We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to crash with friends”
Review of Hotel Royal Mirage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal Mirage
Ranked #28 of 85 Candolim B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place to crash with friends”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We were a group of 5 and were looking for a budgeted stay in a central location. And choosing royal mirage was the best thing we did. Super spacious rooms. Clean bathrooms. Hot water. Perfect location. Helpful staff. Only two backdrops- not so good breakfast and small pool. Bt hey, who needs the pool when the beaches await u :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sona0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    15
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
16
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Daegu
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I didn't have any problems with Royal Mirage. My room was huge and everything in it seemed new and clean. The location is great -- 5-10 minutes walk from the beach, and the staff were friendly and helpful. They have a "pool," but nobody swims in it because it's the size of a bathtub. The free breakfasts were nice, and overall I'd stay here again if I'm ever in Candolim. Wifi is only available in the lobby, which is kind of annoying.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Goa is an amazing place and I would love to go there many more times.

It was our first marriage anniversary and we wanted to make it special hence after going through many reviews finalized Hotel Royal Mirage.

But unfortunately we didn't know that it’s gonna be ruined this badly.

We booked the suite room. Ours was unit number 304.
In general the room looked good but the Linen and Pillow covers at room were in awful condition. They were torn (please see pictures). Then we have to really beg to get them changed.
While at night when I was not able to sleep properly I discovered that the Bed was full of “BED BUGS”.
It was 4 am in the morning and while I could understand it was already 5 am. Then we complaint about the same in the morning. After complaining we were shifted to room number 305. Again the same story pathetic Linen and Pillow cover. (Please see snaps)
The worst part was that the hotel management said this is just an unfortunate thing so we can’t compensate it in anyway. They have been tremendously pushy for the payment that too with 3% extra charges via Credit card. Front desk looked helpless and senior management looked rude and stubborn. They compensated with one portion of breakfast as we missed one day of breakfast because of Bed Bugs fiasco.

Also, they suggested us the travel agent, Sandy Tour and Traveler, who ripped us by charging thrice the amount of regular charges. this has been accepted by the Hotel as well. They apologized for the same.

Room Service was very slow, though the staff is cordial. Brilliantly spoiled all my surprises. Food was good but it’s there in whole of Goa. Goa is heaven for foodies.

Jacuzzi didn't work even after request nobody came to help with it. We discovered it only while checking out that it was switched off from the main MCB board itself.

Hotel view is just average inclined towards poor. Location is near candolim beach.

Only good if you want an affordable place to crash into Bed.

I would advise you all to AVOID this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucky_Victory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I was in Goa for the India Bike Feast and most hotels were fully booked due to the event. We settled for Royal Mirage based on its rave reviews & availability and I was not disappointed. For the price, this place provides full value for money, rooms are spacious and clean, interiors are nice, food is good and staff is helpful. There is no view but the windows have thick sun screens and one can sleep at any hour of the day.

The only reason my rating is average and not excellent is because they are very pushy about the payments. They have a policy of 18% convenience charge on credit or debit card payments (over the regular 15% service tax); more so none of this was mentioned in any of the booking sites at the time of booking. As a norm, convenience charge is 1.8% to 3% throughout India but they did not have any justification of this unusual practice they follow in the name of hotel policy. After a much heated discussion with the hotel owner, the bill was settled in cash. Their financial records seem fishy, as the bill provided didn’t had any bill number, which could be an issue for official travelers who have to reimburse their expenses.

The hotel staff and receptionist are very friendly and bike rentals, airport transfers, room service etc. can be easily arranged in the hotel. Only irritant is their persistent requests for payments, as if we will run away without paying. We were asked to pay in advanced for the stay at the time of checking in, the waiter wanted to settle the room service charge in the room itself and we were caught to pay for the rented bike every time we crossed the lobby.

Candolim is an excellent place to stay in Goa if you are looking for a little private vacation and less crowded beaches. However, this hotel is a bit in the interiors but can be easily accessible if you have your own or rented vehicle.

Mobile signals inside the hotel is very weak and Wi fi is only available at the reception, so once you are in your room, there is no contact with the outside world, but the good part is that rooms are equipped with nice big flat TVs with HD channels. Basic toiletries are available in the room but complimentary drinking water was missing on all days, also hot water in the showers is only available in the morning. Fitness facility is functional and swimming pool is an extension of a bathing tub!

All said and done, I still recommend this place. If you are in Goa for fun, and the only purpose of a room is to crash and wash, you don’t have to look any further. Just keep the cash ready and pay in advance to avoid the embarrassment.

Room Tip: rooms on fifth floor have the extra bed facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supernova85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2013

this is a great place to stay, spacious rooms, good interiors, good food, and great location, being located in goas mst happenin places. this hotel is great interms of cost. i wud suggest everyone reading this review can blindly trust me on this and can have a pleasant stay in this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swaniyaLamba_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Its the best place to stay in goa interms of hospitality, location and cost. Excellent rooms and food, very helpfull staff..after a long day full of activities this I a best place to rejuvinate urself. Very spacious rooms, beautiful interiors and very clean..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanvi_varma23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

A small yet wonderful hotel away from the noisy main roads of candolim. Excellent rooms and super excellent service with a variety of dishes. Its simply a home away from home. I'll definitely come here eberytime I'm here

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.0 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#19 of 65 in Candolim
528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#7 of 65 in Candolim
1,048 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zense Resort Goa
Zense Resort Goa
#37 of 65 in Candolim
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cygnett Inn Celestiial
Cygnett Inn Celestiial
#32 of 65 in Candolim
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonesta Inns
Sonesta Inns
#10 of 65 in Candolim
622 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Mirage Boutique Morjim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Mirage

Property: Hotel Royal Mirage
Address: 1208 /A Anna Waddo | behind hotel Marina Bay, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Mirage 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Mirage is located in Candolim- Goa. Merely about 15 mins walk from Candolim beach.Rooms are spacious and are equipped with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Mirage Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing