We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round OKAY hotel”
Review of Sonesta Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Inns
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All round OKAY hotel”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for three nights of which the WiFi didn't work at all whilst there. The guys on reception are not the friendliest hotel workers. The rooms were pretty basic, and that's for a suite. The location is fabulous, a stones throw from the beach. walk down the pathway at back and it leads straight to the beach, Floyd's Hut is great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leila221984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We thankyou for your feed back and our apologizes for unfriendly behaviour of the front office staff
We will try our level best to improvise the same on a war footing.
Thankyou once again and hope to see you soon
Jose De Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    280
    72
    25
    12
See reviews for
217
227
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was our first trip to Goa, although we do travel in India fairly regularly. I spent many hours trawling Trip Advisor making the decision between North and South and then where to stay. The Forums were fantastic for advice and our decision to stay in Candolim was absolutely the right one - we loved it. Lively and fun, but not crazy like Calangute.

I was also tossing up among about three hotels and am so pleased that I chose the Sonesta. The other two I was considering did not have direct beach access, and I would have felt very disappointed if I had ended up at either of those.

We loved the Sonesta - check in was efficient and whilst not overly friendly, that's okay. All other staff we encountered - around the pool, at breakfast, housekeeping - were very friendly and helpful. We chose a suite and it was a fantastic room - so much room, with a separate sitting area - which we didn't really use to be honest - but it was nice to have the extra space. We lucked out with a room on the Ground Floor right by the pool, so sitting out on our balcony was really pleasant (Room 107 for reference). The room itself was spotlessly clean and the a/c worked a treat. The only slight complaint I have is that towards the end of our week (when the hotel got busier) hot water was a little hit and miss - it had been fine the first few days when there weren't quite so many guests.

The pool area is gorgeous - plenty of pool chairs and umbrellas are put up at your request. We never found that the pool got too noisy either, which was a bonus. Breakfast was also great and I agree with a previous reviewer saying they can't believe that other reviewers found it lacking. There was an egg chef - so you could have eggs however you liked every morning - the indian selection was yummy and changed daily (although I know some folks want a western breakfast) - there was plenty of bread to toast, fruit and juices available - so not sure what else could be provided to be honest (it is India after all).

Anyway the best thing about this place was the beach access - a short 5 minute stroll through the pleasant gardens to the beach. Then the best bit - Floyds Beach Shack to the left hand side right outside the Sonesta gate - perfect! We ate at Floyds every lunch time and the food was great - plenty of it, cheap and the beer always cold. We didn't eat at the restaurant at all, but did have nibbles from there one night by the pool with cocktails and they were amazing - in fact probably the best nibbles we had on our whole trip. Give the chicken lollipops a go - delicious! I also used the spa on site for a head massage/facial and it was excellent.

The other thing we loved about Sonesta was its location in relation to the main road - it was about a 10 minute walk down a quiet road, so there was very little noise at the resort at any time. This was a huge bonus - no honking horns, no traffic noise - it was perfectly peaceful. We also ate at Harmony Bistro across the road, but I have to say I was very unimpressed with the food there - it was okay but nothing out of the ordinary.

Our favourite bar in the evenings was Fisherman's Cove and one of the best meals we had was at a fine dining restaurant across the road from Fisherman's - can't recall the name right now - maybe Maharaja something or other - their claim was dine like royalty - and the meal was excellent. Not cheap by Indian standards, but very cheap by aussie standards for what we got.

My other tip is hire a bike/scooter. This made getting around really easy and while I never thought you would get me on a bike in India, I was proven wrong. It was a little scary at first but once I got used to it I loved it. The freedom it gave us was fantastic - we rode up to Anjuna one day, down to Calangute and didn't have to negotiate taxi/tuk tuk fares - bonus!!!

So I highly recommend the Sonesta - we will certainly be staying there on our next trip and for longer - the worst bit was leaving after only a week!

Room Tip: Any room would be okay I would think - and pay the extra for a suite, the bit more space is well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thankyou for writing such a descriptive feed back,we will definitely look into the issues highlighted in your review
We Thankyou for choosing to stay at Sonesta and look forward to see you soon
Jose De Souza G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

All in all a very nice and well maintained hotel at a good location with comfortable rooms.
Two complaints:
1. The front desk was very unfriendly and curt at check-in time
2. Breakfast at 07.30? We had to leave at 08.00 for a tour but the breakfast buffet was still not finished... Moreover, for a hotel with almost exclusively European guests, the breakfast menu was poor.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thankyou for your review and we wll definitely improvise on the service of the front office staff
Jose De Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Sonesta Inns and really enjoyed our time there. We have always stayed in South Goa before and decided to 'risk' a stay in the North. We were not disappointed with this hotel at all. I was so surprised at the good quality of the rooms especially as this has only 3*, it seems must better than this. Without exception the staff were all very friendly and professional. I am surprised at the negative comments about breakfast, I always found that there was plenty to eat: fresh fruit, the Indian options changed daily and were very tasty. I must make a special mention of Albert who was there to oversee the smooth running of breakfast and who genuinely cared that everyone had what they needed. We did not eat dinner here as we like to explore the area but other holidaymakers who did enjoyed it. Opposite the hotel is Harmony Bistro, which is one of the top spots to eat, it is lovely. Also try: Souyman's kitchen for fine dining and a chance to dress up a bit. Bobs Inn for the atmosphere and Angaara (spelt Angara on Tripadvisor reviews).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BestKeptWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thankyou for choosing to stay with us and look forward to see you once again on your next visit
Jose De Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We wouldn't normally risk 3* in Goa but the reviews here & the location sold it to us. We weren't disappointed. I've not a lot to say that's not been said already. From the warm welcome on arrival to the smiling faces of all staff & guests, we loved it. Summing up:
Great pool
Great rooms
Great location
Great food esp breakfasts
Great staff
Punches well above its 3* rating

Complaints?
Bathroom light a bit dim to shave!
Fridge goes off when you remove key card.
No beach towels even though hotel is on the beach.

We can live with these!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alwayslooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We have already rectified the issues raised in your feed backs
Thankyou and all the very best
Jose Desouza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights and three days. The most amazing thing about the hotel is that its barely couple of minutes walk from the beach. Rooms are excellent with private balconies. Pool is well maintained where you can enjoy the bar service too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KunwarSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thankyou for a beautiful review and hope to see you soon
Jose Desouza G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We visited Sonesta inns with family and kids. The children had a lovely time. With the baby pool and lifeguard, it was peace of mind for us.
Rooms were good and equipped with all basic amenities.
Bathrooms were clean, though we did face a problem with some drainage stink. We resorted to leaving the exhaust fan switched on at all times.
Staff is attentive and prompt.
Cleaning crew were not upto the mark and we had to recall them to clean the rooms.
Hotel is absolute value for money.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank riya2677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks for your feed back,we will definitely improvise on the service of the cleaners in the room
Jose Desouza G.M Sonesta Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.9 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 65 in Candolim
1,675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 65 in Candolim
960 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
1.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#8 of 65 in Candolim
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Inns

Property: Sonesta Inns
Address: Anna Vaddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#10 Family Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta Inns 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star resort in Goa with a perfect beachside location on the beautiful stretch of Candolim's Golden Sands, an ideal place to relax. Tastefully arranged around a vast central pool area, a gently shelving expanse of sand and garden runs from the grounds to the warm waters of the Arabian Sea, the scene of a spectacular sunset almost every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Inns Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Candolim
Candolim Sonesta
Sonesta Inns Hotel Goa
Sonesta Inns Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing