We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was good but Service was terrible”
Review of The Clematis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clematis
Ranked #14 of 87 Candolim B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 May 2014

During my 4 nights stay in the hotel i saw they do not clean the bathroom much and do not refill the amenities. I had to call them to get the amenities. there were a indecent that our shower got clogged and whole bathroom flooded then they came and fixed it and said sand and hair clogged the shower drain!!! Well if you have cleaned the rooms then it should not have happened.
Another thing is they show that they are doing a lot of thing and that's it they only show that but o not do anything. I was asking for a channel to watch Champions league match but they said their subscription is over and they are looking into it. But they never did and also didnt tell me anything. Then i saw the same channel is available is other rooms but only not in my room!!! When i told them that they said "no no no its not possible no room has that channel" !!! But i can see other rooms have that channel as we took 3 rooms!! Why the lies dammit just say its not possible to pay for my channel in my room!!!
Their breakfast starts at 7:30 on paper but never does. It starts at maybe 9 or 9:30.
Overall service is just awful

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DArijit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Clematis is a "close to the beach" property located in the hip Candolim area of Goa. Its close enough to the happening Calangute and Baga beaches, yet far to not get caught in all the frenzy there.

The place claims to be a boutique hotel and rightly so. Its a relatively small property, but one which has most amenities on tap. The swimming pool is large with a bar next to the pool for those who want to enjoy a drink while by the pool side. There are also lounge decks around the pool and in the area next to the pool. there is also a hammock for those lazy moments. Overall, the hotel premise will not disappoint.

The access to the beach is from behind the hotel and about a distance of 300-400 mts. But the way is quiet sandy and deserted which makes it difficult to walk through, especially in the hot sun. If you hire a bike, its better to take the main road.


We stayed at the pool suite which is their lower category room. However, the only difference is a plunge pool which is not worth paying 2k extra for. The rooms themselves are large and have a nice decor. There are basic amenities like a LCD, mini bar and tea coffee maker. The bathroom is also spacious, however, the lack of a bath tub was sad.

The problem i have with the hotel is the food. The breakfast buffet is extremely poor with hardly any choice available. The menu on most days is common with only one dish changing. The taste is nothing to write rave reviews about. We ordered room service on one day and it takes it own sweet time to arrive. Club sandwich ordered came in not toasted. Best if you eat outside the hotel. There are a number of good restaurants available close by.

There is no parking facility in the hotel and if you are driving down, your car will have to be parked on the road side. Bikes hired can be parked next to the hotel on the road again.


Overall, its a nice resort, especially for the price you can get it at. Using deals on online sites, the room with breakfast can be had at 3500 a night. Definitely worth it.

The beach next to the hotel has slightly coarse sand and quiet steep. Would recommend instead going to sinquerm beach next to vivanta taj, which is about a 5 min ride by a bike.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funkypratik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The resort is same as it looks in the images. Its just that the images have been clicked in HD. The issue is with cleanliness and sort of maintenance. The paint is scrambling down at multiple places across the room.

I took aqua suite. The so called personal pool is painted at the bottom and walls, and paint is just getting removed on every fill. The Cushions and lounge sofa at pool are not clean.

The staff is very friendly. The major pool is big enough, and at the calm side of the resort. The pool is cleaned regularly. It is open 24 hours.

The resort doesnt have parking facility. I parked my car on the main road itself.

Still I would say, they offer you much more than what they charge. Food prices are not high , but service is damn slow. For every small order, you need to wait for atleast 45 minutes.

The beach is about 250 meters from the resort. But going there walking, especially in the day time is a pain on sizzling hot sand.

The Air Conditioning was awesome, but water was coming inside the room from AC. This is actually an un-rectifiable problem there, at least in room number 102.

The breakfast was having very limited options, but tasted good. There are very good sit around areas in the resort. If weather is good, its nice to sit and lay back at those places.

The check-in and check-out was super quick.

Its a no-nonsense and no frill resort. I have no hesitation in recommending it to you all. There are very few beach side properties, with these facilities, but so less price.

We four shared one aqua suite, and paid Rs. 6000 per night.

The overall resort experience was good and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with no AC problem, of water leaking inside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ranbir-India-Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This resorts location is very good . There are 13 suites which are well maintained .Its good when you go with your group of friends or families . we went there with our friends and booked 11 suites . They are good in space , amenities , and service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashish-ratlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This resort is on a long strip of land that leads to the Candolim beach. Close to good restaurants, shopping and sightseeing.

The rooms are well maintained, but the housekeeping could be a lot better. We were a group of 4 families with 2 kids. We took the rooms on the first floor. The staff at the reception were very courteous and helpful.

Good points :
Good location
Well maintained swimming pool
Good food (the breakfast was little monotonous though)
Nice gazebo and restaurant set-up even with the limited space

Bad points :
The towels don't look fresh, lots of stains etc
We felt the rooms were over priced for the facilities provided
The a/c and hot water is controlled by the hotel somehow, it works only if you call and complain

All in all, would rate it average, considering the a/c did not work when we wanted it to, and our baby had to be bathed in warm water until we found out the hot water could be 'turned on' by the hotel.

The beach is just a stroll away and is good compared to the other beaches, decent crowd, with no hawkers trying to sell jewellery or a massage....

Food ordered in the room was good, well prepared, and prompt.

However, There are lot of competent hotels and b&bs on the same stretch, so this resort could consider making improvements.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank DeepAsh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Well on the first look you might miss the sign but once the narrow pathway leads you in you are pretty impressed with the size and layout of this resort. Clematis means a type of flower which blooms beautifully year after year , well I can say the same for this resort with its location , the pool area , the gazebo and many more nooks and corners which give its unique charm.The rooms are spacious ones with all the basics filled the flat tv mini bar fruit basket couple of wine glasses in room safe et alllll. Now coming to the property located on the main road of candolim leading to Taj Vivanta the road is nicely buzzed with cafes restaurants bakeries and shops of all types so you wont have to go far for anything . The usp of the resort is that it has these structures like the gazebos in sand pits covered with white sheers for privacy just overlooking the pool. A very comfy corner to crash in with a drink and a book to sail you though whatever time of the day.Th pool I may say is not too large but not too small either has a baby pool cut out also has pool bar and service a bit tardy but will deliver whatever you order everywhere whether the pool gazebo or the open air lounge at the end of resort.Some activities are always on here , during our stay we were a party to a karaoke night and a live orchestra night which meted out English and Goan tracks.Food is one area the guys here can improve variety is a bit less and time taken just revs your hunger.At the end of resort is small gate a 5 min short cut to the beach and you can laze around the shacks or do water sports as it suits you.

Room Tip: The choice for rooms is not a hard question as all the rooms have the same view front and back but d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simpleminds8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here 7 nights and everything went great!
The location was very good, it took about 2minutes walk to the beach. Pool and outside area was beautiful. Our room was in the second floor and it was all clean and elegant.
Only not so good- thing was breakfast, there wasn't much to eat and we went there only two times. Everything else was good! I warm recommend staying in this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GretaLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.1 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 67 in Candolim
1,713 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 67 in Candolim
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marquis Beach Resort
Marquis Beach Resort
#16 of 67 in Candolim
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
The O Hotel
The O Hotel
#27 of 67 in Candolim
684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clematis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clematis

Address: H No 280a | Dando, Baman Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Candolim
Price Range: £6,070 - £7,588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clematis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the vibrant hub of Candolim in North Goa overlooking the sparkling blue waters of the Arabian Sea, The Clematis beckons one and all to the start of a quintessential Goan sojourn. Rustic and earthy design laced with Goan influences set against cobble stone pathways and tropical gardens make this lively yet laid back boutique four-star hotel a perfect getaway for the leisure traveller shying away from conventionality and looking for a totally relaxing experience. From tantalizing food promotions the beach or just relaxing by the pool, The Clematis allows you to experience the flavours, sights and sounds of Goa at your own pace. Whether your passion is shopping, dining or total rejuvenation of the body and soul, The Clematis has something in store for you. Our well-informed Concierge will be happy to assist with sightseeing landmarks, shopping information or any other assistance you may require. All you need to do is ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Clematis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clematis Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing