We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average management and maintenance”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonesta Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Inns
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, average management and maintenance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have stayed at many hotels in Goa, budget hotels to star properties. 4 of us boys went for a 3 day holiday last weekend (21st to 24th Feb), and some of us wanted a beach side property. This was the only one available in North Goa for those days. A lovely location, great access to beach. We booked a 3 bed villa, which is split into 3 levels. Good pricing for this accommodation, but falls short horribly on the amenities. First - the door itself, struggle to lock the door. Door doesn't fit into the frame well. The toilets are carved out under the staircase or staircase landing. The ceiling height in the the toilets are a lil bit above 6 feet. One of us was 6'4". All 3 toilets are of same size. Improper plumbing, faucets, taps. No regular water supply. And as is the Goan tradition, response time for complaints is their own sweet time. We drove up from Bangalore. Not enough parking space for hotel guests. Most spots are taken by the taxis. They don't give space to hotel guests. A couple of drunk drivers creating ruckus in the night. Doesn't look like hotel management has any control over this crowd.

Very pathetic breakfast. At an ARR of Rs. 7500 approx. for double occupancy, you expect decent breakfast and amenities, knowing very well that half the occupants would not eat breakfast, so your cost outgo is less. With that buffer, you can afford to provide better breakfast.

We had to shift rooms to individual rooms from the 3 bed villa, since it wasn't available for the 3rd night. 2 of us got to stay in "Geetanjali " room, their honeymoon suite. Opulent, huge and well done. Same problem with the toilet, shower on the bath tub. you need to climb 2 steps to get into the tub to shower. Very stupid design.

In the age of LCDs and smart TVs, the hotel could help themselves by replacing box TVs of 21 and 29 inches with some LCD TVs. And also ensure regular water supply.

Problem with Goa is, every one wants to quickly cash in as if there is no tomorrow. Expensive rooms with no investments on amenities, bad meals, taxi drivers, bars, knick nack shops, restaurants, beach shacks... everyone. It is still a great destination for me to unwind, even after being there for last 20 years.

Staff is pleasant and helpful though

Room Tip: Geetanjali is good if you are a couple. Only one room of its kind. Regular suites are good. Avoid 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nageshadoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience caused during our stay with us
We have structural problems as regards the layout of the villas, and it is vey difficult to do any changes other than demolish the villas and come out with new structures.
.We try our level best to impart more than necessary information as regards the same
Your booking was done on line and hence our decription on the website was limited
However the box TV' s have already been changed,and the water presure in the rooms have been rectified.We are contantly making addtions to the breakfast menu so that we can cater to guests from all over the world
Our sincere apologizes once again,and hope to see you again
With warm regards
Jose Desouza G.M Sonesta Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    268
    70
    23
    11
See reviews for
203
223
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

luvverly hotel good staff apart from reception, bar and general staff brilliant, always polite and helpful,always with a smile, breakfast needs a bit of work though, not enough variety. rooms clean and tidy, but always get a pool view as garden view is often the back wall. did not try the food but told by other guests its was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thankyou for your feedback,We had some seminars for the staff,therby educating them as regardspublic relations and other fields, this is a on going process all over the season and off season
We have made a few additions to the breakfast menu so that we have a variety of dishes for the guests all over the world
The pool view rooms are subject to availibility,and the allotment of rooms is done on the day of arrival.
Thank you once again anf hope to see you again
With best wishes
Jose De souza G.M Sonesta Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a great position in its own grounds walking though to the beach
The pool is lovely and surrounding area is beautiful,
The room we are staying in is a suite that is large and very comfortable with a
Lovely bathroom,
The staff are very friendly and helpful,
We are a short walk to the main road situated ideally between candolim and calangute
All in all would definitely recommend it .

Room Tip: Facing the pool balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thankyou,and happy to note that you had a fantabulous time,and look forward to see you again
Jose De Souza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Arrived on 21/1/14 to a warm welcome from staff. This is the sixth time we have been, but how do they remember everyone? This hotel is family owned, but very professionally ran. The result is the best of both worlds, friendly staff who make you feel at home but also, if you want something out of hours, you will find that nothing is too much trouble. The meals available in the restaurant are really good and worth a visit in the daytime as well as for an evening meal. Guests have an opportunity to indulge in a Mongolian evening (for a few rupees) where you select what you want from the buffet, take it to the chef, who cooks it in a sort of a wok. It was so good that I had another serving, they didn't seem to mind and it was even better than the first. Enough about the food, the pool is great. I challenge anyone to find one cleaner. Guests are invited to shower before using the pool and guess what! most people do because there is always a pool attendant on hand (who also makes sure you get a poolside bed in sun or shade to your desire). Enough of this praise, don't want to get it too crowded do we?

Room Tip: All rooms are modern, most recently updated, try to get one with balcony facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nev209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thankyou for your response on trip advisor
The MONGOLIAN NITE is something which is unique and if you have not tasted the food than it is a holiday incomplete as it is always a sell out
Jose De Souza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We returned again after 5 year;s , and nothing had changed . Still great staff and perfect location . Just a shame that the Russian guests dont try to communicate a bit more with the European guests , of course this is no reflection on the hotel though . We will definatly return next year . Thank you for a wonderful holiday .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemartell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
we are overwhelmed with your response on trip advisor informing us that nothing has changed even after 5 years
we hope and are confidant that nothing is going to change on the contrary we will come out better every five time five years
Thankyou
Jose De Souza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed in Sonesta inn for 2 nights this week...It was wonderfull stay :

1) it is near to condolim beach
2) Happening market nearby
3) pure veg restraurents are also very nearby example: shri Krishna restra and Navtara restra are good
4) Hotel ambience is very very nice
5) pool area is big and awesome , neat an clean
6) Room service was excellent
7) rooms are very big and better organized, we stayed in suits room 104.
8) Staff was very friendly enev after check out we kept our lagguage at reception area and enjoyed pool side area and availed other resort facilities without no charge
9) Overall trip was very good, condolim beach is recommended for water sports as compared to baga which is expensive and they guve less time at baga water sports while at condolim we found more beautiful and with all water sports with less money and more time, good crowd...
10) we will again stay in sonesta inns
11) only negative part was breakfast, very less options in veg so we did not have brkfast in hotel

Thanks
Nikhil

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thankyou for spending some quality time in writing such an extensive feed back.
We have already added some vegetarian dishes in the breakfast menu,and assure you that you next trip will be much better and a enjoyable one
Jose De Souza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The breakfast needs to improve...its below average.
The geetanjali room is very big but not maintained at all, everything is broken and falling apart .The bathroom was so basic, needs attention. The water flow was soooooo slow it was unbelievable.
please maintain. its overally priced as per the quality of the room and food.

Room Tip: never take the geentanjali suite. its not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank neha462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Our sincere apologizes for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us in the Getanjali suite
We have already replaced the unwanted furniture,and the management has already decided to revamp the whole suite room
Thankyou for letting us know the deficiencies in our services
Jose De Souza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
1.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#2 of 64 in Candolim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#10 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Inns

Property: Sonesta Inns
Address: Anna Vaddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#10 Family Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta Inns 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star resort in Goa with a perfect beachside location on the beautiful stretch of Candolim's Golden Sands, an ideal place to relax. Tastefully arranged around a vast central pool area, a gently shelving expanse of sand and garden runs from the grounds to the warm waters of the Arabian Sea, the scene of a spectacular sunset almost every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Inns Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Candolim
Candolim Sonesta
Sonesta Inns Hotel Goa
Sonesta Inns Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing