We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good clean hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highland Beach Resort
Ranked #52 of 69 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed 27 January 2009

This was our 3rd visit to Goa and i must say that i agree with gabilondon`s review concerning the pools they did clean them while in use during the day and there were lots of bugs and flies in 4 of the pools for most of our stay the best by far was the pool situated across the road from the main block . The staff in reception said it was due to the pumps being broken and they were waiting for new ones to be delivered ! That said we much prefer to go on the beach as it is more 'entertaining ' and you learn more about Goa and its people there . The rooms at the Highland are by far the best we have stayed in and very clean by Goan standards . They were cleaned every day and linen changed every other day and clean towels every day. Our room was big , 2 bedroom , each with a shower and toilet a lounge and a kitchen and A/C in each of them along with fans in every room. Friendly staff who greet you with hello every day and the breakfast was good, you can have an english if you prefer or just order bacon and eggs for a small charge (app. 80 rupees). If your there around 4.30pm watch out for the samosa man on his bike and dont be afraid to try some cos they are delicious you will hear him honking his horn as he rides through the complex to the main road. We dont use the travel company for tours instead it is far cheaper to hire a taxi and just as informative . My favourite beach is Mandrem about 40 mins ride away and will provide you with an in sight to local life in villages on the way. Watch out for the laundry where you can see all the towels hanging on the lines to dry in the fields. we had an excellent meal at East meets West in Baga but a bit closer to home is Foxy's just up the road from the hotel it doesn't look much but his King momo steak is excellent and well worth the 300 rupees. Try the carvery on beach road where you will be made very welcome by Ram the owner. Bonos shop is just to the left on the main road and if he doesn't sell it no one will he also gives a good exchange rate too ! The Arabian Shack is a good place to be on the beach, you can watch the parasailing and see the dolphins from the beach if your there early enough ! Once again we had a fantastic holiday in Goa and will be back to stay at the Highland next year . Happy holidays to all of you lucky enough to staying in this fantastic and friendly place.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirlyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2009

Stayed 2 weeks from Nov 10 to 25th 2008. Bargain last minute holiday. Arrived at Hotel and was given room on ground floor which was very poor, damp smell, shower not working (just a trickle) and toilet cistern leaking. Went to reception who asked me to return next morning, which I did, and I have to say that they dealt with this efficiently. Was moved to 1st floor room (604) which was a massive improvement. Very clean, lockable wardrobe, separate living area, lovely balcony overlooking road. We did not eat at the hotel, so cannot comment on food.

LOCATION
Side road off main Calangute Road, just past Fishermans Cove restaurant. Location was very good, with lots of restaurants and shops just outside on main road, and just past large supermarket which sold everything.

The hotel is very large with about 5 phases of blocks, and some building work is still going on, but this does not infringe at all. A lot of the apartments are privately owned, with repeat visitors, mainly British. Pools look very nice in the centre of each block.

GOA
This was our second trip to Goa, the 1st time we had mixed feelings, it is a culture shock at first, but once you get over that, and look beyond it, you will have a fantastic time. Eat at some fantastic restaurants, Fiesta, I95, Brittos, all of which I will highly recommend. Our favourite Beack Shack is the Sky Lark which is on Baga beach. Superb, in fact, absolutely brilliant, service excellent, and prices to match. Monty for the massage, Lisa for the fresh fruit, Lakshmi for the nail painting. They are all great lads, Jo and Cedric who are brothers who own the place are very welcoming and accommodating.

GETTING AROUND
Taxi and Tuk Tuks are cheap. We hired bikes (about £3 per day) for the duration of the holiday which is an experience in itself. Roads are VERY busy and they have no road sense whatsoever, but by the second day, you do what the locals do, and ignore everything you were taught in the highway code. Roundabouts are anyone's right of way, in fact you approach it, and keep going, and sometimes stop in the middle to give way. Will be going again to Goa next year, and I would stay at the Highland Beach again. The people of Goa are very friendly and polite.

Do try Molly Malone's - great Irish bar with entertainment. Praynot's - great English owned cafe - food is superb.

DO NOT go all inclusive, complete waste of money, and you really need to experience all the great restaurants, Bars and beach shacks to love the Goa that I do.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lady_well_travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We have just got back from a 2 week holiday at Highland Beach.

The rooms were very big and spacious but were not clean. Throughout our 2 week stay the bed was changed once and the towels were always stained and smelt fusty.
The floors were not clean and the room was never dusted.
Our room was also next to a very noisy generator.

The hotel has 3 swimming pools all of which were aways full of flies and bugs. The staff would clean the pool during the day whilst in use and one day scrubbing the inside whilst people were swimming. Also after cleaning the floors around the pool the dirty water was pushed into the swimming pool!!!

Breakfast was egg, egg, egg. All very good but after 2 weeks a bit boring.
Poolside snacks are bad and i would steer clear of these. A cheese and onion toastie consisted of cheese and a whole onion not melted on rubbery toast.

I would not recommend this hotels to couples as it was mainly families and alot of screaming children.

The waiting staff were very friendly and helpful although reception we not at all.

The only good thing about this hotel was the location and New Years Eve entertainment was fun and they made a real effort.

We had a brilliant time in Goa and will go back but will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GabiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

My partner and I have just come back from one of the best holidays we have ever had.

If you are going expecting luxury then Goa is definately not the place for you.

The Highland Beach Resort is not an English 3 star hotel by any means, but it's clean and at the end of the day, all you eally need is a hot shower and somewhere to lay your head!

The staff are really freindly and cannot do enough for you.

The breakfast was really poor. Eggs, Eggs and more bloody eggs, together with cold hard toast, and that was it! This was the only thing that really let them down.

We did a trip to the waterfalls and the spice plantation, and an elephant ride and bath and used Mr Paul from the taxi rank straight outside the hotel. It only cost us 1500 rupees for the whole day which was so juch cheaper than using the rep, which would have cost us £110!!!

There is now security on the Candolim beach so you don't get any hassle from the sellers any more trying to ply you with their goods!

The best beach shack was 'Bono's'. We went here every day - free sunbeds and the food and service excellant.

One of the best restaurants was Inferno - packed everynight and so cheap.
We were having 3 course meals [including steaks and drinks] for £8 for 2 people!

Overall - we absolutely loved the place and will definately be back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mongyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Highland beach resort is a georgoues hotel, and never ending space with its 4 very cleaN pools and a very attentive pool attendent who delivers you clean fresh pool towels on evry visit. The hotel is kept immaculate in the rooms and the grounds by very friendly staff who bid you a smile and a good morning evry day on the way to breakfast. The rooms are huge and my kids had their own bathroom which thrilled them. Room service is swift and laundry is great. Entertainment is chilled and you cannot help but relax in the peace of this hotel. We had a brilliant 16 days here and would definately recommend it to anyone. Excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolaRetford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

The complex is huge, 4 big blocks, 3 pools, a bar, 2 restaurants.

After reading all the reviews I was a bit nervous at opening the room door. Well I was shocked to find, a large lounge, kitchen (fridge & sink) 2 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms & 2 balconies… this was for 2 people. My fiance’s parents had the same sized room. Very clean, bed sheets maybe a little off colour but most definitely clean. Air conditioning in one of the bedrooms and fans in all other rooms. Bathrooms are like wet rooms, water goes everywhere when having a shower, so we used one for showering and the other for everything else.

Security Office in the centre of the complex has roughly about 20 security guards who are from Nepal and are in army uniform. You feel very safe.

Next to reception is the locker room, take your own padlock. The porters are also locker room attendants, always happy to see you!!

Breakfast was ok if you like eggs…. You can have fried eggs (sunny side up), scrambled egg, boiled egg, poached egg, and omelette. Occasionally there is some kind of curry. We asked for bacon one morning (which we had to pay for) it arrived and smelt of old pig, I nearly threw up and sent it back. So most days we went to Jazz corner for breakfast.

Highland Beach is in a very good location for everything.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank adam-silver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

we have Enjoyed great holiday at Highland beach resort calangute Goa, in the month of auguest and indian festival of Janmashtmi, We have reached there and they have welcomed us with juice and breakfast, with get together and grand welcome party, they have offered great room with porch and all other amenities such as Television with Cable connection, Phone, very big bathroom with bath tub for couple, and beautiful gardening in front of room, We have enjoyed our honemoon with great enjoyment. They have also offered breakfast, dinner and lunch at room, The room is fully furnished and centrally a/c. The hotel has another amenties such as Jacuzi, Steam bath, Swimming pool, Games , Bar and disco theque

The beach is almost walking distance from hotel, the food at hotel is very good and enjoyable, They are also offering local sight seeing free of for two days

so next time when I go to goa , then I definetely like to stay at High land beach resort

Prashant Doshi
prashantbd@gmail.com

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank prashantbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.6 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#22 of 69 in Candolim
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#34 of 69 in Candolim
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#17 of 69 in Candolim
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baywatch Express
Baywatch Express
#18 of 69 in Candolim
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.7 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 69 in Candolim
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Beach Resort

Address: Near Primary Health Center, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: £43 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Beach Resort is an all suite property situated at Candolim, Goa. A 3 star property, it is spread over a vast 8 acres and offers multiple swimming pools and all other modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Highland Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Beach Hotel Candolim
Highland Beach Candolim
Highland Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing