We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Beach Resort
Ranked #57 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Cambridgeshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great quiet base”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We loved this hotel as a base, from the mainroad there are 2 restaurants either side of the dirt road leading up to Highland Beach reception, there are various shops, bars, tailors, fruit sellers etc until you finally reach hotel but it's a friendly walk. It's a large complex but quiet & security guards patrol their areas. There are lots of men touting for Taxi's opposite reception, negotiate your price before you travel & walk away if you're not happy as there are plenty more on the main road & outside Newtons. The Tuk Tuks are cheapest, 150 rupees from Newtons to Calangute & it's also a nice walk from the beach. We stayed in rooms 1501 & 1502 and both were 2 bed, 2 shower room apartments. They are large & adequate. The rooms are cleaned daily, but if you put your suitcase under the bed then expect a dust bath when you pull it back out! The bed was rock hard so we put the sofa cushions on top & slept better on those. The aircon is very noisy in the rooms so we put it on high to chill the room then the ceiling fan was fine for us through the night. The shower is powerful but hot water doesn't last long. Theres a decent size fridge with a freezer box. The TV has a film channel. Our room was on the ground floor with a balcony over looking the pool with a shallow & deep end sunbeds are around the pool & towels are available for a refundable 100rupees, if you look after the pool man he'll collect your towels for you & put them on your sunbeds. Safety deposit boxes are free in a room next to reception but you need a padlock for them ( you can buy one in Newtons supermarket for £3-4). Staff are friendly. Inclusive breakfast is Eggs, cooked all ways, toast jam, fruit juice, tea & coffee. They have a menu with various other options & 24hr room service which is chargeable. Laundry is cheap but it took 4 days to get back even though booked 24hr service. The lady in the 1st shop as you come out of hotel complex also does laundry. Free wifi in the bar/dining/pool area outside reception. Reception will change up money for you, but you'll get a better rate at the money exchange/book loan/shop along the dirt road towards the main road, and an even better rate in Calangute. If you turn right when you come out of reception and walk down to the bottom you'll find 'Shaddy Nook', they're open til 2.30, full English with toast, jam, juice, tea or coffee 180 rupees, steakwich with fried onions £1.20. There's also a leather workshop that has handbags & purses for sale or they'll do you a made to measure leather coat, our friend had 2 jackets made for £140.
Mango Grove on main road does fantastic cocktails & the tandoori chicken is gorgeous there, clean toilets, attentive staff, free wifi & good food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ltmissluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    210
    115
    64
    64
See reviews for
115
279
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
liverpool UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks from the 6th November 2013. it is quite a large resort with 7 pools, 1 bar, 24hr room service (though we didn't use it) and a nice relaxed atmosphere. Very central location, right in the heart of Candolim. lots of bars & restaurants within 5 mins walk & only 15mins walk to the beach. The hotel is well maintained, daily maid service makes the bed & gives you fresh towels, cleans, mops & tidys round. Breakfast is basic, just eggs & toast, coffee & orange juice.
if you like a drink then Candolim is great! large gin & tonic about 80p & a litre of Kingfisher beer between 40p (Viva bar) upto about 80p, shop around. Genuine cigarettes available at the Elephant shop, 5 mins walk (its a government shop)
The beach is full of bars/shacks where you can lay on a free lounger & get waited on. Expect to pay around £10.00 for a full day eating & drinking at a beach shack. Soft drinks are actually more expensive than alcohol, Pepsi/coke 40p a bottle. Scooter hire is £2.50 a day, fill it up with petrol £3 or an open jeep is around £20 per day....we hired one for 2 days and half filled it for £10
I would recommend the Highland beach resort for couples & familys. Quiet & relaxing :)

Room Tip: We had a poolside, groundfloor room but, we were eaten alive by mosquitos so go to a higher floor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susiekenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Set just back in Candolim but walking distance to beach and bars. Clean bedding, clean room, apartment style room with 2 balconies. Lovely clean pools, pool staff excellent. Only gripe, managers need to appreciate the good hard work put in by staff, saw first hand the way they are spoken to. Excellent staff, highly under appreciated in our opinion. Would recommend hotel to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TheRutherfords15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Dont let the fancy name fool you. Apart from the proximity to Candolim Beach, there's nothing that would excite you in this 3 star hotel. Was told that the foreigners love this hotel. Precisely!!! Guess its made only for them. Separate set of breakfast sections for foreigners and indians. Food and travel are, as per my opinion,are the 2 most important aspects of any travel/travel plan.We stayed here for 3 days and had breakfast for all the 3 days. Not even a single day did we go satiated with the same. Bread toasts werent available, food lacked necessary salts, The Hotel had planned a day of sight seeing for all customers. Arrange they did but without a guide. So, now you had close to around 20 people in a bus, at the mercy of the driver, who were wandering haplessly, at every stop that the bus driver would make. Finally one of us had to take the onus of serving guide and coordinating with people on timings and locations to meet.Toilets in rooms do not have jets to wash ones bottom. (P.S: We are indians, we use water and not Tissue paper). Jets are a given in any hotel in India now.And if you sleep with the AC on and your room is fully cooled and you want to switch off the AC, you would have to get up and do it since no remote for AC's are provided.
Would not suggest this to anybody. Its a Lowland and not a Highland. A big NO

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ram376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

bolton
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hotel and staff very pleasant , very laid back, booked again for next year , plenty off pools, security was very good, manager very helpful, taxi rank just outside hotel, supermarket right outside, the elephant shop across the road from hotel to change money ,

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath_worsley693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed at Highland Beach Resort in Feb 2013. I guess the resort was originally built as a residential property since the rooms are like apartments with 2 bedrooms, kitchen and a living room. So nothing to complain about the space :)
The decor and the furniture was very basic and average. The kitchen/pantry area had a refrigerator which was stinking when we opened it. The bathroom was not cleaned when we arrived..there were foot marks all over the bathroom floor.
I was told the resort had 3 or 4 swimming pools. I saw two of those. Well maintained. There is a nice poolside restaurant. The food was decent.
Overall an average experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JarusGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days. Our stay was arranged by Bleach Tourism and we were a group of around 90 people of Jain community. The food arranged for us was Jain food and the hotel did an excellant job at that. Though we do not eat Jain food at home regularly, we could not make out that it was a pure Jain food without any potatoes, onions etc. The breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellant even being a pure Jain food.
The service quality of the staff was also very good. You just had to call once at the reception and the task was done.
The 2 swimming pools that we used were good. There are 7 swimming pools in the property as per their website though we did not get time to locate all of them. We used the 2 adjacent to our rooms. There was always staff around the swimming pool to help.
All in all it was an excellant stay and everyone of us enjoyed at the hotel.
There were geysers in the bathrooms for hot water.
We had travelled with our two kids age 4 and 7 and both enjoyed their stay at the hotel.
We had stayed in room no. 803 which has two bedrooms. One bedroom had A.C. other did not have A.C.
The location was in the mid of candolim so candolim beach was just 5-10 minutes of walking distance. Also just outside the hotel there were rental shops for renting two wheelers those who want to move about on their own. Nearby was a restaurant and bar named Fisherman's Cove. Live music is played in the evenings there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnandDNanavati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#25 of 65 in Candolim
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#38 of 65 in Candolim
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
#15 of 65 in Candolim
1,225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 65 in Candolim
1,674 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aldeia Santa Rita
Aldeia Santa Rita
#19 of 65 in Candolim
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Beach Resort

Property: Highland Beach Resort
Address: Near Primary Health Center, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Beach Resort is an all suite property situated at Candolim, Goa. A 3 star property, it is spread over a vast 8 acres and offers multiple swimming pools and all other modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Highland Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Beach Hotel Candolim
Highland Beach Candolim
Highland Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing