We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday, shame about MONARCH Airline”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
barnsley, yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Holiday, shame about MONARCH Airline”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Phoenix Park Hotel is superb

My ONLY and BIGGEST GRIPE is with MONARCH AIRLINE,

We booked the holiday as a through flight, but two weeks before departure they informed us that there would be a stop at Kuwait for fuel, onboard the pilot told us 45 min stop at Bahrain, which ended up being 1hr 40mins, we had departed late from Manchester and this stop made a long journey even longer, the aircraft was unbearably warm, my wife was on the point of fainting from the heat, a lady in the seat behind us was in an even worse state, the unbearable heat made her really ill, they had promised us an upgraded meal service, a comfort pack and free headphones, the free headphones were cheap tacky items and totally useless and cheap pack with a couple of wipes, eyeshade and neck pillow did not cut any ice with us, and if the food we got was an upgrade, I dread to think what the other stuff would have been like, the flights both outward and return, 1hr 20mins late on the return due to refuelling at Larnica, the flights with MONARCH were total misery from start to finish.

BUT NOW TO THE HOTEL
This was my second visit to the Phoenix Park Inn, the staff are very good, helpful and always friendly, I have mobility issues and without exception the staff did their very best to help me and make my stay as good an experience as possible.

The Breakfast is much better than you get at most other hotels, and everything is included in the price, nothing to pay for extra`s.
The hotel is part way through a program of refurbishments, we had pre booked a Premier Room, and we received a room in a block that had been refurbished at the end of last year so we were more than happy with the room, the kitchen and dining room have been done to a very high standard this year, and more work is planned for the end of the season ready for next year, I am making plans to go back next year (With a different Airline) and I have only been home one day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clayshooter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    454
    189
    83
    106
See reviews for
317
534
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We spent two weeks in the phoenix park hotel 23 02 12 to the 9 03 12. We had a standard room and it was fine, everything we needed - air con, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and tv. very clean and friendly hotel. we did not like the breakfast because whatever we ate it tasted of spices. so we went out to the main road and found several very clean and friendly restuarants which were very cheap and the food lovely. Not having been to india before our first impression was of how dirty it was, lots of rubbish in the streets and cows wander about unrestricted this was off putting but after a while we realised this is just accepted in india- i think they are trying to correct this but it appears to be very difficult to change atitudes. The beggers who appeared along the high street and the beach area were sad to see which reminded us of how fortunate we are in the UK . Overall most of the working locals were happy and friendly. Everything is much cheaper in goa so holiday money goes a long way. We went on the jungle trip which was highly recommended before we went but we didnt like the basic facilities in the mud hut and the copious amounts of elephant dung everywhere. Although it was highly entertaining to see the elephants. The bathing of the elephants was good to see but we could not go into the water after seeing an elephant empty its bowels and pass water before the staff invited the guests to enter the water and take a power shower with the animals. perhaps we are too careful but we did not want to take a chance of getting ill. The beach at candolim was lovely and the sea warm. lots of waves - it can get quite rough! When sitting on the beach you will be constantly subjected to locals trying to sell all sorts of items to you - starting from jewelry, clothes, fruit, crisps nuts .ice cream and various forms of massage.We can highly recommend the tailor based at the hotel. My partner had a suit, trousers and several shirts made which were perfect. Restuarents we liked were Friends, Ruffles, Gato Loco and Fishermans cove. The five hour boat trip with bbq was great - we saw dolphines and spent time on a sandy cove enjoying fresh kingfish baked on the bbq with jacket potatoes salad, samosa s bread and endless amounts of beer,coke water etc. followed by fresh fruit. staff were great - we booked with johns boat tours who were keen to please. Very hectic returning home goa airport is one long queue - we probably joined at least five different queues before completing the procedure and passing passport control - so be prepared! A very different experience!

Room Tip: ask for a high floor because some rooms are low down and can be dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pands_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Me and a friend stayed at the Phoenix Park Inn February 11th to 25th 2012. After reading other reviews we were a tad worried about what to expect but we were pleasantly impressed.

We were in a standard room in the block above the breakfast room and it was far better than our expectations. It was roomy and clean and came with a pool view. I would say that for two ladies sharing there was very little wardrobe space and the room definately needed another mirror for getting ready but other than that it was fine.

Breakfast was wonderful. A choice of cereal, toast, eggs to order, porridge etc.

The pool area is lovely but shaded so if you prefer to be in the sun all day then head to the beach. The beach is just a ten minute walk away. Best beach shack was Monico's with great food and lovely people. There are some great places to eat on an evening including The Curry House on the beach road, Fisherman's Cove on the main street and Victor's which is near the Highland Beach Resort.

Just beware the Phoenix Park Inn is situated at the end of a lane so the bus transfer will drop you off at the top and you have to walk down with your suitcase. Also we arrived in the morning at 10 a.m. and our room wasn't ready until late afternoon. Not a real big problem to us because we just went straight to the beach but I could see why this would be a nuisence to some people.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would definately stay at the Phoenix Park Inn again and again.

Room Tip: We only stayed in a standard room and it surpassed our expectations. It was a bonus having a pool vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank HelenMarkhamLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Had a fantastic time again , as this was my 4th time back at the phoenix park . from the reception staff to all the waiters to room boy they all maid you feel good , food was excellent , it gets better and better every time i go back . all staff are very friendly , room was good and clean .would i go back yes as ive booked already to go back in 2013 .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SUE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

...as any other traveler to a new place me and my wife, looked at all possible places on Tripadvisor, and almost gave this fantastic place a miss due to some not so nice reviews...its everything we were looking for, good location, resaonalbe price, well maintained, and very pleasant staff.
one thing we did after reading previous reviews was to book the Delux room...it was excellennt! Buffet breakfast was more than what we expected...we were spoilt for choices, Dinner & drinks were very good. Travelling with our not so easy 7yr old daughter was made easier with two particular staff members usually in the restaurant or pool side area...Shyamchand & Manutosh, who kept her entertained.
The pool is very good & seprate one for kids , the beach isnt very close but about 10 minute walk which is fine! pleanty of food options around Tuscany Garden , Cafe chocolati, Republic of Noodles,pleanty of Shacks on the beach...a great supermarket Delphino's on the main road where one can go for any essentials/food/drinks.....You can book a self drive car by the day or get a scooter to get around the place, the reception will help you find the contacts...If we'er back in Goa...we'll be staying here!!!

Room Tip: Book Delux room ONLY...1204 on 1St floor was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pankaj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were impressed with the standard of the room, staff were very attentive and hospitable, very polite. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: we had a room on the ground floor short walk to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MascarenhasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

we have check-in on 9th of Feb '12 ,The first view of hotel was just like shown in Pics but not a carlson's group property like ...it was a first set back for me but the staff was very pleasant and caring.

we have provided a premium room in Rosa building on fourth floor its without lift,the window view of the room is blocked by another building in front so I rate my room a zero out of five.
The interior was okay and room was well cleaned.The hotel guys are not generous about giving you toiletries or tea making.
although the pool is small but its beautifully surrounded by palm trees.
one thing which I would like to bring in your notice is that the google maps shows this property as near to beach but in contrast it was on the another side of road so if you are thinking of a sea view resort then its a wrong choice you need to a walk for 150 mts (appox) to roam in the golden sand beach.

other then breakfast I had never tried food there reason being a lot of restaurants in the vicinity you have ample of choice in terms of fooding and drinks ,in evening you will feel like you are in a foreign country as majority of people roaming around are white and most of them where from Russia in hotel also me along with a couple one where indigenous rest all are from across the globe.

To Do: water sports like para sailing and water scooter ride where there and water scooter ride was worth doing they charge Rs 1200 for a fifteen minute ride but you can negotiate for twenty minute.

Room Tip: prefer having a pool facing room either ground or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandeepRana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#9 of 64 in Candolim
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 64 in Candolim
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
#12 of 64 in Candolim
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Park Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Park Inn Resort

Property: Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Address: Sequera Vado, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#8 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#9 Luxury Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Park Inn Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix Park Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Park Hotel Candolim
Park Inn Phoenix
Phoenix Park Goa
Park Inn Candolim
Phoenix Park Inn Goa
Candolim Park Inn
Phoenix Park Inn Hotel
Phoenix Park Inn Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing