We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect (if u keep in mind that it was in India)”
Review of Dona Alcina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dona Alcina Resort
Ranked #65 of 67 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Nice staff and good location.
Rooms - if u never been in Goa before, i guess, that u can be surprised - yes, its quiet dirty, u can find a lot of ants and linen could be with holes, BUT its India, they dont really care about how things looks like, they care about harmony and souls. So, please, just keep in mind that u will see same situation in every 1-4 stars hotels.
Location - for me - its more important. Near u can find a big supermarket Dolphin, on the reception u can change money, or u can go to the Elephant shop which is also has exchange in 3 min by foot.
Rooms are far (1 min by foot) from the road so u can sleep good without any noise. in the building just in front of the reception is the ATM. Beach is located across the road - around 5 min by feet, nice and clean.
Nice staff and good location.
Rooms - if u never been in Goa before, i guess, that u can be surprised - yes, it's quite dirty, u can find a lot of ants and linen could be with holes, BUT its India, they dont really care about how things looks like, they care about harmony and soul. So, please, just keep in mind that u will see same situation in every 1-4 stars hotels.
Location - for me - its more important. Near u can find a big supermarket Dolphin, on the reception u can change money, or u can go to the Elephant shop which is also has exchange in 3 min by foot.
Rooms are far (1 min by foot) from the road so u can sleep good without any noise. in the building just in front of the reception is the ATM. Beach is located across the road - around 5 min by foot, nice and clean.

Room Tip: do not choose rooms faced to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ekaterina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Resort location is good specially for Russian traveller,full of Russian crowed resort.in breakfast you will get 2 slice of bread and jam,butter only .Tea or coffee near swimming pool is available free in the morning with breakfast(2 breads).Reception People Tanuja and loorts are very cooperative.they'll try to serve you batter.indian family traveller might be enjoy in this resorts(coz tv is there but sometime works some time not) small shopping mall,sea beach,taxi stand,live Restaurants are in walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank sushilsakhuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed at Donna Alcina for the first time 02/11/2013 till 24/11/2013 and have just returned home having stayed in this area for the seventh time
What do people expect when going on holiday for the first time in a country that is a third world. Yes the rooms are basic but are cleaned when you put your key in the box provided at the reception desk. Pictures of the pool need to be ignored as it is crystal clear if the previous guests had asked why the pool was green they would have been told that the filtration system was at fault and has now been repaired and sorted. Staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful, if you ask they will then attend to your needs don't expect things to be done if you don't ask. If you have never been to India before then you may find it not how you would expect as things are done at India pace which is slow. Overall we found this hotel value for money and at the end of the day why would you spend more than your bedtime in the hotel apartment.

Room Tip: If you want better than you are first shown then ask don't just expect them to move you. Be poli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is terrible. First of all, all rooms are really old plus bed linen are not white and have some stains. And the worst thing that has happened to me was that i got robbed (while i was sleeping in my room). Hotel did not take any responsibility for this. Several rooms were robbed and they did not take any action.

Can't recommend this hotel to anyone. Really really bad.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DarianaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

good apartment type room... if u r backpackers then its best for u.....

studio type room like home. i read some review that its not clean...i said if u go for travel u can chose b'az it just for 3 yo 5 days only...

Room Tip: i think u can go for it .. ask for tv in room ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choksiayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Unfortunately we cant put a minus on it!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was filthy,crawling with bugs,no plates,cups not even a fridge. We had to clean our room ourselves with bug killer and Domestos etc.Although wehad exterminated the bugs it took them 4 days to sweep the dead bugs up and over 2 weeks to mop the tiled floors for the first time.We had 1 of our party nearly electrocuted in the shower so they were moved to another room & within 10 minutes of moving them out someone else was put into their old room without fixing the electics.Within a day of moving to a ground floor room they were Burgled. Another of our party ( a 62 year old woman who they knew was on her own) had an intruder who was one of the cleaners entering her room at 01.00.a.m.After a week the water in the swimming pool turned green & was unusable.Everytime we asked to see the Rep we were told they didn't have a number for him. We finally saw the Rep after nearly 2 weeks as he was at the pool so that was when we told of our complaints. He kept chasing the hotel manager up about the state of our rooms & the swimming pool which was a lovely shade of pea green.He offeredto get us a change (whether he meant rooms or hotel we dont know) but as there was only 5 days left of our holiday it wasn't worth the hassle of packing & unpacking to move.The Rep arranged for us to be able to use another hotel's pool but it still left us without the use of a pool for over a week. The Hotel staff at the reception were extremely unhelpful they had no idea of customer service. When we booked in at about 01.30.a.m. there wasn't even a bottle of water or a glass to drink it out of in our room. 1 of the cleaners did bring us a bottle of water & asked for 100 rupees or £2.00 for it. We found out in the morning they were only 30 rupees from the pool bar. So we were taken advantage of whilst we were exhausted & he even had the nerve to knock onour door at 11.00p.m. to tell us it was his birthday & hold his hand out. Anyway we wished him happy birthday & closed the door. Pretty much the holiday hotel from hell.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barryf60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We Stayed there from 22 Jan 2013 to 25 Jan 2013, when we reached at room there are so many problem in the room, such as Washroom did not had Doorknob,TV is not working properly, so we compliant regarding same to the manager, but the good thing is they solved all this problems within 2 hrs,reception service is good, Pool Game is also there with Rs.50 for 1 game and the better thing is Swimming pool with bar.
Bad Things:No Telephone, they serve only 2 pieces of bread with jam & butter in breakfast.

Note:Book Pool facing Rooms Only.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxyogesh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
1.9 mi away
Hotel Dona Terezinha
Hotel Dona Terezinha
#94 of 116 in Calangute
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#60 of 67 in Candolim
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valentines Retreat
Valentines Retreat
#53 of 67 in Candolim
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnum Resort
Magnum Resort
#59 of 67 in Candolim
113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#41 of 67 in Candolim
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saikunj Holiday Homes
Saikunj Holiday Homes
#25 of 67 in Candolim
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Alcina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Alcina Resort

Address: | Opposite Candolim Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 67 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range: £16 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dona Alcina Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dona Alcina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Alcina Hotel Candolim
Dona Alcina Candolim
Hotel Dona Alcina
Dona Alcina Hotel Goa
Dona Alcina Resorts
Dona Alcina Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing