We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

First time to goa and definitely won't be the last stayed in ss it was fantastic all the staff were great are room boy Sam was great also the restaurant staff at the angarra Jason and the rest of lads couldn't do enough hopefully see you all in feb and Xmas thanks to you all xx

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    186
    86
    33
    33
See reviews for
98
280
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 17th Dec through to 31st Dec.
This is one of the better hotels we have stayed at in Goa or other parts of India for that.
We were in a Superior room so had a fridge, AC, Fan and TV - these were all great and well used. Bathroom had a walk in shower and the water was always hot. General décor could do with being brought into the 21st C but then the price would go up significantly.
We only had breakfast on one day in the two weeks and that was because we went to Panjim on a trip and grabbed a cup of tea - our choice!
We generally ate out every nite and would come back to the bar for a few drinks before going to bed. The waiters in the bar AJ and co were great and looked after us well.
Our cleaner Suni was a nice chap and would tend the room every day providing we left the key!
The Reception team were always welcoming and helpful at all times.

The reason I say don't go at Christmas is due to the new festival Supersonic taking place at Candolim this year with Sun Burn moving up to Vagator beach - therefore the whole of Candolim is total chaos with cars, tuktuks, buses, etc making it quite dangerous for walking around.

Couple this with the arrogant hotel owner deciding to have an after party every night starting at 10pm and going on until 2-3am. The water in the toilet would bounce as the bass was so great, the doors in the room would rattle, and things were falling off walls in some peoples room. Initially they and Thomsons were absolving themselves of any responsibilities or interest in the guests - the hotel owner said this happened every year but others who had stayed at the hotel in previous years including Thomsons denied this. Thomsons denied any knowledge and Michael the rep took a lot of unnecessary flack from people. In the end those leaving on 30/31st were given their rooms for a late book out, a free meal at the Sheetal restaurant over the road and a £50 voucher per person from Thomsons (this is still outstanding at this time).

Whilst we would consider going back to this hotel it definitely wouldn't be at Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPaul9967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just got back from 3 weeks in Goa and from the SSHV. As usual, all the staff are friendly, helpful and nothing is ever too much trouble. There has been further improvements to the complex with new breakfast area and it is clear that the new management structure is always looking to improve the holiday experience.

Thank you for a lovely holiday again and best wishes for the new year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

this was our second time at silversands (came last year),
after last year we knew we wanted to go back to goa and candolim in particular and didn't even think about any where apart from silversands.
it has everything you need, near to the beach lovely staff a new bar/restaurant chicagos which serves delicious food, (the goan fish curry is to die for) and cheap cocktails £1 a go, all the lads who look after you are brilliant and cant do enough for you and are also a good laugh.near beach road with a choice of shops and restaurants, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle and constant honks of the traffic.
we stay in a bungalow which are lovely, we did have a look at a superior room this year just to be nosey and they are lovely, big and airy with a balcony over looking the gardens, but still think we would stick to a bungalow.
the pool is in the shade abit because of the big palm trees which do block out some of the sun, and could do with being trimmed, but you still get a tan sat round the pool, lol and the water is cold but bracing and a welcome break from the hot sun.
even though we don't have anywhere else in candolim to compere the silversands to, we really don't want to stay anywhere else,
it isn't the ritz, but what it is, is a warm,, small, friendly comfortable, (Russian free) ,place to stay in candolim, and I know we wont be staying anywhere else.
last year was the first time every we had visited goa let alone silversands, but the staff remembered us and gave us such a warm welcome when we arrived, it felt like coming home.
cant wait for our next trip

Room Tip: the bungalows or superior rooms are the best to stay in, worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We went to the silver sands in November for three weeks and found that the service was very good.
We are regular visitors for the last fourteen years and this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.
It is the nearest hotel to the beach and it worked just right for us.
We had a bungalow room which was great to sit out at night and watch everybody get home.
If you want a fridge you will have to pay 100 rupees a day (£1)
If you want your bedding changed every day you will have to drop off your keys at reception, don't think they have another set.
The security room is in reception and there is always someone around.
On the down side, there is not a lot of storage space and none at all in the bathroom area.
Not withstanding this small issue, we are going back in March for two weeks.

This is made allowable because we can fit in two trips on the one visa, (within 6 months)the price now has become so extortionate, it may well be our last trip to Goa.
£120 per person on top of your holiday costs is just too much for a two/ three week trip

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a fantastic two weeks here starting on the 2nd December 2013. The weather was perfect, not too hot and with a light breeze each day.. we had upgraded to superior room and had plenty of room,.TV, comfy beds and large walk in shower plus plenty of wardrobe space and with a large effective ceiling fan we did not actually need to use the air con but this was also provided. We made use of the fridge so kept our water and drinks chilled, and also our balcony was overlooking the beautiful gardens and with a large terrace it really was a wonderful place to come back to after a hard day on the beach. The staff here were always more than helpful. Toast and Tea/coffee for breakfast is included and there is an option for eggs, poached, boiled, porridge, omelettes etc from a 100 rupees which at the exchange rate we were getting worked out at about a £1. Our favorite shack was called the 'Sugar Shack' and was just a few minutes walk away. The chicken and noodle soup and the noodles are highly recommended. For a really nice Indian meal we chose the 'Inferno bar' just up the road and for an excellent steak the bar opposite is recommended. We were always amazed and impressed with all the food we tried and with an excellent large steak costing no more than £3 you really cannot go wrong. This place is ideal as its just down the road from the busy main road and only minutes away from the beach. There are plenty of shops and we now understand why people go back again and again... we too are planning to visit again at the same time next year... its a great place to chill out before the madness of Christmas and I came back to the UK feeling ready for the festivities and needless to say lots of presents purchased and my friends I am sure will be all enjoying a honeybee brandy in their xmas stockings. I would say this is a great place for the over 30,s and for anyone not wanting to get dressed up every night but whom love the sun, good food/drink and a bargain. (The pool however was freezing and as in the shade all day which I am sure will be good for when it gets hotter later in the year)

Room Tip: If you want plenty of space and a fridge and air con as standard then I would suggest you upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyf1, General Manager at Silver Sands Holiday Village, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Silver sands holiday village,
Thanks for your feedback,We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Best of Regards,
Bonny Fonseca
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Well, we enjoy Silver Sands so much that we must have stayed at least 10 times! Tried all the rooms, Superior great, bungalows good for chatting & dogs visit!!, annexe good for spying beach road activity...good team making sure you enjoy your stay - Rocky, AJ, Domnic & all the crew! Resort is always being updated & good atmosphere. Mrs Masala Tea is coming back on Sunday

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyf1, General Manager at Silver Sands Holiday Village, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear sir,
Greetings from Silver sands Holiday village,we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.Also thanks for praising our associates .Hope to see you again.
Best of Regards,

Mr.Bonny Fonseca
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#24 of 66 in Candolim
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#37 of 66 in Candolim
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 66 in Candolim
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#16 of 66 in Candolim
537 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Village

Property: Silver Sands Holiday Village
Address: Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing