We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
46
110
72
42
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
110
72
42
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews candolim beach swimming pool is restaurant staff pleasant stay ivo poolside supermarket mr
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week and was not impressed at all. The hotel is actually a residential complex converted into a hotel. The rooms are very average. Some apartments have a few rooms locked. Not very clean. Restaurant area is not air conditioned. Food is very okay. No other facilities as such.
I guess it is priced cheaply so for that price it is okay but this is not the sort of place one would want to go on a holiday...

Never going back to this place for sure

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vibhavraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends.Right from the arrogant rude watchman at the entry to the rude lady manager all make your stay worst.They make you feel you are staying for free.No manners of behaving with guests.Our room's were equally bad.AC had no cooling,couldn't sleep all night in fact water leaked from it like anything, we got scared about short circuit!! and they weren't bothered.Beds dirty and so was the balcony.TV only for namesake.Bathroom was worst.Bucket couldn't be filled as the tap was somewhere and bucket couldn't be placed under it as there was a corner which didn't allow the bucket(attaching pics).Hot water was as good as cold and has timings.No water to drink.Bad lighting.Bad road's and small parking.Now coming to breakfast ,Worst of all!! All in open. Didn't notice the foreigner priority breakfast as i just vanished after seeing my breakfast,stayed hungry.The way i was handed over the token for breakfast in a rude manner was as if they are serving me good.Utterly disappointed.If only i had seen them discriminating between me and foreigner's i would have given them a peace of mind.Not all foreigners are rich and if they are then they won't come here unless they run out of luck like us(Indians).Lastly when we checked out this is funny ..Bellboy comes to check my 5 star room ..get's harrowed when he cannot find the nonworking AC remote which in under the bed sheets i bring it to his notice.Loose my patience and fire him telling him to improve overall then do all this things.Room checking at this place !!! Seriously???Never will recommend this hotel.Not even to my enemy!

Room Tip: No tip.Just bolt ..live in a shack if worst case scenario!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guddi7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
al0rgrande, Guest Relations Manager at Alor Grande Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced on the day of your arrival.
At Alor Grande Resort, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Upon thorough review of the situation, it would be a great help if you could give me your details of arrival and the room no so that I can look into the matter more seriously. Again sincere apologies.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We met family in Goa and stayed at the Alor Grande Resort for 6 nights. Was not too sure about hotel before we arrived as its not the usual place we would stay. But because we were meeting relatives there who have access to an apartment we decided to stay. We chose a ground floor room with balcony overlooking the pool and restaurant area. This is not a choice if you are looking for peace and quiet but we found it very pleasant and not too noisy in the evenings. Never had any problem with noise or sleeping. Found it really great, from the balcony we could order drinks and snacks from the bar staff, who were very attentive and polite. They would have delivered it to the room if we wanted but as we sat on the balcony it was much easier to pass it over the railings. The room was big enough for 3 adults, one double bed and one full single with 2 easy chairs small table and tv. We had a small leak in the bathroom which was fixed immediately and did not leak again during our stay. Cannot fault the cleaning staff who did a thorough job tidying up after us. Breakfast was included, if you like toast and jam or indian breakfast it was fine. We decided to pay extra for a cooked one and the poached eggs were the best I have tasted in a long while. Nothing was too much trouble for the chefs and kitchen staff who would try to please your palette with nothing too much trouble. They explained the menu fully so one could have a choice of dishes. The swimming pool was cleaned daily and had an attendant on duty all day checking guests had towels, loungers and umbrellas to hand. He kept a close eye on the pool especially the children's end and did have to jump in and rescue a small child in difficulty. The entertainment and shopping in the area around the hotel is very lively, with plenty of eating places. Went to the beach a few times, but did not spend too much time there during the day as was very hot. Overall this area is great for young and old and Goan people are very friendly and helpful . Had a wonderful time and would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparky149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

we stayed in allor grande for three days.it was a nyc experience esp d staff was gud n friendly.the person incharge of d pool was gud at his work of taking care of d pool n managing it at his best bt found it little biased.he was more friendly with d so called d white skin people.was dominating n egoistic.d rooms were clean.clean towels n daily cleaning of d washroom n bedding.breakfast was k bt nt very good n d juice served was horrible.it was so bitter.d staff knew it bt dey did nt changed n evryday dey used to serve d same.location is gud wid wnderful market outside.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitinmahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here in February, have stayed in candolim a few times before but this was 1st time at Alor Grande. Was pleasantly surprised - the room was very clean & much bigger than expected, we didn't use the pool although it looked clean & inviting but we preferred the beach. The only downside was the breakfast, all I can say is the coffee was good !
The hotel is in an excellent location, it's very close to the beach road and there's some very good restaurants just outside the hotel, jambalaya bar is virtually opposite which has live music most nights (& free wifi!).
The staff were very friendly and helpful, we had clean towels every day and bedding changed virtually every day too.
Should this hotel come up at a good price next time I'm looking to book I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank WilsonWellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews