We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still keeping the standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed 26 November 2013

4th visit to Goa and candolim stayed 8th-23rd Nov 2013 phoenix park has done a few building upgrades since we last stayed all for the good staff still very friendly and helpful stayed in a basic room and it was all we expected food was good prices were higher than in the resort but nothing to moan about.Downside to Goa holidays is the price for us to obtain a visa to visit ( over £90) we are now officially outnumbered 6-1 by the Russians who pay less than £5 for their visa so it will only get worse.Most of these Russians behave like feral dogs whose cage has just been opened and treat the locals worse than slaves.If you steer well clear you will still enjoy your holiday.Our favourite restraunts were Inferno,The curry house,Floyd's Hut,and 21 Cocos all good food and drink for about £11 for 2persons .Beach shack has to be Jacksons with a special mention for Alan who was always happy and pleasant and very helpful regarding all things local

Room Tip: Upgrades are well worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calvosparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked this hotel direct from the UK for one night as we wanted to reminise our holiday that we had had here two years ago over Christmas and New Year. What idiots! We travelled the near two hour trip from Cavellossim (South Goa) to be treated appallingly. We arrived at 11.50am as our check in time was 12pm on our documents. The girl on reception said we would have to wait for our room as the check in time was 2pm. We explained that it was 12pm on our paperwork and she said it would be ready soon. We said we would go round to the pool bar and get some drinks and wait there. When it got to 1.30 my wife went to see what was going on, only to be told that the room was not ready still. We had to constantly keep asking what the situ was but were not getting anywhere. At 3pm we were then told that we hadn't paid for the room and that is why they were not letting us have it. However, we thought we had paid for the room as we had paid for it by card over the internet in the UK. We explained that we hadn't brought the card with us to Candolim and it was in our safe at our other hotel. They then proceeded to say that we could not have the room without showing the card. We asked that they just used the card we had booked with to book the room as they had all the details. When we said we were fed up and had waited over 3 hours and were going to leave, the smug Manager said that if we leave then they would take the payment from our card as it's in the terms and conditions that if you don't turn up for your room they will charge you. As you can imagine, this made us see red! We were laughed at by the staff and the Manager was extremely rude. After a lot of heated discussion they finally took us to our room over 3 and a half hours of arriving.

We had booked a suite (£98 a night - a lot in Goan terms) overlooking the pool as we knew from last time these were the best rooms. It was a joke! The air conditioning didn't work, even though we had an engineer come and try and fix it. The room was dated, and it was obviously free when we first arrived as the contents in the fridge was warm!

We have both travelled extensively and stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world and I have to say that I personally have never been treated in such an appalling manner. To be laughed at and mocked when your obviously upset with the treatment you are receiving is discusting.

We will be writing to head office to make them aware of their Management and reception staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TeamMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel is just off the main Baga Road, where you'll find every restaurant/bar under the sun for all tastes it's ideally located for eating out in the evenings. When we booked the hotel with Thomas Cook and after reading previous reviews, decided to upgrade our room directly with the hotel to the deluxe type via email, we never got a response from the hotel so needless to say, when we checked into the hotel, allocated a room from the original booking form. The hotel have a strange way of booking you in, room keys are not given out to you upon arrival, each couple has to wait their turn for a bell porter to show you to your allocated room, which after a long flight and especially after we arrived at 3am is not great, no refreshments was offered to us not even a glass of water and the reception staff speak very little English, it took us a good 45 minutes to actually get into our room after just standing in the reception area! Our room was in the Mogra Block on the third floor climbing six flights of stairs, no lifts are available. We requested a double room and was given a twin one, the beds was comfortable and had very clean sheets changed daily, with added air conditioning. The shower/toilet room was in desperate need of modernisation, wall tiles cracked, windows which didn't close correctly with paint splattered all over the window panes. Most mornings there was no water and had to wait for a water tanker to arrive, which was almost there continually each day. The pool area is the gem of this hotel albeit quite shaded at times, the pool bar drinks/food prices are quite expensive compared to outside bars/restaurants. Our holiday at Phoenix Park lasted two weeks and had one night of live entertainment, most hotel guests go to outside bars/restaurants during the evenings, it's cheaper and a better choice of entertainment from karaoke to live entertainment and disco bars. Life at Phoenix Park is a little laid back so if you want a quite holiday it's a good choice for you but having said that, if you require a more lively experience, then a short walk onto the main road, you have another world.

If we returned to Goa, I'm sure that we will, we would again consider The Phoenix Park Hotel, purely for the location, but we would stay in either the Rosa or Zai Buildings, go there and see for yourselves, "It's a hotel with a gem that just needs a little polishing" Take plenty of mosquito repellent with you they eat you alive!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in March 2013 for our second stay ! We love this hotel and find the staff excellent and always willing to help ! We book superior rooms as they allow a lot more comfort and we have always been pleased with our room allocation ! We are going back in March 2014 and can't wait to see the staff again ! Rooms always clean and bedding immaculate ! I cannot fault this hotel and would recommend it to anyone

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie6203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Location of the hotel is superb.walkable distance from supermarket and beach.small resort but very affordable tariff.i strongly recommend to take premium rooms and not superior.absolute value for money and recommended for affordable long stays.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meetu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a budget hotel. The rooms are basic but tidy. The overall ambience of the hotel is good and the swimming pool is also nice. The hotel is more or less on the main road in Candolim, so there are good eating joints around. I would recommend Fisherman’s Cove.

The hotel is a little far from Calungute(6 km) and Baga (12 km) but this was blessing in disguise as the Candolim beach was relatively calm and not crowded. The other two beaches – Calungute and Baga were too crowded.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank l_Amal-Makwana_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Located at just a 10 min walk from the peaceful Candolim beach, Phoenix Park Inn provides easy accessibility for that quick morning dip in the sea. The property is beautiful, with a nice little swimming pool surrounded by rooms and a poolside bar. Rooms are nice, clean and spacious with a little balcony for that evening tea. Staff is nice and co-operative (They gave us an extension of 2 hours because our return flight was late in the evening).

However, the services and amenities are pretty below average. For one, the showers in the bathrooms go haywire all the time with no temperature control at all. Secondly, they need a substantial amount as deposit to be able to use the safety lockers in the room! (What for?)

Moreover, the breakfast menu is not that good and there is not a lot of variety on offer. The food quality is pretty average, and the service time is ominous. It took them 45 mins to serve us with an order of only egg noodles for dinner.

Overall, I'd recommend the property for tourists looking for budget options. Not recommended for people who are willing to go a notch higher!

Room Tip: Go for rooms at the ground floor for easy access to poolside. They gave us a third floor room (and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
0.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.4 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#10 of 67 in Candolim
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 67 in Candolim
1,595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 67 in Candolim
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Park Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Park Inn Resort

Address: Sequera Vado, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#9 Luxury Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: £56 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Park Inn Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phoenix Park Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Park Hotel Candolim
Park Inn Phoenix
Phoenix Park Goa
Candolim Park Inn
Phoenix Park Inn Goa
Park Inn Candolim
Phoenix Park Inn Hotel
Phoenix Park Inn Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing