We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience....but yearning for more....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The O Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The O Hotel
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Mumbai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good experience....but yearning for more....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

This was one of those short and sweet trip before a long and tedious work schedule...so we wanted to be in midst of the action belt....That was not the right decision...this hotel is a bit far from the happening calangute and baga beach. But that is not intended to take away the beauty of this cosy boutique hotel. All the reviews that have been uploaded earlier are absolutely bang on. This hotel probably was taken over and redone. So all the rooms had a mixture of modern and ethnic furniture. But the finishing of the rooms are not upto the mark. Lack of professionalism was visible all through. The reception was buch better than the reviews, which means that the management really takes the reviews seriously. So we had a very smooth and early check in. The rooms do not have good views on any sides so it's ok even if u take the ground floor rooms. The bath tubs are not very user friendly. The rooms are well air conditioned. The pool is small, I mean very small...but the garden is good and quite large with a deck area overlooking the sea. The sea is a two minute walk which was a blessing....there are also a couple of shacks which serves u cheap alchohol....The breakfast spread was okay but not lavish....there were a few items which were served on request. This was a new experience. Indian options were higher. The buggy service was an interesting add on. The hotel also had a casino....that is very innovative and will surely be a crowd puller. Overall good experience but had expected more...the most disheartening part was that they charge for ordering water beyond the normal quota of the day. This should be taken note of, this is not a good sign specially when there is a directive where u can't charge for water.....but overall it was an okay experience.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzo_Pops_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    226
    104
    35
    41
See reviews for
167
244
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

The O Hotel is easy to find (right on the main road), yet away from the noisy hustle and bustle of the club scene. The restaurant was good, the beach access is great, and the setting is both chic and peaceful. The rooms, however, are nothing special. I would suggest not wasting extra money on a deluxe room, as I think the standard rooms are actually better. Standard rooms are the same size, seemed to stay cooler, and you don't have to go up the stairs. The hotel also lacks 5 star service. The staff is okay, but not trained well and very hit and miss in terms of service level.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank tkeucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the O for 3 nights and it was a very comfortable stay. what i liked about the hotel the most was the proximity to the beach which is right behind the hotel property with a lovey shack called calamari! one can lounge about the hotel pool in the day and then just hop across to the beach for drinks and dinner at night!rather convenient for people like us who went there for our anniversary and wanted to be away from the maddening crowd! the beach also has water sports on clear days so one can pretty much stay at the hotel and get everything done!
now about the hotel - room was great,once we moved out of the corner room they first gave us. (i always feel corner rooms are less maintained for some reason). The staff was quite prompt and helpful - got us the bike on rent the moment we reached, helped in getting information about places we wanted to go to etc. The pool though not very big, is very clean with fresh towels always handy and great drinks being served.
the one thing the hotel needs to look into is the food. the breakfast was very basic with almost the same menu on all 3 days. a lilttle more variety could be nice. and the in room dining was a let down in terms of the quality of food. so unless you are the kind who eats all their meals in the room, you wont have anything to complain about ! And, yes i would not mind a revisit and would recommend O to friends and family!
Cheers and Travel safe!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anjalime24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

spent two weeks at the o hotel rooms large and very comfortable all of the staff very friendly and helpful,a two minute walk down very well kept gardens to the great beach and shacks,food was very nice,we were only bed and breakfast but food is so cheap in resort that you shouldnt really need anything more,my wife and i are already looking for next year as we had a fantastic two weeks,the goan people are so friendly and helpful

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clayton a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_goa, General Manager at The O Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Clayton
Thank you for your valuable feedback, and would look forward to recieving you again on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Spent 10 days in March 2012 with my wife, sister in law and her husband. Superb, classy hotel. Rooms very large and clean. Staff very pleasant, efficient and friendly. Breakfast and restauraunt superb. The location is very near the Taj Village at the end of Candolim. However, within a 10 minute walk you will discover a variety of top class food. Cheap prices average price for a curry and rice with breads 200Rs. Large Kingfisher beers 650cl 70-80Rs. Hotel is located on the Beach with a garden and pool for hyotel guests. Beautiful hotel in a nice location. great value for money

Room Tip: Room 701 upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was my 2nd marriage anniversary and my 1st trip to Goa. The main benefit of staying in this hotel is the direct access to Candolim beach and the Calamari shack(both are terrifc and must see).
We were on all meals package and thus we really didnt have to worry about our food bills, food was good and safe to eat. Though there is just one reataurant which is mainly operational(Kitsch).. the seaside food grill(Addah) is also open but is rarely visited by people because of its higher prices.
There is not much to see in this hotel...the pool is average but clean. The golf cart available for transfers from the hotel till the main gate is fun. This hotela also has a gym, spa and casino(hardly visited by people).
The hotel staff is courteous and friendly, especialy Chef Pritam and the person at the bar - Siddhesh. I would remember these 2 people for their warm nature and help they have extended.
If given a chance to visit North Goa again...I would for sure plan to stay in this resort...this resort is opeaceful...clean..and the Buddha theme across this resort adds an extra spiritual touch to it.
Baga, Calnagute beaches were closely accessible from this resort and all basic amenties like chemist, car/bike rentals, ATM, market are closeby.

Room Tip: Rooms are small..be it be the Courtyard or Deluxe. Bathrooms are smaller for these 2 categories. Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Kalsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

After staying in South goa at PARK HYATTfor 4 nights, i was dissapointed coming to O- Hotel. But then they cant be compared as the price here was one third the of park hyatt.The rooms are clean and spacious. The location is amazing, bank on the beach, next to the best Shack in north Goa (kalamari). We had hired a small car so it was convenient to go eat a meal at the taj village or across the street. There are some wonderful places less than 5 mins drive around O hotel.

The food is very expensive and we preffered eating in taj instead.

They have a live band that plays amazing music every evening.

They have a swimming pool, the smallest i have ever seen in a 5 star property.

The SPA and gym are for name sake.

Over all a great location, with comfortable rooms and environment and value for money.

Room Tip: Dont eat here as the food is very expensive. There are amazing places walking/2 mins drive around o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHIVALIK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.1 mi away
Marquis Beach Resort
Marquis Beach Resort
#13 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
1.0 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#11 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
#15 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The O Hotel

Property: The O Hotel
Address: S Dando No 114/1, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#12 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#13 Luxury Hotel in Candolim
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The O Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The o Hotel, Goa Hotel Candolim
The O Hotel Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing