We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
475
65
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
65
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his son his team sinquerim beach the penthouse home away from home garden restaurant stocked fridge bus stop sitting room mouth watering breakfast is served clean rooms aguada fort beautiful property short walk to the beach perfect stay lunch dinner
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

It was a last minute trip and we got lucky with a reservation. Had to make do with different rooms the first 3 days and on the last night they were full yet the owner accommodated us at his brothers place and gave us a minor discount for the inconvenience which is much appreciated. A major hurdle though was the need to order dinner at breakfast which can be tough to predict that early, at least for us. There is no pool or much area to take a stroll but that's what may be adds to the charm of this exquisitely done and differently made place called bougainvillea

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Akshyat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Bougainvillea for two days in May 2014 and found it to be an absolute haven of comfort, quiet, and beauty, plus an outstanding (and unusual) level of hospitality. The bed was large and comfortable, the room was exceptionally clean, the air conditioning was equal to the challenge of the very hot weather, and the entire building is charming and picturesque. We stayed in other places in India that cost more for much less -- we had such a wonderful time that we'd pick Bougainvillea again in a heartbeat!

It is a short walk to the beach and old Fort buildings -- very scenic and beautiful.

The food was great -- a standard English breakfast (we were a little surprised that there wasn't an Indian breakfast option), and then a custom prepared dinner designed in consultation with the chef! He asked what we liked and came up with some truly delightful dishes: a shrimp curry and some really excellent grilled fish. Everything was made to order! Lovely!

The owner, Lorenzo, and all of the staff were genuinely friendly, taking an interest in helping us enjoy our stay to the fullest extent. The ocean sands was a bit polluted with tar from a recent rain, and Lorenzo was quick to offer kerosene to effectively clean it off our feet, personally supervising. One evening I mentioned an interest in ice cream, and he immediately offered to drive us down to Baskin Robbins and wait while we bought ice creams! Wow! He always had time for the smallest concern. We wished that our entire visit to India could have been at this hotel.

Room tip: We had a garden room on the bottom floor -- it was lovely, with a private patio.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kiri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This Guest House Is really a masterpiece with an amazing low rate you find relaxation, peace , serenity, free wifi...and most importantly the way its owner Mr Laurence treats the guest....
His priority is to make his guest feel luxurious and comfortable....
We loved staying there...

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anishsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed with my family from 5th june to 10th june and we liked everything about the place, rooms,service including the fresh lilies in the room and the people who manage it. It is the personal touch of laurenco,freddie and levin which made our stay very comfortable.All issues and concerns were addressed with smile and the best thing is that everyone is open to suggestions.Also the location is close to the beach but quiet.If you want to stay for longer duration we would strongly recommend the place.You cant have better value for money.
Jayent mishra

Room tip: 201 where we stayed is good with great veiw
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayentmishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent three days recently in this guest house and we wish we had stayed longer. We picked it based on trip advisor reviews and were a little wary of the very reasonable rates. But this was the best part of our two week vacation in India. It is a beautiful property. Every room has fresh flowers. Lorenzo kindly gave us a room with a private garden that we enjoyed very much. Even with an extra bed that we needed for our son, the room had plenty of space to move around and we absolutely, absolutely loved it. We enjoyed our breakfast every morning. Perfect start to a day in paradise. The service was simply outstanding. And Freddy is culinary god. We asked to eat dinner one night. According to my partner, this was the very best meal he had during the entire week period and we ate really well during the whole trip. My partner and our son shared Goan chicken curry and medallion beef chili fry with rice and they made a special out of menu vegetarian meal for me, all of which were delicious. They buy fresh ingredients and make everything from the scratch. This dinner was far superior to the one that we had at Caravalli at the Taj Village next door to Bougainvillea. Freddy, you promised the recipes! Please email them to me.

To my pleasant surprise, when I was hiking the Fort trail one morning, I found that there is a trail entrance a minute away from the guest house!

We really can't wait to go back for a longer vacation, may be even a month! Hopefully with more friends and family too. We have been recommending this place to everyone we know. It is an absolute oasis!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poonamallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews