We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base”
Review of Sunset Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Beach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Good base”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

we had 2 weeks here and although we had a few nights elsewhere,mInfelt our property was nice and safe.
the hotel is in a great location, with the road leading right to the beach and tourist shops 30 secs away.
The breakfast was basic, only the toast & drinks were complimentary and the toast was a bit hard but you got used to it. Eggs etc were available and as cheap as chips.
We did not eat at The Bistro set inside the hotel as it seemed a bit quiet for us but I believe the food is excellent.
There is a nice pool towards the back which I went in in a couple of times but it was a bit quiet after being on the beach.
The staff are excellent,especially Dominic on at the evening. Totally charming.
I would stay here again as there are no major problems with the hotel at all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    78
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
113
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
lichfield staffs
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

just returned from this hotel and would not hesitate staying again, from the cleaners to the management they were a pleasure to be with, these guys will do anything to help you,advice where to go and how to get there, local foods what to eat and what not to eat, local remedies, the food the service was out of this world,and a brits only hotel, rooms cleaned every day,i can only say it was faultless, if i return to goa, i wouldnt stay anywhere else, so thanks to all staff and papa g,neil,and dominic hope to see you again,and only two mins to beach!!

Room Tip: we had 116 and just climbed over the balcony into pool!! only downside is the bloody dog next door a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lichfieldvillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We visited Candolim in Feb 2014, and had a really great holiday. Sunset Beach is an ideal location, close to beach, shops and restaurants.
Room was big and roomy with a fridge and air con included. Sheets and towels changed and room cleaned daily. What more could you ask for.
Staff were friendly, courteous and could not do enough for you.
Food and drinks in Hotel, good quality and value.
Although plenty of good restaurants closeby, the " Bistro " in the Hotel was as good as any, and better than most. Well worth a visit or two.
Thanks to all the staff for helping to make it an enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms have access to pool area. But pool can be shaded at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was our first trip to Goa, I must admit when we first got to our room which was 111, I was a bit shocked to see in one of the patio doors a pane of glass missing and a piece of cardboard in it's place, we decided not to complain we just looked at one another and said, "well it is India and laughed about it. the room was kept clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We tried the Bistro one night and had a lovely meal.We would certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This hotel was a lovely surprise. All staff were brilliant and the rooms were cleaned daily. Fridges are now free and i wouldnt bother with aircon till youve stayed there a night or two....we had it but found we didnt really need it as the fan was enough.
Although we loved our room on the 1st floor i would have preferred the ground floor as the terraces offered some shade, we couldnt sit on our balcony till after 5 o clock as the sun was belting down all day long but was funny watching the world go by from there.
Brekky was basic but you could get extras for next to nothing.... Thomas Cook guests are offered 4 free meals a week here and they were great too even though we only took advantage a couple of times.
The bar stays open as long as you are drinking, we had some very late nights/early mornings.
This is one of the only places with no wifi but everywhere else had it.
Will def book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor seem to have more shade. We stayed in room 101 on 1st floor which was noisy fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in other hotels in candolim and this is the best one yet

For goa this is a very good hotel clean rooms , comfy beds

Good food toast for breakfast but really cheap if you want anything else

Friendly staff . They are very helpful the rep is very good as well

The only downside is on a night you can here the poor entertainment from whispering palms although some of the singers are really funny

Would definatly stay here again

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pwoody700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The sunset beach is a friendly, clean hotel with great staff and close to all the action in Candolim.
The staff are friendly and polite and we had no problems at all in dealing with them, they couldn't do enough for us during our stay. (Christmas and new year 2013)
The rooms are basic, we had a room at the far end of the hotel which had a large bedroom, wet room style bathroom and double balconies. The rooms are cleaned daily and beds/towels are changed every other day. They are basic and functional with ceiling fan and air con.
The hotel serves a basic complementary breakfast but extra items can be brought at cheap prices. The hotel is about 3 minutes from the beach and 3 minutes in the other direction takes you to the main road with lots of bars and restaurants. There is a small shop right next door for water and snacks and there are 3 excellent restaurants literally next door. The bistro, Sam's curries and grills and palm-land all of which serve a great meal and good prices.
I would recommend the sunset beach, we had a lovely stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#25 of 66 in Candolim
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#16 of 66 in Candolim
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#37 of 66 in Candolim
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.9 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 66 in Candolim
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Hotel

Property: Sunset Beach Hotel
Address: Fort Aguada Road,, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We specialize in tailor-made package tours for group and individual travelers, offering a range of specially designed package tours - cultural tours, wildlife safaris, guaranteed departure, royal Rajasthan tours, golden triangle tours, airport pickup and transfer, car/coach rental services and many more..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Candolim
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Hotel Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing