We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
45
110
72
42
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
110
72
42
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscandolim beachrestaurant staffpleasant stayivopoolsidesupermarketmr
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Hotel is good, Location is very near to beach, staff is ok, bt one thing till today i am unable to understand, why hotel magmnt ppl segregates indians and foreigners.
Simple eg, Indians are not allowed to sit near pool area with b'fast but foreigners are.
While at Buffet Lunch and Dinner I've seen same discrimination.
Feels like British India Over there.
Today's scenario i dnt know what it is over there.
I went there in Feb 2008.
Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blessedapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The location is GREAT but the stay was just okay. The place was not well maintained, our room was above the restaurant and it was really noisy. Starting at 6, you could hear the cutlery and then people would be present till 11:00 am for breakfast, after which preparations for lunch would start and so on. Over all the staff was quiet noisy and often there was shouting and screaming. Pool size was okay but was really busy and full of families with shouting young kids that made relaxing near the pool impossible. If you want something walk able from the pool, I would still recommend it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Not a bad Hotel if you have a room around the Pool, friendly staff, everybody was helpful, nothing was really a problem, Restaurant food was good, Pool bar needs some work on it to make it a nice place to have a drink, it has no atmosphere. Clean Pool and Pool attendant good for helping you with sun beds. It is not the best Hotel that we have stayed in, but few complaints really, our shower was rather pathetic and dribbled out. Would probably go back here if we go back to Candolim.

Room Tip: We were in room 311 with a pool view, nice room but no Sun to the balcony. some of the rooms out back do not have much of an outlook, go for Pool view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUNSCREENZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Had initially booked Alor resort in calangute as it was under renovation , booking was moved to Alor grande .....BEWARE its not a resort ....hotel management needs some lessons in grammar & vocabulary. The hotel rooms were just okay no elevators , the staff were not helpful had to carry our own bags to 3rd floor .The bathrooms were not good , no water was coming in health faucet.
Breakfast was very bad , tasted horrible . Canned orange & mango juice were served as fresh fruit juice.Pool is not that great less 4 feet . Good for kids to play .The pool boy seem to self appointed security guard instructing guests what to do & what not even when they had not entered the pool.We received a call on the day we were supposed to check out at 9.30 AM & asked to check out 10.30 AM even when the check out was at 11.00 am mentioned in the display cards in the room .The hotel staff were really inhospitable & not courteous .Though the exp was not terrible like what others quoted ........would definitely not recommend it to anybody.

They have some differentiation here for indian guests & foreigners ......the complimentary breakfast is served in different areas for outlanders & you are not given choice of rooms if you are an indian , the staff behave indifferently to our very own people . Room service is highly tardy .

Room Tip: Dont ever go to this place ....if you still decide to go take rooms facing pools they seem to be little better
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sriharsha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We thought we had a bargain, but would rather have paid a few pounds more & had some comfort.
This is the 13th time we have been to Goa & this is the worst place we have ever stayed in. We did get used to it after a few days but if it was our first time to Goa I don't think we would gave returned.
The first room they offered us we refused, the second wasn't much better but as it was 2.30am after a 9.5 hour flight we gave in.
Paid for breakfast went down once & it was disgusting, area where they cooked looked dirty, jam was in a big bowl with no cover, had to pay for eggs. Porridge etc. only ate there once, preferred to pay local restaurants.
Never went in pool as slabs round pool we're filthy (but we do prefer the beach) so this was not an issue.
Good points were big rooms, clean sheets & towels & room cleaned every day.
We love Goa so we did get used to this accommodation but would not recommend as you can get cheaper better accommodation without pool & breakfast(which we never used)due to issues.
We found reception staff, security persons & cleaners all lovely & very helpful.
Even though I have given a poor review we did have a fantastic stay in Candolim as Alore a Grande is in an ideal positio for getting about.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathrynthegreat1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews