We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small budget hotel close to Candolim beach”
Review of Valentines Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valentines Retreat
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice small budget hotel close to Candolim beach”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Valentine's Retreat (VR) is a nice budget option for visiting northern part of Goa. It is 10 minute drive to the happening Calangute beach and Sinquerim beach (water sport activities) and 10 minute walk to Candolim beach. VR is amidst quite environment and a clean hotel with decent swimming pool. The food in the hotel is also good and reasonably priced. Rooms are clean and good. However, bed we expereinced was making screachy noise upon movement. However, this is not a beach resort nor there is any sea view from the hotel or any of its rooms. It is budget option to travel with friends / family without kids, as kids might not like non-sea facing hotel. However, if kids accompany, they can enjoy swimming pool. Also, this is not for couples looking for a romantic hotel / resort.

Room Tip: Choose garden/pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotharidhimant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    25
    35
    18
    29
See reviews for
32
52
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I am a travel agent in Surat (Gujarat - India), Booked this hotel for few of my prestigious clients. They are very very upset because of the sickning service of hotel. On the top of that, I have loosed them for the future business and damaged my credibility.

They said, the staff in the hotel is very rude. When they come to clean the room in the afternoon (instead of morning). they dont take your breakfast plates & cups, they said its not included in our job.. (all the plates & cups was there for 04 days)

intercom was not working in the room.

water was coming out from bathroom, said this to the reception to send someone to clean: after waited for few hours, my clients themself clean the water with the dirty towel (provided by hotel).

instead of buying a non-branded packed water bottle from the hotel, they ask reception to provide a jug of water (provided by each & every hotel in india), they said we will not give you that service, if you want then come downstairs fill the water in the jug and take it in your room.

they dont change the bedsheet everyday.

pool was very small and dirty.

overall: i request you everyone, if they are offering free room then also dont stay at this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divyesh_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Went to this Hotel in February 11. The hotel was a bit shabby but the garden and pool area was pleasant and the food was good.

However, this is a budget hotel so you cannot expect a lot and for the price it was very good.

The staff were very friendly.

Rooms reasonably clean but very basic with television and included air con in the price.

Tip: Take your own coffee and tea bags as their coffee was not pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat_mac181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This hotel is a good place to stay at. We visited this place during May end and June. We booked two rooms one of which was pool facing and the other was near a garbage dumping place.The photo shown is only of one building. The hotel has three buildings out of which two are pool facing and the other is in the backside wit no pool view and is a bit isolated. The A/C's were in good condition and the pool was also clean. Calangute beach is 4 km away from this hotel and has god transport facility. The other complain I have with this place is the FOOD. the kitchen gets closed at 9-9:15 in the night and the breakfast also has only bread butter and bread jam. My advice is go to Shanta Durga Temple and besides it are good small and reasonable eateries. The hotel also has two wheelers on rent facility.There is also another good restaurant nearby called Food Place, do check it out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaspal_M_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Valentines is a small but extremely friendly hotel tucked away behind a Hindu temple (interesting music) and only 5 minutes walk to the main road and a further 5 minutes to Candolim beach near the partly disassembled tanker River Princess, regular visitors will understand! The staff were very friendly with Govan, I think the assisstant manager, calling at the market 4 times to buy fresh sea food for our dinner. The rooms are the basic Goan standard with very firm beds and pillows.
We will definately revisit Valentines in the future.

Room Tip: Go for the air conditioned option as the rooms arr
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul071953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

stayed at valentines resort, been to candolim before so wasnt expecting too much, but valentines is not clean at all, the linen is stained each time it is changed which is not often. toilet is stained . i cleaned the light switches myself because they were filthy. balcony if you get one is not cleaned all the time you are there. ac and fans are very old and noisy . staff are friendly to begin with that soon goes and if like magic appears again the day before you leave (something to do with tipping i think) only tip they got was instructions on cleaning products that might be advisable in the future. i know the price is cheap but for india its not you wouldnt expect to go to a travel lodge and have a dirty room???? which is the same price would you??? so do yourself a favor just get a flight find a taxi at the airport £10 by the way to candolim and rent a room in a guest house same price but family run sooo much better and there are loads of them , india is wonderful , this experience wont put me off just put me wise

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahbwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2011

i stayed here on my own for two weeks. location is 10mins walk from the beach. rooms are basic but clean. staff are great and made me feel safe considering i was alone. will defiantly consider this hotel on my next trip to Goa next year. i didn't use the pool as i spent most of my time at the White Horse shack in Candolim or cool place in Morjim but many other guests did and its seem very nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.0 mi away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#54 of 65 in Candolim
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prazeres Resorts
Prazeres Resorts
#55 of 65 in Candolim
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 65 in Candolim
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#38 of 65 in Candolim
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alor Holiday Resort
Alor Holiday Resort
#75 of 110 in Calangute
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abalone Resort
Abalone Resort
#12 of 15 in Arpora
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentines Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentines Retreat

Property: Valentines Retreat
Address: Sequeira waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Valentines Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Valentines Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentines Retreat Candolim
Valentines Retreat Hotel Candolim
Valentines Retreat Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing