We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, staff, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, staff, location”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

As it says in the title , my wife and I stayed there for four weeks in Jan 13, we got back to the UK on 30th Jan 13 and the wife re booked 12 hrs after landing.
The staff were excellent , lovely clean rooms , well managed hotel, only disappointments were the fridge and TV were an extra , not too worried about a TV but the fridge is a must.
Cheers Pentu, Anil, Ajay, Smiler, and our good friend Sam and all the guys in The Sheetal.
Thanks
Paul & Mandy

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northernwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    186
    86
    33
    33
See reviews for
98
280
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Just returned home after staying at the Siver Sands Holiday Village for the second consecutive year and after considering many aspects of this resort we are both not sure we would return here.

From what I understand Thomson's are upgrading this Resort from a 2* to a 3* once the room refurbs are complete however the superior room we stayed in had been completed which was re-painted, new curtains, 2 new seats, lamp shade covering the bare light bulbs on the wall light and some cane furniture on the balcony, fridge, AC and room fan are standard in this room, does that justify an upgrade? personaly speaking not in my book. The room was comfortable though.

Two aspects let the hotel down though and they were firstly the dreadful daily room cleaning service, one day no toilet rolls, second day no loo roll again, thats when i complained and 8 rolls arrived shortly after, the following day i had a shower at lunchtime after returning from the beach and no towels were left (left beach towels with beach boy) so another complaint was made and towels promptly followed.

The pool was another poor area that is ofen mentioned at this resort, bottles and food items uncleared from the night before and tables not cleaned, the shower at the pool was disgusting, sand and ants nests inside, the water was Ice cold as is always 95% in the shade.

Breakfasts are basic, tea, coffee, fruit juice, toast with jam/marmalade are standard and extras can be ordered at small cost such as omelettes, cornflakes, porridge, freshly squeezed juice.
The flies can be extermely annoying.......TIP: sit away from the road and they are bareable and arent such a pain.

Saftey deposit boxes available at a cost of 50 Rps per day and a 300 Rps deposit which is refunded when you check out.

WI-FI is available however what a Rip off!! 100 Rps per day (free at many places in Beach Road, sports bar etc)

Two very good features are the majority of the staff who do their very best to help you when its needed and the best feature is obviously the location and closeness to the beach which you can walk to within 3/5 mins.

Prime location however so much more could be done with this place.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back away from the reception are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazzauk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Just back from a 1 week stay (very good deal with Olympic made it cheaper than a week in the Canaries). We previously stayed in the main holiday village at the bottom of Beach Road. Angaara is about halfway up Beach Road opposite the Sports bar.

Our room was one of those with a large balcony looking directly down onto Beach Road. Whilst at first we thought we'd prefer one overlooking the gardens we quickly realised this was far more interesting sitting on the balcony and watching the people and traffic on Beach Road. And because everything shuts by about midnight and we don't go to bed until later there was absolutely no problem with noise.

The room was basic but very clean. Described as a superior room it had aircon as well as a ceiling fan + a fridge and a large TV with about 70 channels on it including quite a few english ones. Our room A5 is actually a connecting room with A6 and they share a huge balcony so if you were a family or group this would be ideal. The shower was bascically a huge wet room and pretty good. Towels and linens seemed to be changed every day. To keep the room on after noon on departure day cost 1000rps which was great as we didn't leave until 10pm.

The staff were very polite and friendly. All things considered although we loved our room at Silver Sands Holiday village which seemed to be the large one in all the website/brochure photos and overlooked the gardens (previous review Dec 2011), we decided we actually preferred the Angaara.

Would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: A1-A10 are those with the large, metal railed balconies which look down onto Beach Road. A5/A6 are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dibs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 weeks here and it's in a great spot stayed in a bungalow near reception and the room was ok but that's all they look tired and in need of refurbishment the staff are friendly and eager to please . To be honest it's what I expected from the hotel so yes I would stay here again but the best thing about it is the position . Safe deposit boxes look sturdy and are right next to reception and we where happy to use them .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ianmac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

just back from 4 weeks in silversands superior room hotel looks alot better rooms been cleaned up but still need more work our shower was poor and had to clean it ourselves as it was pretty grotty, staff were all lovely but as usual always looking for tips . had great time out and about trying lots of new resturants , we spent lots of days on the beach at bobbies shack and some evenings aswell xmas night and newyears night were lovely.already booked for next year so go for it not everyones cup of tea but we like it .

Room Tip: superior roomis worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BREEZE24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

we have been going to goa on and off for the last twenty years and have stayed in good and not so good accomodation and i would say that this is one of the best we have stayed in, the beds were very comfortable and the bed linen was of good quality and changed every other day, and the rooms cleaned daily, there have been comments that it needs some updating but this has been the case in other budget hotels we have stayed in in goa but we rather like the relaxed feel of this place, We paid the extra for a superior room which was well worth it, the room had been recently decorated and the balcony doors opened onto the garden at the rear, The staff were always friendly always smiled and waved even though they worked very long hours, The silver sands is set in an ideal spot for restaurants and bars and only about 300 yards from the beach. When we return to goa in the future we will definately stay at the silver sands. thankfully there were no russians staying at the hotel but them and their rude attitude are growing in goa,

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room which had a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley580425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Arrived very late xmas day and stayed 3 weeks, wasn't sure at first as seemed to lack some amenities that previous hotel we'd stayed at had, however, the location of the Silver Sands, the size and cleanliness of the room more than made up for this. Agree with previous comments about certain guests but found once the family from shameless and others had left the atmosphere was a lot more friendly and the staff were great! Would definitely return.

Room Tip: worth booking superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaiserbil101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#25 of 65 in Candolim
189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 65 in Candolim
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#38 of 65 in Candolim
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#17 of 65 in Candolim
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 65 in Candolim
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Village

Property: Silver Sands Holiday Village
Address: Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing