We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another fabulous holiday”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just got back from 3 weeks in Goa and from the SSHV. As usual, all the staff are friendly, helpful and nothing is ever too much trouble. There has been further improvements to the complex with new breakfast area and it is clear that the new management structure is always looking to improve the holiday experience.

Thank you for a lovely holiday again and best wishes for the new year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    186
    86
    33
    33
See reviews for
98
280
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

this was our second time at silversands (came last year),
after last year we knew we wanted to go back to goa and candolim in particular and didn't even think about any where apart from silversands.
it has everything you need, near to the beach lovely staff a new bar/restaurant chicagos which serves delicious food, (the goan fish curry is to die for) and cheap cocktails £1 a go, all the lads who look after you are brilliant and cant do enough for you and are also a good laugh.near beach road with a choice of shops and restaurants, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle and constant honks of the traffic.
we stay in a bungalow which are lovely, we did have a look at a superior room this year just to be nosey and they are lovely, big and airy with a balcony over looking the gardens, but still think we would stick to a bungalow.
the pool is in the shade abit because of the big palm trees which do block out some of the sun, and could do with being trimmed, but you still get a tan sat round the pool, lol and the water is cold but bracing and a welcome break from the hot sun.
even though we don't have anywhere else in candolim to compere the silversands to, we really don't want to stay anywhere else,
it isn't the ritz, but what it is, is a warm,, small, friendly comfortable, (Russian free) ,place to stay in candolim, and I know we wont be staying anywhere else.
last year was the first time every we had visited goa let alone silversands, but the staff remembered us and gave us such a warm welcome when we arrived, it felt like coming home.
cant wait for our next trip

Room Tip: the bungalows or superior rooms are the best to stay in, worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We went to the silver sands in November for three weeks and found that the service was very good.
We are regular visitors for the last fourteen years and this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.
It is the nearest hotel to the beach and it worked just right for us.
We had a bungalow room which was great to sit out at night and watch everybody get home.
If you want a fridge you will have to pay 100 rupees a day (£1)
If you want your bedding changed every day you will have to drop off your keys at reception, don't think they have another set.
The security room is in reception and there is always someone around.
On the down side, there is not a lot of storage space and none at all in the bathroom area.
Not withstanding this small issue, we are going back in March for two weeks.

This is made allowable because we can fit in two trips on the one visa, (within 6 months)the price now has become so extortionate, it may well be our last trip to Goa.
£120 per person on top of your holiday costs is just too much for a two/ three week trip

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a fantastic two weeks here starting on the 2nd December 2013. The weather was perfect, not too hot and with a light breeze each day.. we had upgraded to superior room and had plenty of room,.TV, comfy beds and large walk in shower plus plenty of wardrobe space and with a large effective ceiling fan we did not actually need to use the air con but this was also provided. We made use of the fridge so kept our water and drinks chilled, and also our balcony was overlooking the beautiful gardens and with a large terrace it really was a wonderful place to come back to after a hard day on the beach. The staff here were always more than helpful. Toast and Tea/coffee for breakfast is included and there is an option for eggs, poached, boiled, porridge, omelettes etc from a 100 rupees which at the exchange rate we were getting worked out at about a £1. Our favorite shack was called the 'Sugar Shack' and was just a few minutes walk away. The chicken and noodle soup and the noodles are highly recommended. For a really nice Indian meal we chose the 'Inferno bar' just up the road and for an excellent steak the bar opposite is recommended. We were always amazed and impressed with all the food we tried and with an excellent large steak costing no more than £3 you really cannot go wrong. This place is ideal as its just down the road from the busy main road and only minutes away from the beach. There are plenty of shops and we now understand why people go back again and again... we too are planning to visit again at the same time next year... its a great place to chill out before the madness of Christmas and I came back to the UK feeling ready for the festivities and needless to say lots of presents purchased and my friends I am sure will be all enjoying a honeybee brandy in their xmas stockings. I would say this is a great place for the over 30,s and for anyone not wanting to get dressed up every night but whom love the sun, good food/drink and a bargain. (The pool however was freezing and as in the shade all day which I am sure will be good for when it gets hotter later in the year)

Room Tip: If you want plenty of space and a fridge and air con as standard then I would suggest you upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyf1, General Manager at Silver Sands Holiday Village, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Silver sands holiday village,
Thanks for your feedback,We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Best of Regards,
Bonny Fonseca
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Well, we enjoy Silver Sands so much that we must have stayed at least 10 times! Tried all the rooms, Superior great, bungalows good for chatting & dogs visit!!, annexe good for spying beach road activity...good team making sure you enjoy your stay - Rocky, AJ, Domnic & all the crew! Resort is always being updated & good atmosphere. Mrs Masala Tea is coming back on Sunday

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyf1, General Manager at Silver Sands Holiday Village, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear sir,
Greetings from Silver sands Holiday village,we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.Also thanks for praising our associates .Hope to see you again.
Best of Regards,

Mr.Bonny Fonseca
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We drove down for Pune and by the time we reach Goa was past mid night. The guy at the reception was too good, he guided us so well that we didn't miss a single speed breaker on the road. Location is amazing, right on the beach. Well surrounded with Quality Restaurants. The Only thing which i didn't like is that they accept only cash while settling payments, no card payments... after speaking to the management, was told that they will do that soon.

Room Tip: The Bunglow cottage 109 are nice and more pleasant. Just next to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amitabh-Banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyf1, General Manager at Silver Sands Holiday Village, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Silver Sands Holiday , thanks for your feed back and based on your suggestion we have already install the credit card swiping Machine.at our reception.Regret the inconvenience. Thanks for your suggestion.
Regards,
Mr.Bonny Fonseca
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Couldn't think of any reason not to give this place 5/5, so here we are. Little more expensive than similar places but it is worth that just for the location. Being able to walk out your room and almost immediately be at the beach or the shops/restaurants of beach road makes your stay so easy. I think I stayed in one of the cheapest rooms which was decent, clean with good TV and shower. Nice little terrace. Didn't need to interact much with the staff but they were friendly and helpful when I did.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrythehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyf1, General Manager at Silver Sands Holiday Village, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Silver sands Holiday Village,We are glad to know you had excellent stay with us.
Hope you visit us once again so that we can be at your service in this beautiful resort.
Thanks.
Mr.Bonny Fonseca
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#25 of 65 in Candolim
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#38 of 65 in Candolim
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 65 in Candolim
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#18 of 65 in Candolim
524 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 65 in Candolim
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Village

Property: Silver Sands Holiday Village
Address: Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing