer term stay, i would recommend for up to a two week stay but would need more room and facilities for a longer period.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STONESEARCHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here March 2013 and it was just as stated.
Rooms were basic but clean and tidy. The staff are very good with room service every day if you wish.
The location is spot on just five minutes to beach and shacks and only two minutes from the main street.
We had no problems, perhaps the only slight let down was breakfast as we never did quite get what we ordered but hey ho its all part of the fun.
Any questions and I will be happy to answer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_love_red_wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Having stayed here in January, it was my seconde visit to Goa. The first had been several years before, in what was then a well kept Highland Beach (although a visit this year shows it has fallen into disrepair a little.)

Big Daddys is located down a little dirt track just off the main road, across from the Fishermans Cove restaurant. Its a small guesthouse type property, and like all accomodation in Candolim, it is basic. If your expectations are realistic however, it is a great little place to stay. You can access the beach by cutting through a residential area to your left, over a short stretch of open (cool!) sand, until you reach some shacks, you'll find yourself just a few minutes up from being level with the (possibly now removed) river princess.

our room, which was by far the best in the house, faces out to the street, i think it was number 6. the room is small, but benefits from a powerful, mostly hot shower, in a clean wetroom type layout. the main room has very little wardrobe space, but there is plenty of floorspace to lay your suitcase flat and live out of it, like i always do!

there was a small fridge freezer, a tv with satelite, some bedside cabinets and a table, as well as plenty of lights. the beds, by indian standards, were very good, a firm but thick mattress and big soft pillows.

the most attractive feature of the room by far was the big balcony, on which we spent a substational amount of time. the sun rose beautifully in the morning from behind the trees, the guesthouses we looked onto were pretty, brightly coloured and quiet, and we could both sit comfortably having a drink and spotting kingfishers.

the staff consisted of our landlord Vinay, a young guy with a big smile who was very obliging, and a couple of lovely room boys, who cleaned every day, always said hello, and were great at keeping watch during the night (they slept on the property).

although we were b&b we mostly ate at a shack about 15 minutes away (seaview) which is the best of several i have tried. on a couple of occasions we had tea, toast and jam at the hotel which was typical of what you would expect.

in regards to candolim itself, if you have never been to goa before i expect it is a good place to start. many find calungute too busy & frightening, and although places like panjim & baga must be seen, candolim provides a relaxed base with plenty of good food and a pleasant stretch of beach. trips you shouldnt miss are the waterfalls (complete with hilarious 4x4 journey), and the night market, which is packed full of tibetan silver, spices, silks & a charming fellow who makes a very deadly tequila shot.

in candolim, a few places worth trying are as mentioned seaview (poached eggs, fresh fruit, daal, hot & sour soup) mango grove (tikka masala, prawn curry) fishermans cove (tikka and roti) green jacket (steak to die for!!) for most things from cigarettes to suntan lotion, the elephant shop is great and the man who works there (i think michael) is very helpful.

there is a jewellers at the top of the beach road on the right called white dove, and it is the best i have been to in all my travels. the owner, bashir, is talented and wont rip you off, their quality of stones and workmanship are truly great and their pieces are unusual and gorgeous. i had the fortune of getting a gorgeous golden topaz and diamond ring made, as well as a black diamond one, and some beautiful topaz earrings. the tailor next door is also very good and can copy most things, i got a replica of my fav dress made in silk, and also a traditional churidar in a beautiful teal beaded material.

newtons the supermarket is on the main road you cant miss it, so stop in here for home comforts (my friend even bought some nandos sauce here!)

your money goes a long way, and as a rule of thumb, i always negotiatate about 30% lower. its a busy and often frantic place and you have to learn fast, but if you are respectful, firm and friendly, you will have no problems.

candolim is beautiful and really quite special, i am returning january of next year and count down the days. from someone well travelled, this is the place to go if you really want to "see somewhere".

Room Tip: go for our room if you can, front facing with the big balcony! rooms at the back quieter and cooler.
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nicola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Big daddys inn is an amazing place to stay, all that one would want for a vacation is a warm, cosy, clean and welcoming hotel and yes we had it all at the big Daddy's Inn. The bathrooms I must say are really clean......that was the first thing that amazed me. The staff are lovely and always willing to help . Trust me if u are planning a holiday with friends and want it to be economical try out this hotel. The rates are within 1000 to 1200. And very flexible. After our stay we learnt that they even have a website called www.bigdaddysinn.com.

Stella Bamgalore

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have huge balconies,soo all u people wanting to enjoy a drink book the hi...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseroy1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.1 mi away
A's Holiday Beach Resort
A's Holiday Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in Betalbatim
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
360 Degree Beach Retreat
360 Degree Beach Retreat
#37 of 66 in Candolim
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Almeida Guest House
Casa Almeida Guest House
#38 of 87 in Candolim
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tina's Inn Boutique Guest Rooms
0.1 mi away
OYO Rooms Candolim Beach Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Daddy's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Daddy's Inn

Address: 531 - B Vaddy | Waddy, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Candolim
Price Range: £204 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Big Daddy's Inn - Candolim Beach [North Goa]. At the heart of Candolim, it is just the right place to offer a homely feeling with the charm of its simplicity. Big Daddy's Inn offers 8 non AC rooms with cable TV and simple and clean interiors. Most people like it. Find for yourself and fall in love with Big Daddy's Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Daddy's Inn Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing