We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd visit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonesta Inns
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, Angus
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“3rd visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Coming to the end of our third stay of 3 weeks in the Sonesta. In the Geetanjali Suite which is amazing. 45x15 metres. Four poster bed! Beautifully furnished. As ever the service in the Sonesta is brilliant. Staff are very friendly and helpful. There have been comments in the past about the reception staff but they can't be more helpful. I booked direct by email and responses were prompt and professional. Already planning next year's visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HesterDundee_Angus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We Thankyou for penning your feed back on trip adviser,This is something that motivates us to ensure much better service to our guests
Look forward to see you soon
Jose De Souza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    267
    70
    22
    11
See reviews for
198
223
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in the 3 BR apartment for 4 nights over the Christmas period. It is very basic and designed for the long stay guest who brings their own mod cons. However very clean and comfortable. It has rooms on 3 different levels with stairs obviously involved so can be cumbersome when luggage and kids are involved.

We had a look at the luxury rooms and the suites surrounding the beach and they were definitely of a higher standard than the 3BR apartment and will be where we will stay next time we are there.

Great pool area. Pool is too deep for 5-6 year olds but its still a nice area and if they can swim not a problem. Kids pool is too small though and the spa is pay per use.

Breakfast is good. Otherwise food is basic and portions small and nothing to write home about given the multitude of great food choices nearby.

Staff were great particularly the lovely ladies at the reception who took my argumentative nature in their stride and provided a great service.

Access to the beach is direct but the path to the beach through the shrubbery could do with some attention. Everyone said the northern beaches were crowded but at this stage that seems to start at Calangute which is the next beach. This one was still relatively quiet and very beautiful. Watched the dolphins from he shack on the beach the first day we were there.

We will be definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: The suites are big enough for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Probal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thankyou for writing a review on trip advisor,we agree with you that the villas are basic and hence the price
We will definitely improve on the quality of food and the portioning
Jose Dsouza G.m Sonesta Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

It was time to visit Goa for the 3rd time in the year 2013 as my parents really wanted to pay it a visit after a gap of 2 years. So began the search for a new property to stay in. I had always wanted to stay in Sonesta inn but somehow I would end up finding better deals at other places but not this time. So here goes my review in detail..

1. Hotel property & location: I always look for a beach side property in Goa and this one fit the bill. The hotel is located around 150 meters from the main road. One has to take the road just opposite Le Seasons hotel leading to the beach side. The main road is a good 5-7 min walk from the property. All that you need which maybe supermarket, restaurants, ATMs etc, is all within a minute’s walk once you are on the main road. There are car and bike rental people just outside the property which proves to be very convenient. We ended up hiring a wagon r for Rs.1250 a day which I thought wasn’t all that great a bargain but it would do.
Once you enter the property, you don’t really get a very welcoming feeling at the reception as its ordinary and the check in took around 15 mins which I consider long as we were the only ones at that time. The main property looks quite nice with white washed buildings surrounding the pool. The pool is of decent size, free form in shape and well maintained. There are sunbeds all around the pool with plenty of palm trees and greenery around the central courtyard. The nearby open bar wasn’t operational. We checked out the gym which is quite basic and very small but good enough for a holiday workout. The spa too was not operational which was disappointing as we were looking forward to utilizing it. There is a path within the hotel premises leading to the beach. It would take around 2-4 minutes from your rooms to reach the beach which was deserted during our visit as it was still not season time in October. Along the path you will find a lawn area which can be utilized for playing outdoor games.

2. Accommodation: We had booked two suite rooms for which we got a good deal on agoda and this was one of the primary reasons for booking this property. The suite rooms are of decent size (probably around 45 sqm) and are divided into a living room and the bedroom. I liked the layout of the room and even the interior designing. Bathroom was decent, was stocked with toiletries and had a bath tub. Bed was quite comfortable and the linen seemed of good quality. All these rooms had a nice balcony but it didn’t really provide you privacy as the balconies of adjacent rooms are close by and if you are facing the pool side, you anyways won’t have any privacy. There was a 32” flat tv with decent number of channels. There is luggage rack, wardrobe, tea-coffee maker, cups, glasses and an iron along with an ironing board in the room as well. The living room had a sofa set, mini bar and a dining table for four. Portion of the wall dividing the living room and bedroom was made of seethrough glass which was a nice touch to the room. Some parts of the rooms had bad patches where the walls were peeling off badly and this was a major let down considering the suite was nice.

3. Staff and service: The staff didn’t appear to be very friendly and hardly smiled. There was just one exception who was being genuinely nice while leading us to our rooms. The folks at reception area should really make an attempt to make the guests more welcomed. The room service was decent and took an acceptable time to get us what we ordered.

4. Restaurant and food: Neither did I try the complimentary breakfast nor the restaurant food hence I can’t really comment on it. My parents had lunch at the restaurant on the last day and they didn’t enjoy it at all saying it was mediocre at the best.

5. Overall: Though the property is decent, I don’t regard it as value for money. I don’t think I will be returning to the property though you guys can give it a try as opinions differ from person to person.

Room Tip: Get a pool facing room but book much in advance. The other rooms, north side of the hotel, face a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
we are extremely sorry for your c/in took a lot of time and for the behavioural attitude of the front office staff
We have taken this matter very seriously and live no stone unturned to change the attitude and the friendly nature of the front office staff
We look forward to seek an opportunity to serve you again
With sincere apologizes
Jose Desouza G.M Sonesta Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent an enjoyable week over Christmas. The facilities were excellent: rooms comfortable and spacious; pool great and managed well; restaurant and bar both very pleasant and run well. Meals good and staff courteous and efficient; nothing was too much trouble. Close to good beach: golden sand, warm seas and good food and drinks.
We would return with great alacrity!

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool, others face adjoining properties. All seemed comfortable and spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thankyou for your beautiful feed back and look forward to see you soon
Jose Desouza G.M Sonesta Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We are a family of two adults and two children (girls aged 7 and 8 years) we stayed for 4 nights over Christmas, We booked based on the good reviews, and we were not disappointed, rooms were big and had everything we needed for a comfy stay, the balcony was large and we had a nice view over the gardens . We used Room service which was excellent, breakfast was great, and the restaurant manager was really helpful and friendly making everyone welcome and ensuring everything was smooth running . The pool area was really nice and children friendly plenty of space and beds with towels provided. the staff around the pool were great they came as soon as you went to the pool moving beds and getting towels, with a friendly helpful manner.
The walk to the beach from the hotel only takes a few mins and is an easy stroll. the beach is nice with plenty of beach snacks available, water sports are only a short walk away, we went dolphin watching and jet skiing which was good.
Its a great place , nice staff and we definitely will return , we had a really great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krish478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thankyou for your beautiful review.Please keep supporting us and we will give our best
Jose Dsouza G.M Sonesta Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Me & my husband were in Goa for 4 days. The resort is definitely nice. It has all the basic comforts - big nice rooms, swimming pool, right next to a beautiful beach. For me the 'wow' was the nice room decorations they did for my hubby's b'day celebration.
The one thing they can improve a bit on is definitely the breakfast preparation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kanudivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We will definitely look into the breakfast options as per your feed back
Thankyou
Jose Desouza G.M Sonesta Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We were in Goa for 5 days and this hotel has all the amenities. It is located just 100 meters from the beautiful beach and has the best staff. Restaurant is clean and food is delicious. Breakfast has lot of options for vegetarian clients like us. I will highly recommend this hotel to NRI.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gurdip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thankyou for your review and hope to see a lot of NRI's
Jose Dsouza G.M Sonesta Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
1.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#2 of 64 in Candolim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#11 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#4 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Inns

Property: Sonesta Inns
Address: Anna Vaddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#10 Family Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta Inns 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star resort in Goa with a perfect beachside location on the beautiful stretch of Candolim's Golden Sands, an ideal place to relax. Tastefully arranged around a vast central pool area, a gently shelving expanse of sand and garden runs from the grounds to the warm waters of the Arabian Sea, the scene of a spectacular sunset almost every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Inns Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Candolim
Candolim Sonesta
Sonesta Inns Hotel Goa
Sonesta Inns Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing