We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summerville Beach Resort
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The worst experience ever”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

All the good reviews that you read about this resort are completely fake, this is the worst rip off i have ever experienced in GOA. The hotel if you term it that is an old haggard building which does not even have a proper paint job. The rooms are so tiny, that they breathe down you neck, and when we checked in the hotel (obviously misled by the rosy pictures on the net) we found out that the restuarant is under renovation and we wont even get tea in the morning, for every meal we had to go out.

Now for the room itself, as an deluxe AC studio room it boasts (read carefully) of a 0.75 ton waste of an AC and a minute 12 inch screen TV, the ipad has a bigger screen the room TV.
To continue your suffering the staff is arrogant and each one of them havent taken a bath for weeks. The day we checked in, there was another group who was shell shocked by the look of the hotel and apparently the room they had booked was not available any more.

The person at the reception says "NO" for watever you ask for and the swimming pool timings are from 09.30 pm to 5.15 pm, when the sun in goa is on your head and you wont even think about swimming.

So please for heaven's sake if you dont want to ruin your holiday avoid this hotel. The only saving grace that i can say is that the rooms were clean.

Room Tip: No tips are required as all rooms are sh**ty
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abhishek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    24
    16
    18
See reviews for
22
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The initial shock of spending a month here when booking in was horrendous, we were shown the tiniest of room, with a 12 " hanging rail and no drawers to put anything, not a one! We were moved to a larger room the following day, but still no more hanging space or drawers. We had to fight and wait a week to be moved to the larger "suit rooms" this time we had 2 12" hanging rails and 2 small drawers which was classed as an upgrade. Therefore we has to pay another £100 for the upgrade. I had to go round the shops for boxes to put my things in. Otherwise it was living out of the suitcases.

Its a shame as the staff, as in all of Goa, are lovely and do what they can to help. Hats off to Alan and Alex who were very helpful.

Shame on you owner as it would not take much to make the stay more pleasant, just a little money spent to decorate and clean the hotel properly and more thought for the requirements of the holidaymaker, which after all is the reason you have any business.

The pool was 6'5 deep in all parts, never see any chlorine, totally unsuitable for anyone to use, very dirty round the edges which in the month we were there never got cleaned once. Everything had a grubby look including the bedding and towels, although they were changed everyday. It took some getting used to! Everything is tired and shabby. This is not typical of other hotels we have been in.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank usuallyhappychappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

Shimla, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Very good hotel, neat and clean ,friendly staff ....2 min walking distance to the beach ...if we go to goa again , Will surely stay at Summerville Beach Resort ....

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooshrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Our first trip to Goa and can say it won't be out last! Alan and the boys made use feel like it was a home from home and any request was never any trouble. Yes its basic but we only needed it as a base. Their hospitality more than made up for it. Rooms are basic but are cleaned thoroughly every day. Its safe and they are always looking out for their residents. Great recommendations and a couple of lovely taxi drivers always on standby to take you any where. The guys were a great help when we were stranded due to the snow (which was a bonus for us!) Highly recommend them for their service and hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

My girlfriend and I spent two weeks in Goa recently using this hotel as a base. It was placed to one end of Candolim and everything we needed was within walking distance, if it wasn't it was no more than 100 rupees to get most places using the hotels cab drivers. I have read other reviews on here, people complaining about the breakfast and the rooms, but the rooms are adequately sized for two people and yeah the breakfast is poor, but a good breakfast somewhere else costs less than £1. The hotel is basic, but I would go there again and wouldn't mind recommending it for people travelling to Goa on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Just home from a 2 week stay with my mate big Steve. Great time was had by the two of us and although it would be easy to knock the place its not for the want of trying by the staff. Alan and his smiling posse do all that they can to be cheery, attentive ( not tentative as someone else has reported), helpful, trustworthy, dedicated and all this topped off with a daily artistic surprise on the bed. I'm not going to give the surprises away. No chance. Just go with it and enjoy the imaginative creativity. Also if you want to discuss all things cricket then Alan is the man. I'm sure he's seen day one of the Ashes at the Gabba.
For those with a slight hint of negativity about this place what do you expect for the money. For me a bed, a fan, a clean toilet, a shower, a reasonable pool for a swim, tea and toast in the morning can't be knocked. All this for about £6 a night for a twin sounds like a bargain. When you then throw in the convenience of Alma's restaurant right over the road which is basically a fantastic open air curry house, come boozer, come football theatre what more could you ask for. Even the fantastic beach can be reached in 3 or 4 minutes.
Cheap and cheerful it is. I would return without hesitation. A hotel for honeymooners or those looking for boutique / spa hotel luxury it is not. Bear this in mind folks.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gripper1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Summerville Beach Resort is the most welcoming and friendly hotel abroad I have ever stayed in. Yes, it is basic, and yes, the toast in the mornings is very hard and very cold, but the staff of the hotel more than make up for any quirky negatives (i grew to love the toast over my 3 stays here!). I visited this hotelthree times, with friends, my fiance (we got engaged out there) and my family. My little brother absolutely loved the pool, though he did need lots of inflatables as it is ridiculously deep! The rooms were always cleaned to a high standard and the staff were more than happy to help with anything. All in all, a great hotel if you are on a budget for family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambodianMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.6 mi away
Valentines Retreat
Valentines Retreat
#51 of 64 in Candolim
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#36 of 64 in Candolim
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 64 in Candolim
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.2 mi away
Xavier Beach Resort
Xavier Beach Resort
#42 of 64 in Candolim
23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ave Maria Beach Resort
Ave Maria Beach Resort
#43 of 64 in Candolim
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerville Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerville Beach Resort

Property: Summerville Beach Resort
Address: Dando Taj Holiday Village Road | Dando, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Summerville Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Summerville Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerville Beach Hotel Candolim
Summerville Beach Candolim
Summerville Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing