We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good base for Candolim , no complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Highland Beach Resort
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“good base for Candolim , no complaints”
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We stayed for Xmas and New Year and were very happy with all aspects of the hotel. The reception staff were friendly and polite, the breakfast was basic as it always is in Goa but was okay and it was pleasant to sit out by the pool while eating it.

Our room was huge with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a lounge area and 2 balconies it was no. 1105 , it was always kept clean , no complaints at all.
We are hoping to return in 2010.

  • Liked — quiet location , but very close to resort centre. Huge room.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleyVManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    212
    116
    65
    65
See reviews for
117
281
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
west mids
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Totally awfull the worst hotel with the worse service we have ever stayed in!

lets start with the rooms, huge, two double bedrooms both on suite, huge living area huge kitchen with table and 4 chairs 3 balconies the biggest hotel room we have ever stayed in - but filthy and cleaned 4 times in 2 weeks!
Bed linen changed not once in 2 weeks.
Towels filthy and marked.
constant leak on the toilet for 2 weeks despite 5 complaints due to the brown thick river we had running from the loo to the shower!
No hot water
No towels on many occasions with an hours wait for some to be delivered
non flushing loo for 3 days
no water for 2 days
If you do complain they do NOTHING you complain again they do NOTHING in the end you give up and live with it!
breakfast was eggs any way you wanted them and cold hard toast nothing else!

we go to goa lots i understand it's a third world county and i really do not moan or sit down and write reviews but my goodness this is a slum not a hotel BEWARE!!!!!!

We stayed in room 4060 a new block and obviously not finished, my brother stayed in 206 right by reception he had a completly different holiday and could'nt praise the place enough he had a 5* experience whist we had a 0* experience. do not let the hotel put you so far away in the new blocks you are forgotten about and do not recieve the service you get nearer the main blocks.
I would never stay here again if it was offered free

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0121tomla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

Melbourn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

If you arrive by coach be warned you get dropped off on main rd approx 200yrds from hotel and have to carry your own cases, this is due to no access for large vehicles.
We were given room 5205 which is the block furthest from the main hotel (another 400yrd walk).
Our room looked great, large living space, two large en-suite bedrooms, kitchen and balconies. On closer inspection we realised it had not been cleaned, fridge still contained rotting food from previous occupant. Our porter then said we had been put in the wrong room and moved us downstairs to room 5202.
The fridge was empty but on checking the bathroom saw that there was urine on the toilet seat, we told the porter and made three further calls regarding this all ignored till the following day when the room was cleaned as normal.
We had views front and rear, the back of a supermarket at the front and a run down shack at the rear which is oddly in the centre of a new complex.
During the stay the room was only slightly cleaned now and again at various times, four day gap was longest.
It was a lottery as to whether we had clean towels or any at all, on one occasion we were given just floor mats!
We had 6 blackouts in our block (not the rest of the town) and had to make numerous calls to get anything remedied, on one occasion reception hung up on me twice!
As mentioned earlier the pools away from the main block were covered in a crust of dead insects. There were never any pool towels, indeed once i walked to the main block to get some towels but was refused as they thought I was taking them to the beach!
Also be aware that the rooms are locked with a sliding bolt and padlock which apparently is quite common in the area, however one night some idiot bolted us into our room, we called reception and waited for a considerable time to be released, thankfully a passing resident came to our rescue. Fortunately there was no fire or other emergency.
To cap it all on the final two nights the two room directly above us were were used to host an extremely loud party till early morning, not just in the room but between the rooms and on the stairs, there was shouting, screaming, running up and down the stairs, bangra music at the loudest volume possible, it took 4 calls to get the noise reduced. On the last night we had to get up at 3am to get our flight and eventually gave up on any sleep, reception told me the rooms above were celebrating a birthday and could I not tolerate it for one night!
This isn't our first trip to Goa and we fully appreciate the limitations of Indian hotels however on all previous visits the one thing we were always able to rely on was the service and that is the one area we felt we were badly let down at the Highland.
In my opinion the hotel has expanded beyond its ability and people on the furthest edges of the complex are forgotten.

  • Liked — The rooms spacious in a good location
  • Disliked — Service, cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank global-gypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2009

This was our 3rd visit to Goa and i must say that i agree with gabilondon`s review concerning the pools they did clean them while in use during the day and there were lots of bugs and flies in 4 of the pools for most of our stay the best by far was the pool situated across the road from the main block . The staff in reception said it was due to the pumps being broken and they were waiting for new ones to be delivered ! That said we much prefer to go on the beach as it is more 'entertaining ' and you learn more about Goa and its people there . The rooms at the Highland are by far the best we have stayed in and very clean by Goan standards . They were cleaned every day and linen changed every other day and clean towels every day. Our room was big , 2 bedroom , each with a shower and toilet a lounge and a kitchen and A/C in each of them along with fans in every room. Friendly staff who greet you with hello every day and the breakfast was good, you can have an english if you prefer or just order bacon and eggs for a small charge (app. 80 rupees). If your there around 4.30pm watch out for the samosa man on his bike and dont be afraid to try some cos they are delicious you will hear him honking his horn as he rides through the complex to the main road. We dont use the travel company for tours instead it is far cheaper to hire a taxi and just as informative . My favourite beach is Mandrem about 40 mins ride away and will provide you with an in sight to local life in villages on the way. Watch out for the laundry where you can see all the towels hanging on the lines to dry in the fields. we had an excellent meal at East meets West in Baga but a bit closer to home is Foxy's just up the road from the hotel it doesn't look much but his King momo steak is excellent and well worth the 300 rupees. Try the carvery on beach road where you will be made very welcome by Ram the owner. Bonos shop is just to the left on the main road and if he doesn't sell it no one will he also gives a good exchange rate too ! The Arabian Shack is a good place to be on the beach, you can watch the parasailing and see the dolphins from the beach if your there early enough ! Once again we had a fantastic holiday in Goa and will be back to stay at the Highland next year . Happy holidays to all of you lucky enough to staying in this fantastic and friendly place.

  • Liked — the cleanliness of rooms and situation
  • Disliked — dirty pools
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirlyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Stayed 2 weeks from Nov 10 to 25th 2008. Bargain last minute holiday. Arrived at Hotel and was given room on ground floor which was very poor, damp smell, shower not working (just a trickle) and toilet cistern leaking. Went to reception who asked me to return next morning, which I did, and I have to say that they dealt with this efficiently. Was moved to 1st floor room (604) which was a massive improvement. Very clean, lockable wardrobe, separate living area, lovely balcony overlooking road. We did not eat at the hotel, so cannot comment on food.

LOCATION
Side road off main Calangute Road, just past Fishermans Cove restaurant. Location was very good, with lots of restaurants and shops just outside on main road, and just past large supermarket which sold everything.

The hotel is very large with about 5 phases of blocks, and some building work is still going on, but this does not infringe at all. A lot of the apartments are privately owned, with repeat visitors, mainly British. Pools look very nice in the centre of each block.

GOA
This was our second trip to Goa, the 1st time we had mixed feelings, it is a culture shock at first, but once you get over that, and look beyond it, you will have a fantastic time. Eat at some fantastic restaurants, Fiesta, I95, Brittos, all of which I will highly recommend. Our favourite Beack Shack is the Sky Lark which is on Baga beach. Superb, in fact, absolutely brilliant, service excellent, and prices to match. Monty for the massage, Lisa for the fresh fruit, Lakshmi for the nail painting. They are all great lads, Jo and Cedric who are brothers who own the place are very welcoming and accommodating.

GETTING AROUND
Taxi and Tuk Tuks are cheap. We hired bikes (about £3 per day) for the duration of the holiday which is an experience in itself. Roads are VERY busy and they have no road sense whatsoever, but by the second day, you do what the locals do, and ignore everything you were taught in the highway code. Roundabouts are anyone's right of way, in fact you approach it, and keep going, and sometimes stop in the middle to give way. Will be going again to Goa next year, and I would stay at the Highland Beach again. The people of Goa are very friendly and polite.

Do try Molly Malone's - great Irish bar with entertainment. Praynot's - great English owned cafe - food is superb.

DO NOT go all inclusive, complete waste of money, and you really need to experience all the great restaurants, Bars and beach shacks to love the Goa that I do.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady_well_travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We have just got back from a 2 week holiday at Highland Beach.

The rooms were very big and spacious but were not clean. Throughout our 2 week stay the bed was changed once and the towels were always stained and smelt fusty.
The floors were not clean and the room was never dusted.
Our room was also next to a very noisy generator.

The hotel has 3 swimming pools all of which were aways full of flies and bugs. The staff would clean the pool during the day whilst in use and one day scrubbing the inside whilst people were swimming. Also after cleaning the floors around the pool the dirty water was pushed into the swimming pool!!!

Breakfast was egg, egg, egg. All very good but after 2 weeks a bit boring.
Poolside snacks are bad and i would steer clear of these. A cheese and onion toastie consisted of cheese and a whole onion not melted on rubbery toast.

I would not recommend this hotels to couples as it was mainly families and alot of screaming children.

The waiting staff were very friendly and helpful although reception we not at all.

The only good thing about this hotel was the location and New Years Eve entertainment was fun and they made a real effort.

We had a brilliant time in Goa and will go back but will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Liked — New Years Eve entertainment
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GabiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

My partner and I have just come back from one of the best holidays we have ever had.

If you are going expecting luxury then Goa is definately not the place for you.

The Highland Beach Resort is not an English 3 star hotel by any means, but it's clean and at the end of the day, all you eally need is a hot shower and somewhere to lay your head!

The staff are really freindly and cannot do enough for you.

The breakfast was really poor. Eggs, Eggs and more bloody eggs, together with cold hard toast, and that was it! This was the only thing that really let them down.

We did a trip to the waterfalls and the spice plantation, and an elephant ride and bath and used Mr Paul from the taxi rank straight outside the hotel. It only cost us 1500 rupees for the whole day which was so juch cheaper than using the rep, which would have cost us £110!!!

There is now security on the Candolim beach so you don't get any hassle from the sellers any more trying to ply you with their goods!

The best beach shack was 'Bono's'. We went here every day - free sunbeds and the food and service excellant.

One of the best restaurants was Inferno - packed everynight and so cheap.
We were having 3 course meals [including steaks and drinks] for £8 for 2 people!

Overall - we absolutely loved the place and will definately be back!

  • Liked — The location was excellant
  • Disliked — The beds are rock hard
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mongyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#25 of 66 in Candolim
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#37 of 66 in Candolim
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#16 of 66 in Candolim
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#20 of 66 in Candolim
434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aldeia Santa Rita
Aldeia Santa Rita
#18 of 66 in Candolim
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Beach Resort

Property: Highland Beach Resort
Address: Near Primary Health Center, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Beach Resort is an all suite property situated at Candolim, Goa. A 3 star property, it is spread over a vast 8 acres and offers multiple swimming pools and all other modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Highland Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Beach Hotel Candolim
Highland Beach Candolim
Highland Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing