We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant”
Review of Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casablanca
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Pune, India
1 review
“Very Pleasant”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Was down recently with friends, the Resort did add to the beauty of Goa. The welcoming nature of the staff, hygiene and food was worth appreciating.
A nice place to hang out with friends..
will surely visit again.........

Room Tip: sea view from the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    219
    68
    30
    24
See reviews for
157
181
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had booked online after going through some reviews and wanted to check out a new property. However there is nothing great about the hotel. From the moment we checked in we felt something was amiss. The hotel you stay has a high bearing on your holiday and can make or break the same. The rooms we big with a sitting area and the shower was also nice. Now to the bad part. The room had a strange dampness to it and there was a strange mouldy smell which was a big put off. Also the room walls are pretty thin and you can hear a lot of noise. There are no toiletries given in be bathroom. The buffet breakfast was very simple with bread,butter ,jam,juice and one indian dish. Pool is not to great. For the amount you pay there are various better options available and one could check .would never return here nor would advise this to anyone

Room Tip: Stay away. Look for better options at that price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Had been there on 1st week of March. Though too small to be called as a resort but Its a nice and welcoming one, Rooms are specious, spotless clean and fresh. The staff is very well behaved and helpful, food too is good.

Location is excellent, just 2 to 5 mins walk for beach and market.

Defiantly a visit again place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnilPk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Arrived at about one in the morning after having to drag our cases down a lane, after being dropped off on the main road not sure why as the lane was plenty big enough for the small bus to navigate, the JIC rep left us in the lane to get to the hotel and check in on our own there were 6 off us in total. Check in took ages as the lad on duty didn't seem to know what he was doing and kept insisting we give him paperwork that none of us , this was something that could have been avoided if the rep had been with us, when we finally got to our room the first thing we found were dirty pillows which I gave to the boy to change, which he did for some that were slightly better, the other problem was the constant barking and howling of a pack of dogs near by the noise was so bad that it seemed they were in the room with us so there was no possibility of sleeping, we phoned reception several times through the early morning hours but were told they had no where else to put us. I called the rep out the following morning to see what could be done, we were finally moved to another room that afternoon, we were also supplied with 4 spanking new pillows. The rooms at this hotel are large but there is a lack of storage (no drawers) just a wardrobe, they are also very shabby and are in need of some renovation, the room boys however did a good job in keeping them clean. Not a lot of choice at breakfast and the boys on duty could be lazy unless they had someone telling them what to do. We never ate any other meals at the hotel or used the bar as the tax and service charge made it to expensive. The pool is not a bad size but the paving slabs around it were not keep clean or washed down, there were only 7 sunbeds as the area is really small.

The best thing about this hotel is the location it is within easy walking distance to both the beach and shops bars etc, but a word of warning whilst we were there two ladies from the hotel were attacked walking down the lane by persons on motor bikes snatching handbags, my advise would be not to wear chains round your neck and dont carry a bag if you dont need to and if your with a male partner always walk on the inside, this was a bit of a shock as up until now we felt safe walking around at night.

Room Tip: Avoid C 7 and 8 these are right next to the dogs who are contantly barking and howling, the best wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slopeyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Our fifth time in India me and my parents wanted to try this hotel, as the travel agency promised a "Charming and cosy atmosphare". We were for the first time in Goa disappointed. The atmosphare was not as charming as we were expecting, with a lot of tourists who only spoke their own language (I choose not to say which country they were from..) and were behaving like they were the only guests there.

The waiters were uninterested and seemed not to be used to actually having customers. They played loud music of watched tv all day. We often found rests of old food on our plates and glasses, and in the ice bucket we found ants and sand. With this being said, we complained to our travel agency, which helped slightly. At least as long as the manager was watching.

The rooms were okay, the best part was my veranda on the second floor with a slight view of the sea. My parents veranda overlooked a backyard with a cow, chickens and a rooster who woke them up every morning. However, parts of the ceiling fell down in the bathroom one day, forcing me to change rooms. Which in fact was okay, since we had had a rat on the veranda a couple of days before.

The one very positive thing were the boys cleaning our rooms. They were always smiling, being helpfull and accomodating- and making the most imaginative creatures out of towels, sarongs and bottle corks. They put a smile on our faces more than one time!

The hotel is close to the beach and a short walk from the main road, but the neighbourhood did not seem to be the best one. Two women were robbed close to the hotel the first week we stayed there.

Also, we asked if we could keep one of the rooms a little longer our last day there, since we were leaving in the afternoon. We got the answer that all rooms were booked, which was okay. The day we left, first they tried to make us leave the rooms an hour earlier, and we saw in the afternoon that my room and at least two other rooms had still not been cleaned. We wondered why we couldnt have kept one of them... Maybee because of our complaints to the travel agency..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziljah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as we got moved from the Phoenix Park for 5 nights, due yo a problem with rooms. We stayed in a large clean room that had a balcony looking out to the side if the hotel. We used to pool a couple of times after the beach and found it to be clean and tidy. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had room service one night which arrived quickly and was really nice. The hotel is well located, 2 minutes walk to the beach and 10 minutes walk to beach road where lots of bars and restaurants are. We usually walked out for a meal on the evening and got a taxi back for 100 rupees. The only downside I thought was there's not safe deposit in your room, it's behind reception which was a bit if a pain for sorting your money out. But all and all we enjoyed our unplanned stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I booked this hotel from expedia. I booked a terrace room but when i reached the hotel i was very disappointed with the room and hotel amenities.

This is what they write on travel sites-
"Overlooking the garden, this room opens to a balcony and measures 441.32 square feet (41 square meters). "

However its just a small room, there was no electricity when we reached there and also no phone facility to talk to reception. This is not what you expect from a 3/4 star hotel. The view from balcony is shabby neigbourhood. I had no option but to upgrade to a suite room for which the hotel charged heavily. Room service was also poor have to call them for every single thing.

The pool is too small and they had no pool hygiene policies. People were jumping in there night pajamas in pool and were creating a horrible environment.

Food quality was average too.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid terrace rooms completely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelIndia787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#25 of 65 in Candolim
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 65 in Candolim
1,675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#38 of 65 in Candolim
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aldeia Santa Rita
Aldeia Santa Rita
#19 of 65 in Candolim
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca

Property: Casablanca
Address: | Wadi, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
#9 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#11 Family Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location....Location....Location...Mediterranean theme boutique resort located 100 meters from the sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel Candolim
Casablanca Beach Hotel
Casablanca Beach Resort
Casablanca Beach Candolim
Casablanca Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing