We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dona Alcina Resort & Zo Rooms
Ranked #63 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Wakefield, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped in this hotel last year.i say hotel it's the worst I have ever stayed in, firstly the reception area is dark and very dirty when we arrived there were two men both watching tv and didn't move to attend to us they spoke in their own language laught and waited for a least 5 mins before comming over.the room was disgusting it smelt as though it had been closed for years it was so damp an dirty and it had ants in it. we went straight to complain but the man said he couldn't do anything cos it was so late at night.the next room was not much better, there were broken paths and loose handrails were ever you walked.around the pool there were workmen doin jobs in some of the rooms which were privately owned then when somebody complained the owner said he could'nt do anything coz they were private.it was like been in a building site.it is the first time ever I wanted the end of the holiday to come quickly

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 941Karen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    21
    32
    15
    47
See reviews for
14
45
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The Dona Resort Alcina is very bed Experience with our Family and she doesn't going to Goa future we hope so, the bed room is not good and Toylet and the bathroom is very bed the cleanness is very hopefully and very bed we are not happy in Dona Resort I don't think so hopefully we have a very bed experience in Goa thanks

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Hemant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

first of all I have been to india many time and I know what to expect from the hotel there but this is the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. firstly after an overnight flight there was no room available until mid afternoon which after such along flight was not good. when we did get a room I was in total shock the windows were boarded up with cardboard and by the look of it this had been like this quite some time. secondly the room stank of mould the shower curtain had 2 feet of mould all the way round the bottom of it. there was cobwebs hanging from the walls and paint was peeling of the walls. I'm not sure how this hotel has managed to get a three star rating but it's a joke. the staff on reception were rude and very unhelpful the rep from jewel in the crown was even worse saying there was no hotel rooms available in the Calangute, Baga or Candolim. best advise I can give u is buy a tent instead of staying here. in the end we had to pay for another hotel and moved out after 1 night this was not done through the rep as he didn't want anything to do with our complaint and even refused to pick us up for the return transfer to the airport, that's what you call service!!

Room Tip: buy a tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank quietman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have travelled all over the world this was the bad experience for me .The food made over there is bad and when I told the room service to bring water cause we were thirsty they gave us contaminated water so I bought a new can of water.the bathroom is small and dirty with bad odour.due to this water I fell ill.near this hotel lot of jaundice and malaria is there .sincerely if you belive in god don't visit this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fkjfqftgggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We arrived at this hotel on my first visit to Goa. We were with friends who had been before and my partner had been before. I was well prepared for visiting a third world country, however this place was something else. The reception area on arrival was filthy and the staff, to put it politely were unwelcoming. We arrived mid morning after a long trip and were told we couldn't access our room until 4pm - OK so that happens sometimes ! We asked for somewhere to get changed and leave our cases and were shown to the managers office with a glass partition, filthy and completely open to anyone passing !
When we were eventually escorted to our room, it was via overgrown crumbling pathways which were an accident waiting to happen and the bannister rails were not fastened to the wall. We had 6 flights of stairs to go up carrying our cases and the room itself was a grubby, scruffy dump. The beds were like slabs of concrete with torn mattresses and grubby sheets !! They don't tell you that if you want your towels changing or the room cleaning you must leave your key at reception
We tried breakfast once and it was inedible, the coffee undrinkable.
Candolim itself was great and with many eateries and bars, so we used the room only to sleep and shower and change and we will definitely return to Candolim. However be warned , if you are planning to spend a lot of your holiday chilling round the pool, you must DEFINATELY give this hotel a miss

Room Tip: From what I have seen there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CallyK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have been traveling to Goa for the last 13 years and have stayed in numerous accommodation. We stayed here in march 2014. to put it politely THIS HAS TO BE THE LOWEST OF THE LOW AN ABSOLUTE FILTH PIT. We checked in at 6.30am to be greated by the reception guy who was exiting the Wc after what smelt like a sewage plant and not having washed his hands. The room was described to us as one of there best rooms. If this was a best room, I wouldn't like to see a poor one. We are very broad minded about accommodation in Goa having visited over 30 times and to an extent thought we knew what we would be getting when booking this hotel.We complained about the room and were given another room facing reception on the top floor(room 210). this was only marginally better than the first room. The room was not cleaned for over 7 days, and only then after i complained to reception, which prompted them to clean the room that day and only that day.there were pigeon nesting on every available ledge, which meant that every surface below the nests were laden with droppings which were crawling with maggots. the stairwell was also covered in bird droppings from the day we arrived up to the point i complained when they cleaned it up to a fashion.
If you are unfortunate enough to find your self booked into this hotel then be warned it's a flee pit. every one we spoke to was disgusted with the hotel. even the taxi driver we have used for the last 13 years couldn't believe we had booked into this hotel

Room Tip: there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brengai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Well, wot to say really... It's our 3rd time to Goa and our 1st time in this hotel.. Wasn't expecting the ritz as it is India, however we arrived at the hotel at about 3am to the guy on reception asleep on the sofa (this is normal) he very grumpily gave us a key and called for housekeeping to take us to our room. It was on the 1st floor overlooking the pool and was very dingy, waldrobe was supposed to be white but was very badly stained a yellow colour, the mirror was distorted and was like something out of a funfair ride!! The bathroom tiles were worn, No toilet paper, No tv, we had showers and the shower head fell off the wall plus the plaster! We received No info on breakfast times or any literature of hotel facilities including safety deposit boxes etc... We found breakfast the following morning by the pool which consisted of 2 slices of toast, butter & jam (as soon as you sat down the toast arrived) u could help yourself to tea, coffee & juice. We went to reception and asked about safety deposit boxes & A/C (there is a charge for these and a deposit to pay) we only bothered with the satety box. The next day we noticed that the room hadn't been cleaned, I asked at reception and this time there was a very stroppy women working, she said "leave key, room will be cleaned" I said well maybe you should tell your guests this when they checkin! She just gave me a filthy look, I asked her for some toilet roll, she never answered and just got in the phone to someone, I asked again and she said very blountly that someone will bring us some!! The location is very central on the main road in the middle of candolim. To be honest we only spend limited time bin an hotel during bout trips to Goa... We spend the days at the beach, get a quick shower and then back out again. I am sure though that we never had the bed sheets changed ( glad we was only there for a week) would deffo not stay here gain!! All the brits complained at the hotel about something, mind you, there were far more Russians staying here that us Brits. O the beds were as hard as iron (quite normal for Goa though) One night the hotel had No water so we had to but a bottle of water and flannels from the supermarket to wash with , (nightmare) they said that it was the whole of candolim, they lied though as when we went out everywhere had water except our hotel! The sleepy man receptionist was quite nice though and helped us out with a room we we had a delay before going home.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodles74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.7 mi away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#58 of 64 in Candolim
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prazeres Resorts
Prazeres Resorts
#54 of 64 in Candolim
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ave Maria Beach Resort
Ave Maria Beach Resort
#43 of 64 in Candolim
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valentines Retreat
Valentines Retreat
#51 of 64 in Candolim
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 64 in Candolim
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Dona Terezinha
Hotel Dona Terezinha
#89 of 110 in Calangute
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Alcina Resort & Zo Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Alcina Resort & Zo Rooms

Property: Dona Alcina Resort & Zo Rooms
Address: | Opposite Candolim Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dona Alcina Resort & Zo Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dona Alcina Resort & Zo Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Alcina Hotel Candolim
Dona Alcina Candolim
Hotel Dona Alcina
Dona Alcina Resorts
Dona Alcina Hotel Goa
Dona Alcina Resort & Zo Rooms Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing